We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's not often we say 'WOW'.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom 1 with super king/twin beds & ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom 1 with super king/twin beds & ensuite
Bedroom 2 with freestanding bath & ensuite Living room with 2 velvet sofas & woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Bedroom 1 with super king/twin beds & ensuite
Bedroom 2 with freestanding bath & ensuite
Living room with 2 velvet sofas & woodburner
Farmhouse kitchen
Dining area with copper table seating 8
Large attic bedroom 3 with King size bed & twin beds
King size bed bedroom 3
Large entrance hall with flagstone floor and wide stairs
Sunny bedroom 2
Living room with dining area in background
otter in the river sheppey in Lower Godney
Stunning magnolia in the garden of Godney Arts House
Bedroom 2 ensuite
Bedroom 2 luxurious freestanding bath
bedroom 2 ensuite
Godney Arts House Kitchen detail
Retro details Godney Arts House  bedroom 2
Entrance hall with concrete lace wall tiles by Jethro Macey & copper doors by Simon Ledson
Landing with stairs to attic bedroom Godney Arts House
Godney Arts House farmhouse kitchen
Godney Arts House sunny living room with views over the cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Godney, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ChrisB-Mo...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's not often we say 'WOW'.....”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

But that's what we said on entering Godney Arts House. It's fabulous....from the copper dining table to the painted floors to the bright orange duvets. The photos on the website are very accurate. It's a lovely, cosy and warm Georgian house with full central heating and a log burner Hot water and powerful showers are plentiful. Beds are very comfy. It's location is superb....on the Somerset levels within a two minute walk of a a pub in the Good Food Guide plus Glastonbury and Wells are within a 15 minute drive.Owner Jane is extremely helpful with excellent communication. The welcome pack she left was full of local produce...including some of the best bread we'd ever tasted. We had an active 21 month old with us and she managed to get up and down the stairs easily however they might prove tricky for a younger child or an adult with mobility difficulties. All in all I can't recommend Godney Arts House enough....it definitely makes for a memorable break.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Hi Chris, now its my turn to say WOW! thank you for your lovely review, Simon & I are so glad you had a great time with you family and you both enjoyed Godney Arts House and what our surrounding area has to offer. Come along again and hopefully you will have time to see the starling murmurations. Warm regards Jane & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
1 review
“Unique setting and decor”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very unusual cottage, well equipped kitchen with everything you might need including a welcome pack (necessary as there is no shop in the village). Lovely pub restaurant 200 yds away. Comfortable, inspiring and welcoming, decorated to a very high standard. The 3 bedrooms are all different, something for everyone but all have great showers and beds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Hi Anne Lovely to know you all enjoyed your stay at Godney Arts House, yes we like to give our guests a welcome hamper for a chance for a drink and snack. Super to read your compliments about the decor which is what Godney Arts House is all about!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveNorwo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat and a good base for exploring”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As three couples who wanted a place to get together, chat, eat, and explore the local area we could not have done better than choose to stay at the Arts House. It is well equipped for self-catering with ensuites in each of the three bedrooms. Despite being off-season and the weather could have been a deluge, we enjoyed at least two days with brilliant sunshine that reaches every room in this delightfully refurbished historic house. The furnishing and decor offer a calming canvas for Simon's artworks that enliven and enthral. Away from the house, it is a short distance by car to Glastonbury or Wells which are ideal for window-shopping, visiting historic buildings and walks. Lower Godney is a convenient base from which to see the starling murmurations at Ham Wall. Jane was an excellent host and gave us lots of useful advice about local services. It is necessary to have a car if staying in Lower Godney to get the best out of the area. The roads, at night especially, could be challenging for those not used to single track highways and no street lights. We would revisit as there are loads of things to do, and a local Inn that provides a social focus for the village and surrounding area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Hi Dave, Simon & I loved hosting you all and so glad you enjoyed yourselves and appreciated the artworks and interior design of Godney Arts House. You really immersersed yourselves in the local area and pleased that the starlings performed their amazing aerial acrobatics for you.

Good advice re our small roads, they take a bit of getting used to if you drive mainlly in towns but the plus side of no street lights is that with no light pollution the stars are specatacular at night.

I love your comment about our local pub, it really is a focus for our community and for those who visit Godney, we are lucky to have a pub in our village when so many have been shut.

Come and visit us again, you will always be welcome and Happy New Year

Jane & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore50...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really stylish property”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing to say is that this is a really lovely place to spend a long weekend, the decor is both stylish and at the same time very comfortable. It has a lot of character and is definitely unique!

Jane and Simon are great hosts, very welcoming and helpful. They gave us so many suggestions for things to do I think we have to come back again! There are great walks in the area, both on the levels and in the Mendips - and a fantastic pub next door when you get back!

This is a great place to relax and unwind, and we'd definitely recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at Godney Arts House and you are all welcome to come back again:) It great when our guests enjoy not only our property but also the countryside around Godney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Sublime Getaway”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A Sublime Getaway

From initial enquiry to (reluctantly) departing Godney Arts House, Jane and Simon did everything to make this the perfect holiday.

At the outset communication was speedy and they were responsive on prices / availability, things to do in the area, directions and questions we had about our upcoming stay.

Upon arrival, GAH surpassed our expectations – the photos do not do it justice! The attention to detail is exceptional. From the welcome hamper (the best bread we have ever eaten!), to the toiletries provided, to the quirky décor (check out the yo-yo and alarm clock collection…), to the super comfortable bed and to the picturesque garden – this place oozes character and charm.

Located in Lower Godney, GAH is in the ideal position for exploring the Somerset area – quiet peaceful and tranquil without being isolated. If you have time check out the amazing art at Hauser & Wirth (if possible on a dry day so you can explore the gardens) and the Monacute TV Radio Toy Museum (an unforgettable collection of weird and wonderful memorabilia). Closer to home is the Sheppy Inn – literally a 1 minute walk from GAH, where you will find fantastic beers, amazing views from the beer garden and a delicious menu.

We had a great time staying at GAH and left feeling refreshed, relaxed and recharged. Thank you Jane and Simon!

Sarah & Andrew

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
So glad you had a fantastic stay at Godney Arts House and that you had a memorable birthday. You had amazing weather too for all yoir outdoor trips. Come back and visit another time.
Winter on the Somerset Levels is very atmospheric with all the early morning mists and big open skies. The Nature Reserves near us (Ham Wall & Westhay Moor) are great for watching the starling murmurations when thousands of birds "dance" in the sky just before sunset.

Take care and look forward to welcoming you to Godney again, all the best Jane & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lollylou2...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss ”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Amazing house with great hosts and a brilliant pub literally next door....

We stayed at Godney Arts in March for a long weekend with friends and we had a fantastic time.

The house itself is amazing, designed with loads of quirky features. EVery bedroom is enquire, with room 2 featuring a great roll top bath. Room 1 has a fab wet room with what I think we're some sort of reclaimed tyre on the floor... It's brilliant. Comfy beds and towels provided. All three rooms are spacious. Great kitchen and a lovely welcome hamper. The only downside was the wifi which wasn't great, but then it is a rural location.

Jane is great at getting back to you with any information you need and went out of her way to help us. The cider farm is a must for a visit... But be careful it's strong.

The Sheppy inn is virtually next door, from the outside you wonder if you want to go in, but once you step inside its a brilliant space full of home infused vodkas, Gina and rums as well as tons of local ciders to try. The food is superb.... Have the muscles .... They are the best I've ever had.

Security deposit returned promptly. We would certainly stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
We loved hosting Louise BF her friends and family they left Godney Arts House really clean and tidy, thank you! Despite being 6 adults plus babies and toddler everything was perfect and we were happy to help with suggesting local places to visit or eat. Louise and friends are welcome to return anytime and we ar glad they also loved our fab village pub. Travelling with small children can be challenging so we are glad everyone had a great time and your appreciation of the house means a lot to us. Hope to welcome you again Jane & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Elisa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Ana Elisa it was lovely hosting you and your famiy. We are so happy that you enjoyed your week at Godney Arts House and loved the countryside around and all that it has to offer. Yes it is very peaceful here and also glad that you loved the interior design of GAH. You are welcome again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing