We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Sunday lunch - now want to try the other menus!”
Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Frosterley
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Sunday lunch - now want to try the other menus!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This has all the good things about a traditional pub (decor, friendly welcome, location, warmth ) but breaks with tradition in the standard of its food - it's excellent! The pink rib of beef was so tender and full of flavour it could not have been bettered, nor could the apple crumble. I am looking forward to going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    52
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Traditional surroundings, thoughtful food.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The whole pub is a restaurant - every space is taken up by tables. That's not a problem but it is a surprise. The surroundings are traditional "old country pub" - it's dark, old pews and the like for furniture, a range of old stuff about the place with no real theme except "tradition". It hasn't been put together, it's just come together. This is an eclectic collection of real tat - it is not a pretend collection of old tat put together by a designer trying to make it look traditional. It's brilliant and really refreshing. Even the loo is traditional.

When we went there were three proper cask beers on sale; beautifully kept and served and an exactly the right temperature and condition ... so it's not a lost art at all. There's no need for wine when that's available - although they do have it. The seats are not the most comfortable, but that's not the point; and the rooms are not really romantic, but that's not the point either. This place is special - it wouldn't have been 40 years ago, but it certainly is now.

Then there's the food. It's not particularly quickly served and neither is there a great choice, but my word it's imaginative and the cooking is amazing. I had the pink and slow-cooked lamb; two lovely pieces of lamb cooked quite differently and complementing each other beautifully. Interesting vegetables and just the right amount. My wife had the salmon - again beautifully served. Lovely starters and sweets too, prepared and served well.

The staff are terrific, giving just the right level of attention without being pushy.

The whole experience is like travelling back in time as well as travelling through some breathtaking scenery to get here. And that's great to be able to do.

This is just a lovely place to come and we'll certainly be back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been to the Black Bull a few times but continue to be impressed by the service and the quality of the food. It's a wonderful place to come for lunch with the family. The waitress was happy to microwave our own food for our little grandaughter and even washed the container and presented the food on a lovely plate. We chose the sirloin of beef and the pork. It was the best we've had anywhere and the gravy, served in a lovely pottery jug was exceptional. We hope to use the heritage railway and come up on the train, as the pub is so near. It runs in June and July on a weekend. We'll be back soon as weekday lunches are wonderful too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The pub is exactly what a pub should be, friendly, old fashioned and excellent food. The waitress was lovely, attentive. The pub is like stepping back in time, log burning fires, low ceilings, nooks and crannies. The food did not disappoint, gorgeous! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tg2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
527 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Best in Dale!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I tend not to review places twice unless I have been impressed to the point of feeling compelled to do just that,and our Sunday lunch today was of such a high standard that it just had to be done. A stunning piece of rare cooked lamb,which could have been cut with a spoon was the star of the show,but everything served was fabulous,and the beef dripping roast potatoes were a revelation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing