We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B convenient to Omaha Beach”
Review of La Ferme aux Chats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Formigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ferme aux Chats
Ranked #1 of 3 Formigny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at La Ferme aux Chats. It was a little more expensive than other B&Bs in town, but - unlike them - it was available last minute, so that is where we stayed. I can't attest to the value here compared to other B&Bs in the area (most quoted approx 25 euros less), but it was indeed a lovely place. Joelle and Loic were very kind and had a nice setup. We were given an opener for the gate so we could drive in and out as we pleased (there was ample parking in the courtyard) and we had the kitchen and living room areas at our disposal. This allowed for coffee/tea whenever you wanted and plenty of books to peruse on the couch. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the rain showerhead in the spacious European bathroom made for a nice way to relax at night. Breakfast was also very good and extensive. We were on the upper floor and did hear some noise in the morning while breakfast was being prepared and others were getting ready, but it wasn't anything earplugs couldn't fix. Also, as a side note: we were there in October and Formigny and even the areas by the beach were pretty dead at night, so plan ahead regarding where you will eat dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knitt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for La Ferme aux Chats
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed with Joelle and Loic for two nights last week while visiting The D Day landing sights. Their location is very convenient. The tiny village of Formigny is just off the major east-west highway and very close to Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery at Colleville sur Mer. Finding them was easy, they are situated across the road from the church. This location is very safe and secure with plenty of easy parking in a gated courtyard. They provide you with an automatic opener so it is easy to come and go.
The welcome was warm and sincere. Joelle is interested in your comfort and makes a very nice breakfast. Lots of cafe Americain or tea, a variety of freshly baked breads (baquette, brioche, croissant, pain au chocolate, and a delicious whole grain) with your own personal container of fresh Normandy butter and homemade jams and jellies. In addition, there were boiled eggs, yogurts, cheeses, fruit juices and, the second morning, crepes reflecting their Breton heritage. We stayed in the Birman room on the ground floor. Twin beds with nice duvets, linens, a roomy bathroom with a fully-enclosed walk-in shower that had both a rain head and hand held option. The water pressure was good. The dining-living area was busy, filled with necessities for making breakfast and antiques--a beautiful buffet, grandfather clock, etchings. You could make tea or coffee whenever you wished. If you want to sleep late, I would suggest a room upstairs because you will hear a bit of mild kitchen noise at about 8:00 which was not a problem for us. This is a rural place. Don't expect a luxury B&B. The TV is in the living room, but we didn't care. It was very clean, convenient; a warm Norman farm experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajamaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an utterly charming B&B in the countryside just a few miles from the D-Day beaches. Joelle has turned the barn wing of her ancient home into a B&B with four bedrooms, all furnished with antiques and also modern conveniences like en suite bathrooms and hairdryers.
There is also a sitting room stocked with D-Day tourist and history books.
She serves a bountiful breakfast with yogurt, cheese, fruit, many kinds of croissant and breads, and a half dozen homemade fruit preserves (apricot and cherry, yummy). One morning she made crepes!
Joelle doesn't hover, but is happy to offer advice and guidance about the area. (for instance, in addition to its WWII history, Formigny was the site of one of the last battles of the Hundred Years War).
In the morning, bells from the church across the road peal at 7 a.m. I found it charming and my husband slept through it, but just be aware.

Room Tip: We opened the window at night for fresh air, but a fan might be necessary in the summer months since...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location -- literally 5 minutes from Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. All of the other major D Day beaches and memorials are also very close.
Very lovely B&B. We were two couples travelling together and both had large, comfortable rooms. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning -- highlighted by homebread breads and jams and jellies. Our hostess provided us with restaurant recommendations and driving recommendations. We were very pleased with our accomodations and the warm hospitality of our hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcoupleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This morning I woke to the sound of church bells ringing, birds singing and the morning song of a rooster. Out my window, from the comfort of bed I can see the warm colours from the rising sun begin to paint light across the garden and neighbouring farm buildings. If you are looking for peace in the french countryside, you will find it here at La Ferme Aux Chats.

We spent two nights here at the end of a month long trip in France and wish so much that we had booked to stay here longer; these were by far our best two nights sleep the entire trip.

We were welcomed by Joelle and her neice Margot with the sort of warmth and hospitality you would expect from friends. Joelle and her husband Loic even went out of there way to try and help us when they found out we had difficulties with our previous apartment rental. They genuinely care about their guests and the welcome foreigners receive here in France.

The B&B is immaculately clean and beautifully decorated; each room having it's own small mural like paintings done by a friend of Joelle's. The beds and linen were very comfortable. We were given plenty of towels and the water pressure in the shower was great.

We brought along our three year old son who loved being able to run around the large property, playing with the very friendly cats and dog, and even a resident duck who would waddle over to say good morning.

Breakfast served downstairs was made complete with fresh croissants, brioche and baguette, fruit, yogurt, cheese, juice, coffee and the highlight - Joelle's homemade preserves made with fruit from her own garden!

I can't say enough good things about this place and its hosts. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, I truly hope we will be back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tandncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This BnB is in an excellent location to museums, Omaha beach memorial, the American Cemetery, and very close to all other beaches/sites related to WWII/D-Day. The couple who owns this fantastically warm and clean BnB are friendly and you should make some time to sit and share a cup of coffee/tea with them in their large garden. We actually walked with them through their grounds and enjoyed their company and advice on local restaurants and sites to visit.

We have stayed in this area twice now as we appreciate visiting and learning about D-Day and this is our second BnB that we tried and it is just incredible - we have no reason to find another as we will return to this inviting and charming BnB.

They have wonderful homemade jams, strong and new showers, great beds, so clean, and warm/nice owners. We strongly recommend this BnB!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahtalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs, and this one is at or near the top. Lovely rooms, great breakfast, very VERY friendly hosts. Quiet location. Nice cats & dog (if you like.) No restaurant nearby, you have to drive down to the beach, which is not far.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formigny
6.6 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
883 reviews
16.0 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
5.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
159 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
367 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme aux Chats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme aux Chats

Address: quartier Eglise, 14710 Formigny, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Formigny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Formigny
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located at 4 km from the DDay beach of Omaha Beach. 4 bedrooms with queen bed and private bathroom (Shower & toilets) Free secured parking in rhe property ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Ferme Aux Chats Formigny, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing