We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Hotel Casino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel el Casino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Casares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel el Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Casares B&B and Inns
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at Hotel Casino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a great experience at Hotel Casino, the owner Patrice was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is set right on the ocean and from the upstairs balcony you can observe as the fisherman come in and out with there catch of the day. It is a great cultural experience! Our rooms were clean and had a private door leading right out the upstairs balcony. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the food was lovely!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thank you Julie. Since then the hotel has a new estension next to it. The hotel Saint Tropez and has its pool and a bar within a cave. Something different, just 5 large suites. Perhaps next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just returned from 3 weeks in Nicaragua, having spent 5 memorable days at the El Casino. As prior reviews read, this hotel is the labor of love of Patrice Glo, the affable, hands-on owner. Unlike the previous reviewer, my wife and I found the food fabulous and very reasonably priced. We enjoyed the hearty breakfasts; the seafood, caught that day; the freshly squeezed fruit juices; and accompanying vegetables and flans. Patrice asked us what we would enjoy eating and asked the kitchen staff to be mindful of my severe food allergy and requests. The staff was friendly and accommadated every one of our requests. We ate very well with a beautiful view of the colorful fishing boats and ocean.
Our room was simple, but clean and the bed was comfortable. There are now chairs and tables on the 2nd floor veranda outside the room and no water condensation from the A.C. There is plenty of shade there until the late afternoon, affording a perfect view of all the fishing activity below.
Patrice has the name of several drivers who for a reasonable rate will drive you from Managua to Casares. Casares is a small town worth a stroll, and it is possible to walk miles further down the beach if you walk along the cliff "boardwalk". We enjoyed doing that, noticing all the small crabs on the rocks, collecting sea glass and spying a tortoise about to lay her eggs. We swam daily in the ocean directly in front of the hotel, the water warm and waves, gentle for body surfing.
El Casino is a gem of a hotel within a true view of Nica fishing culture. If you are looking for a beach experience devoid of local culture, this is not Sandals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write up such an extensive description of your last stay with us. Next time you will visit our new extension the hotel Saint Tropez next to it, very private with its own pool bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The owner of Hotel Casino was a very nice man but the website for this hotel is grossly inaccurate. Yes, the lobby is decorated in a cool way, but it's a bit dusty and not at all representative of the rooms.

1. Casares is not really a beach town and not set up for tourists at all. There is nothing wrong with that, but you need to know that going in. Hotel El Casino is the only thing there, There was a local comedor or two but they were grossly overpriced and unfriendly. So, your only option is Casino, which is also overpriced and food is only OK.

2. If you aren't renting a car or taxing a taxi to Casares/El Casino, forget about it. The description of how long it takes to get there from the website and the owner were very generous in terms of convenience. It was a very long bus ride.

3. The rooms don't look like the website pictures. AT ALL. We stayed in the room pictured online (or it looked almost exactly like that), but it was in need of painting. The shower leaked out onto the floor. The bed was really uncomfortable, and the room wasn't particularly clean. The balcony had no chairs and the A/C unit leaked out onto the balcony which made it slippery not to mention not a super pleasant experience.

4. The food was decent but nothing special and was really overpriced. I understand it's harder to source certain things if you are further out, but even the fish was overpriced.

5. Lobby staff wasn't friendly. I think we were the only people staying there, is it really that hard to put on a smile?

6. There was nothing to do. I've been to small fishing villages and as long as you have a pleasant room, that doesn't really matter. But since the room wasn't pleasant that aggravated the situation. There was very little beach to walk before it became cliffs, and there was nowhere to really sit and hang out at the beach because you're right behind where all the boats come in. There wasn't a whole lot of town to walk through either.

The owner was nice, but he wasn't there much. We only stayed 14 hours in total because the next morning we got out as soon as we could. The view is cool and it's neat to watch the boats come in. But about 30 minutes at Casino and in Casares would have sufficed.

We are seasoned Nica travelers and understand the idiosyncracies of vacationing in the country. I just feel others need to get a picture of what we experienced. The combination of Casares not being as advertised (by the hotel on their website) and of the hotel not being as advertised made for a bad trip.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, get a second floor balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We do appreciate all comments made whether positive or negative from our valued clients. Strangely enough a considerable amount of previous comments made by clients (credible clients who have stayed with us sometimes for over two months) do indicate a totally different response. Additionally our records on this particular date ,do not show any registration in the name of the person (s) responsible for his own comment. However, we do understand this is fair game in this business. if some reason the opportunity presents itself to the reviewer to revisit us at no charge in order to have a second opinion, we are definitately amenable to any constructive suggestions. Just allow us to respond positively to your demands. Very truly yours. Patrice Glo. owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Patrice Glo is the ideal fellow to run a hotel - Hotel Casino is his pride and joy.
Right on the beach, a sleepy little fishing village away from it all.
Great service, good accommodations for Nicaragua - $15 per night with a fan.
$25 with a/c.
Not much of anything in the town - cooking at night outside the hotel is down on the streets.
Patrice does a great job of accommodating his guests with almost any food they want.
Worth a side trip if you want to get away from tourist traps and other travelers.
I spend a lot of time in Casares, and loved staying at the Hotel Casino.
A side note - if your having a problem with your computer or cell phone, Emerson, who works in the WIFI and computer room, is a wiz. A great guy who can help you with computer or cell phone problems.

Room Tip: I was comfortable with the fan. No need for a/c in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thank you very much John (I assume John Wilson?) I might add that The rates you are mentioning are only for long term residents such as you on various opportunities. You know its always a pleasure to have good friends come and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Patrice and his staff are very attentive and the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are basic offer basic necessities and are quite clean. The showers do not have hot water.

The hustle and bustle of the fishing village takes place just outside the hotel and is fun to watch. However, it goes on at all hours which can create noise problems. And they're fishermen who fish which can create odor problems.

The food served at the hotel is good with lots of seafood options. We found the portions to be a little on the small side for the price, but delicious non-the-less. My husband raved about the seafood burger!

The beach is not for swimming or sunning. The tide comes in very high and the waves are very angry with a strong undertow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinglesinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thank you for your honest opinion and wish to invite you to know our new extension El Hotel Saint Tropez next to El Casino, right on the beach but very private only 5 suites with a pool bar. Hope you can visit us soon. My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and loved it. The hotel is situated right on the beach where the local fisherman park their boats. When they bring in their catches, it is a little fish market in front of the hotel. Needless to say, the seafood at the hotel was amazing. The owner, Patrice, was very accommodating. He brought in a masseuse one day for me and even offerred to drive us to the nearby nature preserve (which, unfortunately, was closed). The room had A/C, a private bathroom and a great view of the ocean. Highly reccommended if you are in the area. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanteNTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thank you so much. We do have now a new little hotel next to the present one called Saint Tropez , private only 5 suites with a pool bar you will find quite intersting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were looking for a little get away not too far from Leon, somewhere that we could take local transportation to.... Hotel El Casino was a great choice.

Casares is a small fishing community and Hotel El Casino is right at the heart of the action - directly in front of the beach. We had an ocean front room and opted for no air conditioning. The room was small with basic amenities, but certainly adequate. The ocean front rooms get the afternoon sun and so can be quite warm come bedtime. Although there is a ceiling fan we were provided with an additional fan to help circulate the air - for us this was fine, but I can see that most people would appreciate the air conditioning to cool down the room.

The hotel has a number of sitting rooms where you can enjoy reading a book or watching TV (they even have a projection TV with over 150 movies to choose from). There is a pool table as well as a small selection of books to choose from. The food was delicious and freshly prepared.

Come prepared to relax and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice G, Owner at Hotel el Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2017
Thanks for your comments. For your information we have a new exptension the Hotel Saint Tropez nest to el Casino wherre we have 5 large rooms and a pool bar. Very private even though it is locate right on the beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
0.0 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
MYRINaMAR Bed & Breakfast
MYRINaMAR Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Carazo Department
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Casino

Property: Hotel el Casino
Address: Casares, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Carazo Department > Casares
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Casares
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing