We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gin Gang

The Gin Gang and courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gin Gang and courtyard
The decking and bridge surrounding the pond in the garden The gardens and summerhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Gin Gang and courtyard
The decking and bridge surrounding the pond in the garden
The gardens and summerhouse
The Gin Gang
The garden area with swings
The path leading to the gardens with the games room and lounge
The games room
The kitchen with loads of appliances and storage.
A view of the kitchenfrom the dining area
The living room
The living room with gas stove, tv,dvd and free view box
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom with ensuite
The downstairs bedroom with ensuite
The downstairs ensuite bathroom adapted for less mobile guests
The 3rd double bedroom
The house bathroom
The Staircase
The surrounding area
The patio doors leading to the lounge
The Gin Gang
The view over the river Wear and hillside beyond
Easter with these little guys?
March and April is lambing time for us. These are our pet lambs
The sheep and lambs in the fields
The view looking down over the cottages and the countryside beyond
Our first pet lamb of 2015!
Nice little brood you have there
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Frosterley, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the Gin Gang cottage - 2 families over the Easter week for a week. The cottage is superb, well stocked with all utensils and accessories all needed to ensure a comfortable holiday. The cottage was clean and warm and very cosy. Valerie the owner works very hard to keep the cottage well stocked - all bed were made up and linen and towels provided. The essentials tea bags biscuits milk and bread is all in the cottage on arrival. I would highly recommend this for large family or two families holidaying together. It was lovely to see the lambs in the lambing shed when we were there. The only negative thing I would say if anything is that the garden area is totally separate and a shirt walk away and shared so if you have dogs you cannot just let them out. The games room with the pool table is also separate and in the garden area. We did not use this at all so cannot comment, altogether a totally relaxing and amazing holiday and would return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser72...
1 review
“Family Christmas party”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We rented Gin Gang and The Old Byre together for our family Christmas 2017 and were so impressed with the warm, comfortable accommodation and the high standard of the two houses enjoyed by our family from Australia and the UK. The welcome was impressive with a large hamper of goodies in each house and tasteful Christmas decorations to put us all in the party spirit! Great walking for our collection of family dogs in all directions and a cosy pub within walking distance all added to the enjoyment of the place and finally the pool room provided hours of competitive fun! Definitely a place to be recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david r
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“60s Weekend Bash”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

8 of us stayed for a couple of 60ths, beautiful setting and owners were very helpful with barbecues and requests for ingredients we had forgotten. Accomodation is to a high standard with all modern day needs met. We travelled to a couple of local villages and found the area stunning, the weather was good and enabled us to sit out. Would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane413
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large spacious property in beautiful area.”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautifully situated in gorgeous countryside but unfortunately the weather didn't let us enjoy it as much as we would have liked. We made full use of the space afforded by the Gin Gang and the games room was a great addition. The house was warm, very clean and well stocked with crockery, pans etc (not always the case!). To be honest, we have had comfier beds and there are just one or two aspects which are a little bit dated but it didn't spoil us having a lovely long weekend celebrating a family 21st. Even the dog joined the party! (PS. Fabulous traditional Sunday lunch at the Black Bull in the village - needs booking).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2016

Took my 89 yr old mum here and my daughters son in laws and grand children.

Had an amazing weeks holiday great chippy close by, games room on site lads & grandchildren loved it - hoping to go back in 2018.

Valerie & Maurice are the perfect hosts

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baggottm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage for family gatherings”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just as shown in the pictures. Tastefully decorated, warm, inviting.

Ground floor bedroom/bathroom is excellent for anyone with a disability or limited mobility.

Very well equipped, spacious kitchen. A dozen people can comfortably have dinner around the large dining table(s). Good seating for 8 in the main living room.

Heating and appliances all worked well and in good condition. Dishwasher, 2 fridges, freezer, 2 ovens, washer and dryer.

Bathrooms well equipped. Water pressure good. Shower cubicles are typically British, not the largest but OK.

Nice flat screen TV and DVD player.

Wifi good enough for multiple people browsing and single Netflix user, sometimes struggled with multiple concurrent Netflix users.

A welcoming and helpful owner.

Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing