We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Frosterley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been to the Black Bull a few times but continue to be impressed by the service and the quality of the food. It's a wonderful place to come for lunch with the family. The waitress was happy to microwave our own food for our little grandaughter and even washed the container and presented the food on a lovely plate. We chose the sirloin of beef and the pork. It was the best we've had anywhere and the gravy, served in a lovely pottery jug was exceptional. We hope to use the heritage railway and come up on the train, as the pub is so near. It runs in June and July on a weekend. We'll be back soon as weekday lunches are wonderful too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    48
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The pub is exactly what a pub should be, friendly, old fashioned and excellent food. The waitress was lovely, attentive. The pub is like stepping back in time, log burning fires, low ceilings, nooks and crannies. The food did not disappoint, gorgeous! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tg2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
519 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Best in Dale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I tend not to review places twice unless I have been impressed to the point of feeling compelled to do just that,and our Sunday lunch today was of such a high standard that it just had to be done. A stunning piece of rare cooked lamb,which could have been cut with a spoon was the star of the show,but everything served was fabulous,and the beef dripping roast potatoes were a revelation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All pubs should aspire to be like the Black Bull.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We travelled from Lincolnshire to spend an evening in the Black Bull some 160 miles !
The food,atmosphere,hospitality make it stand right up there with any pub/restaurant we have visited in the UK a little gem and surely everyone wishes their local was like this, I hope the people of Frosterley
realise how lucky they are.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chrishunt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Superb Sunday Lunch After a Morning's Walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a brisk morning's walk beside the River Wear and the Bollihope Burn, we returned to Frosterley for a lunch that we had booked at the Black Bull Inn
I can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable meals that I have had in a long time (and the other three members of the party were JUST as enthusiastic).
The food, - roast pork and roast beef, and the accompanying vegetables and Yorkshire pudding, were just fantastic. All was accompanied by a delightful South African Shiraz wine.
The hosts at the Black Bull Inn were friendly and welcoming.
The interior of the inn was warm and full of quirky touches.
We shall most certainly be back, - in fact one of our group has already booked a group of fellow walkers in for a weekday lunch before too long!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreypanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

 
Hedley on the Hill, Northumberland
Wolsingham, Durham
 
Anick, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing