We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B we've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Godney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a family we visit Glastonbury and its surroundings at least once a year. After trying a few B & Bs of varying quality we are so pleased to have finally found this gem of a place that suits all our needs.

The rooms are extremely spacious with good firm beds. The bathroom is very big and has all the amenities of a disabled suite. This particularly suited my wife who is in a wheelchair. All access is on one level with no steps and each room has its own riverside patio with sun furniture.

Terry was hospitality itself and very accomodating. His breakfast is lavish with lots of choices. He was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble.

Our family room worked out at £120 a night for the 3 of us which was tremendous value for the standards this B & B has. We are so pleased we've found the perfect base for Somerset and have already made the decision that we will return. Thank you Double-Gate for a wonderful break!

Room Tip: Just take it slowly on the single track road that links Glastonbury to Godney
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for one Saturday night in November. On the whole I agree with the favourable reviews posted here but my argument is with the description 'luxury' of the Riverside Suites.

We booked 2 rooms costing £170 for my wife and I + 17 year old son. The smaller (cheaper) room booked for my son was 'upgraded' to a suite "as we are decorating".
Our riverside suite was extremely large with 3 beds - one being a 4'6" double (in modern terms for 'luxury' we had expected at least a Queen size) so I slept well in one of the singles. Furnished in what I would describe as 1980's style Schreiber/caravan type fitted furniture (all relatively new and clean) and pine beds & tables. The windows (double glazed - 2 patio doors) were furnished by 'office style' horizontal blinds with faux side curtains (light pollution in summer?). Also I don't know what happens in the summer if you require 'air' in the room as you'd have to leave one or other of the doors open. We heard no noise but the practically attached pub next door has an open smoking area and I imagine this could cause problems and noise if you were going to sleep before closing time.

The rooms have been well kitted out for disabled access (all credit to the owners) but for that reason the very large & well equipped bathroom is soulless as indeed is the whole place.

I admit to not being used to staying in 'B&B's' so was not really au fait with what to expect for the money. Having since though looked at a TV programme about B&B owners & read in today's Times of the best B&B (Dorset) in the world I now realise that the cost of our 'luxury' room was excessive. Which brings me back to the descriptive word 'Luxury'. Yes, if you are a family with a need for wheelchair & disabled facilities in a 'nice' clean environment this is for you. But if you are able bodied and looking for a Tastefully furnished, comfortable 'weekend break' my research indicates you can do better.

By the way, the very friendly owner cooked breakfast - you have to order the night before (8am to 9am only - even as to my son's dismay this was a Sunday morning and he was looking for a lie in) for my party and another couple (presumably the only guests it being very much 'low season'). It was adequate & hot but we did gain the impression all but the eggs had been pre-cooked at the same time as the earlier eaters and was therefore somewhat dried out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSSEnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleGateFarm, Owner at Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your extremely in depth review.
I know a lot of other B&B proprietors. Having asked if they they would mind waiting on a weekend for a teenager to have a 'lie in' before serving breakfast, then turning the room, they were as gobsmacked as me! We are not a hotel and do not have staff on call all of the time. We have to do the main bulk of the work when our staff are in, in the morning. We can usually work round a late departure if required. Breakfast is ordered the night before to minimise waste, especially as we have a large menu to choose from. The eggs were certainly NOT pre-cooked.
Double-Gate soulless? Words fail me on that one.
Your tastes are simply different to ours.
To be honest, although we try very hard to make stays with us as enjoyable as we can, I think this is a classic case of not being able to please all the people all of the time. Such a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Unfriendly. The village smells of the local chicken farm which this place owns. We wouldn't return. I am not sure why this place gets any decent reviews. Good location for wells and Glastonbury though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizardgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleGateFarm, Owner at Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We believe this review to be fraudulent and if has been reported to Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

a warm welcome was provided..nice home made cake and coffee,
We stayed in one of the riverside suites which was lovely and looked out over the river.
Walked into Glastonbury..took 1 hour at a brisk pace.
the suite was very spacious and ideal for someone who needs to use a wheelchair to get about.
Breakfast was delious...HP to boot. Lovely
Clean, friendly, nice location..no moans thank you.

Room Tip: room 5 had a single and double bed
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were a party of 3 including a disabled gentleman with an electric wheelchair, needing a hoist for transfers. We were so happy with the spacious Riverside Suite accommodation that was so comfortable, and we were able to relax! Run by a lovely family who looked after us. Thank you Terry, Debbie and family.

Room Tip: Recommend the Riverside suite for spaciousness if you have wheelchair, big equipment needs
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillBlakeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Whole family stayed for local wedding. Whilst during our stay we were satisfied with facilities and the way we were looked after we were very disappointed with the aftersales service. Having left a bag behind containing several items no attempt was made to contact. Finally we realised we must have left items behind and contacted the owners. We were shocked to learn that they had the items and then charged five pounds for returning them. Given the fact that the whole family must have paid nearly£2000 for several rooms we would have expected significantly better service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleGateFarm, Owner at Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Good afternoon. I hope you enjoyed your stay. I was unaware until you rang that a notebook, belt and two items of underwear had been left behind as they were put in the lost property box by staff. We do usually ring people and tell them if items have been left behind. We are not the only establishment that makes a small fee to cover our costs to return lost property and I can assure you that we did not make any money from the small amount you were charged. The items were then promptly returned to you and we can only assume that they were received. As for being expensive - we did reduce the cost for the second night (and we didn't have to as the notice was very short) as two members of your group did not stay as booked. So you feel unjustly dealt with at having to pay £5 to return lost property but do not mention the £70 goodwill reduction we gave you on the bill. What can I say to that.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Spent a few days here recently as it was in an ideal location for both Wells and Glastonbury.
The Farm itself is in a great location off the beaten track with the River Sheppey right along side
with fields to the rear of the building.We stayed in a riverside suite which was both spacious and clean with a large wet room with shower, the room was also warm when the heating was on but a portable heater was also available in the room as was a small fridge was was a nice touch, breakfasts were good with cereals, fruit juices, fruit and a selection of cooked meals available.
Another added bonus is the Pub/restaurant right next door which is great if you are normally the driver!...booking a table at weekends advisable.The only minus points I would have to make is that unfortunately there is a chicken farm right across the road that does create a bad smell
and if the wind is the wrong direction it does make for a smelly experience, there was also a lot of dog mess on the grassed area from their two large dogs which is an area used by visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBS_Fairford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godney
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
978 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
339 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Godney BA5 1RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Godney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Godney
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double-Gate Farm is situated in a pleasant position on the Somerset Levels, with fine views to the Mendip Hills. Double-Gate is a comfortable listed Georgian Farmhouse. We don't farm ourselves now but instead presently rent the farm out to other farmers. Somerset is a county full of surprises. An abundance of caves, gorges, waterways, wildlife, traditional crafts, beautiful gardens and memories of time past. It's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double-Gate Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double-Gate Farm Bed And Breakfast Godney, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing