We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip of my life”

Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$92 - US$2,418
Cuisines: African, French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Le Calabash is set in a small French hamlet. Alison and Sidney are both accomplished chefs of international standard and the service is personal and friendly. The restaurant / culinary school is small and cosy which includes a cookery school and accomadation. Meals include a demonstration on selected days. They take bookings for private parties and groups.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I searched hard for the perfect way to celebrate paying off the house and having both my sons settled into their careers. And the experience of Le Calabash was it. If you cook, enjoy a challenge, like to see the local sights, and delight in interacting with incredible people in a beautiful and professional surrounding, schedule your trip here NOW. I came home with not only recipes and techniques, but great memories and great love for this part of the Loire Valley. While I picked up new knowledge from Sidney on the 'savory' end, patisserie was always my weak suit. I gained so much confidence from Alison that I look forward to taking advance pastry classes at Le Calabash in the future! Thank you both again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank roblagerlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecalabash, Owner at Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Rob, What can we say ? You were undoubtedly one of the finest Culinary Students we have ever had at 'le Calabash' it is so obvious that you love cooking and good food. You were an inspiration to us both and we loved having you here with us. Thank you for your kind words and feedback, we both really appreciate it. Keep us posted on your Kitchen Creations and if we have any Ice Cream issues, you are our man!
Kindest Regards
Ali and Sid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was a dream week! We learned so much, and my cooking will never be the same. Sydney and Alison are the best! They think of everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank 4567Carol4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecalabash, Owner at Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Carol, thank you so much for your review and inspirational feedback. Thank you for choosing 'le Calabash' for your Cooking Vacation and coming to The Loire Valley France. We both loved having you here with us and meeting you. Please keep us posted on your cooking adventures and let us know how Rob is enjoying your dishes you are cooking for him, he is a lucky man!
Kindest Regards
Ali and Sid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking for a great vacation experience- one that is truly relaxing yet stimulating & inspiring- then consider spending a week with Sidney & Alison Bond at Le Calabash Cooking Extravaganza. Two (not one) world class chefs, invite you into their home & share their passion & joy of cooking with wonderful & wholesome foods. Not only will you learn new techniques, you are treated to a week of gastronomical delights! The Bonds are genuinely warm & hospitable, and gentle & effective in their teaching , and you very soon feel inspired not only to prepare new foods with practiced skills, but also to enjoy new and sometimes exotic tastes, Sidney & Alison are passionate in sharing their love of healthy & fresh foods, excellent cooking, and the natural beauty and history of the Loire Valley, all seasoned with new friendships & companionship! It is truly an event of a lifetime & I hope to return again & again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank PatS224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecalabash, Owner at Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Pat
Thank you so much for your kind words and inspirational feedback. We both loved having you and Brian at le Calabash and seeing you both enjoy the Culinary Adventure together. Please keep us posted on how the cooking is going and remember if you ever have any questions or need a recipe, we are here.
Kindest Regards
Alison and Sid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have you ever watched cooking shows on TV, and wondered what it would be like to have personal access to one of those professionals!? This is it! It's being invited into the home of TWO world class Chefs! Sidney and Alison were patient, warm, hospitable, and outright loving! This was an adventure that pushed my considerably limited culinary abilities. Believe me when I say if the Bonds can navigate me successfully through a week in the kitchen, then it is true to say that all you need to take with you to France is the passion to have a week of amazing food and fun! If you're considering Le Calabash, DO IT!!! Don't think, just go (and thank me and trip advisor later).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrianSchoenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecalabash, Owner at Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Brian
Wow, thank you for your feedback and review, it is truly inspirational. We absolutely loved having you and your mum here and you are a son second to none, the surprise you gave your mum by bringing her on a surprise vacation to France and le Calabash is so so special. Keep it Cooking and please ensure you keep us posted on your kitchen adventures, you do have the passion and skills to do well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you want to have an experience doing something you enjoy and a beautiful setting with wonderful people this is a perfect choice. We could not believe how much we learned that gave you confidence to use these skills in the future.

Sidney and Alison invited us into their home and demonstrated hospitality above and beyond a job. Their genuine character was refreshing and added to the experience of the French countryside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecalabash, Owner at Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Allison, thank you so much for your kind words. We both thoroughly enjoyed having both Doug and you here with us on 'A French Culinary Adventure' with us. You and especially Doug, made us laugh so much and made the Adventure special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine also viewed

La Roche-Posay, Vienne
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, Indre-et-Loire
 
La Roche-Posay, Vienne
La Roche-Posay, Vienne
 

Been to Le Calabash Petit Conservatoire de la Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing