We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch was delicious”
Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Frosterley
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch was delicious”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed yet another fantastic Sunday lunch with friends, perfectly cooked beef and delicious home made posset. We are regulars, we really cannot find a better Sunday lunch in County Durham. Thank you once again Black Bull team

Helpful?
Thank CatieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    53
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at this restaurant. Our waiter was looking after us very well. He was very knowledgable about the local produce. It is very comfy and friendly. The food was tasty. We will definitely come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good, but not mindblowing...”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

First things first - the place looks amazing. Open fires, lovely old features, flagstone floors. There are a few things that need some prompt attention - there's a print in the ladies' loo where the glass is broken with a razor sharp edge protruding, and as it is not the biggest space in the world, it's an accident waiting to happen.

The beer selection is great, with some well-maintained brews including a good cider and perry.

The menu is small (four starters, mains and puds) but very appealing HOWEVER all the side dishes are the same for each main course (buttered greens, carrots and mash). I'm sure the chef could be a little more adventurous (not entirely sure that carrots are a natural plate-mate for fish) but all dishes were decently prepared and tasty. It would have been nice to have some bread and butter on offer, even if it was charged for.

We were told that the menu changes daily, which is why we headed back for a second night. There was only one item that had changed on night two, which on a tiny menu limited our options a bit.

Service a bit relaxed but friendly. They're hardly rushed off their feet as they don't turn tables so would have liked a bit more attention when it was clear we wanted to order more/pay the bill.

Prices are really quite toppy for a rural pub - we were pretty restrained in our choices but the bill was around £90 for two which gave us a bit of bill-shock.

All in all a good experience, but could have been a lot better in so many ways. We will go back but not for a good while in case the menu remains the same...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even my chef brother was impressed!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great food, fantastic attentive (not intrusive) service and intimate yet unstuffy setting - luckily it's just down the hill for me too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveLymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamsterley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were a party of six adults and four children...oh and a Jackadoodle. They have two sittings for Sunday lunch, 12.30 and 2.30pm, we opted for the later one. We were greeted on arrival and promptly shown to our table. They took our drinks order before and throughout the meal without having to wait at the bar. Staff were lovely and efficient. Food was piping hot, tasty beef and veg, huge Yorkshire pudding and plenty of large jugs of gravy. We managed dessert as well which was also lovely. It's a cosy, traditional and welcoming country pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing