We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming cottage, ideal for two people.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Innkeepers Cottage

Cosy living room with log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy living room with log burning stove
The front entrance to Innkeepers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cosy living room with log burning stove
The front entrance to Innkeepers Cottage
Stairs leading to the bedroom and bathroom
The delightful quirky bathroom.
Hand crafted country kitchen with stable door overlooking the rear patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frosterley, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Myles C
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A charming cottage, ideal for two people.”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location is great for many tourist activities / locations including the Beamish Museum and Durham City. The cottage is ideal for a couple with a very nice large bed. It is cosy and has good facilities (TV, DVD, WI-FI). Whilst we didn't use the living room stove, there are some logs provided and more available out back for a reasonable additional fee. The central heating makes the place pretty toasty and the stove is a 'nice to have' in the winter months for additional warmth and atmosphere.
The owners are very communicative and helpful.
One tiny note for anyone with physical difficulties (and even a modest height) is that the bathroom has a low sloping ceiling and it is a little awkward especially using the bath. I am 5'10" and had to bend in most of the bathroom space but was only really an issue due to an age old back problem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Hi Both thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your stay.
Like you I am 6ft3ins with arthritis. We are thinking of fitting a walk in shower with seat would be interested in your comments.
Hope to see you again.

Stewart & Lynda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glennmart...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really enjoyed staying at this accommodation.We stayed three days as a base for the Durham area. The cottage was very well appointed,the parcel on arrival was yummy and the aged building was appealing. Access to a washing machine was great. Contact with the owners was very helpful. The access to the shower was rather an issue and could be a problem for older people. Lovely staying in a small village. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review we are the new owners from September and hope to see you again in the future. We have plans to improve the shower next spring as I am 6’ 3” . Many thanks Lynda & Stewart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnravelsT...
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A very clean and welcoming cottage with every need considered. DVDs to watch, magazines to read and logs provided for the woodburner and even mints on the pillow. It's small but all you'd want for two people. I think the owner is a shopaholic like me as lots of jujjy bits and decor. Sadly on the day we left a for sale board went up so don't know if this review is very relevant. The only downside is that the wifi was a bit iffy but you can forgive that as otherwise perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We are so pleased you had a great stay. Your comments are very much appreciated and will assist our future guests. We would love to see you both again in the future.... Kind Regards Stu and Ali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely period cottage well maintained and cosy,everything you could wish for great location two good friendly pubs and a good local chippy and shop

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and of course for your great comments. We would love to have you back again in the future. Best wishes Stuart and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveDillo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Innkeepers Cottage over the New Year weekend.
We honestly couldn't have picked a better place to cosy up to a woodburning stove and relax after the busy Christmas. The cottage is so well decorated and full of charm. Lots of little extra touches from the Christmas decorations to the welcome pack. The cottage is so obviously lavished with love from the owners who stay here themselves.
The village has a co-op and very nice fish and chip shop as well as a lovely local pub and there are some lovely walks in the area. We will most certainly be back in the future.
Many thanks Stuart and Alison.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
We would like to say thank you so much for your kind comments. We try to keep our little cottage tastefully decorated and well equipped and we will of course welcome you back again in the future. Thank you so leaving it clean and tidy. It is appreciated. Alison ans Stuart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin E
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Characterful, comfortable, well-furnished and well-equipped”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An outstandingly good rental in a small, interesting village amid impressive scenery. Many walks in the area, and places to visit. Every aspect for a pleasant stay has been thought about, and you won't get many places more comfortable, warm and well-equipped. Conveniently located to access Durham, Barnard Castle, Beamish and other interesting places to visit. Our own visit was far too short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings, lighting, equipment of the kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review Kevin. We do hope you are able to revisit our beautiful county in the future and would love for you to stay at Innkeepers Cottage and enjoy the more walks from our doorstep.
Best Wishes
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigstock
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pretty cottage in great location”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cottage with some lovely touches. High standard of cleanliness. Good location for seeing the surrounding countryside which is beautiful and easy access to Durham and Beamish. Great trip to the Cart Bog Inn near Hexham via the moors and excellent meal at Stanhope Old Hall followed by 'knees up' at the Black Bull in Frosterley - 5 minute walk from the cottage. We had some chilly evenings but the lovely wood burner kept us cosy and warm in this delightful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: restricted height in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
"Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you all enjoyed your stay at our cottage and put the log burner to good use. It sounds like you had a great stay and we would welcome your return visit. Kind Regards Stuart."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing