We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to chill out !”
Review of Milla de Plata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Milla de Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Wonderful location right by the sea, overlooking the rock of Gibraltar. This is the perfect place if you want to relax and "chill out".
Since we love nature it is sweet music when we can hear the waves while having breakfirst on the terrace. (With the best fresh orangejuice we ever had).
On top of this, the staff were very helpfull and friendly.
We definetly will go back to this wonderfull hotel, only 1 hour from malaga airport and 30.min from Gibraltar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Milla de Plata
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

After selling our holiday home in Sotogrande after 25 years! We chose this hotel to see family who were sailing their yacht around the Med. We will have no hesitation in booking here whenever we wish to return to our familiar haunts. We have stayed in many so called 5 star hotels which have not had the same friendly personal service which we experienced at The Milla de Plata. The staff were attentive and always ready to please. Our room was large and had balcony overlooking the beach. It was clean and well equipped with ceiling fan and remote control . Perhaps to make it perfect it would have had tea making facilities but I am sure if asked they would have obliged. We enjoyed the peaceful setting .As we had a car we did eat out with family quite a lot but found the quality of food in the hotel good. Free wi fi was a bonus also Satellite TV for Sky news

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited for the second time and it was just an overnight as we were visiting relatives, however , I am going to make a point of staying longer next time. The welcome was warm , the room lovely , I still can't believe its only 2 stars, I disagree about needing a car , you could easily walk into town, 10 mins max. The rooms are themed this time we stated in sotogrande, lovely charming room , all you could want, and anything you may ask for they have it. The thing I like most about it is that the rooms are almost in the sea they are so close , which makes for wonderful mornings sitting on the little balcony , wall to wall sea! we had room only and there are plenty of places to have breakfast in town, I have not tried the hotels breakfast , so can't comment .it feels tranquil and warm.
Will go back.Only one criticism , is that the room key for that room is very sticky , took a while to access the room , could need the lock changing ?

Room Tip: They are truly all lovely
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We found the staff very friendly and helpful in this cosy hotel. The location is nice at the seaside. Be aware that it is not situated in town. Car is needed. Breakfast is simple but good quality, same goes for the rooms. In short, good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband, 2 year old and I stayed here last weekend before travelling to Gib for work. It is a pretty hotel with the most fantastiv views across the Med. For the view I would stay again. We checked in and struggled a little as the 2 receptionists knew no English so booking taxis was tricky, but the staff in the bar downstairs were fab. The pool is more on a plunge pool, which was fine for our one night stay but if you stayed for a week - the only place to swim would be a short walk down to the beach. The beaches were great and there are plenty of places to have a drink/food along the main street. The rooms were not clean however and I shared a pillow with somebodys hair (not ours) and the coffee machine was filthy - this let the hotel down I feel. We didnt have supper here but we did have breakfast which was not great - coffee was good though! We would stay here again in the future but perhaps as a couple, not with a toddler. We ate at “La Dolce Vita" in Torreguadiaro which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Recently some hotels started to call themselves “boutique”. It is probably a term that spilled over from the more posh locations and is to attract a different class of customers.

This hotel is nice but not “boutique”. Just a place with friendly owners and the rooms decorated brightly. (see my pictures) Its just an old hotel that was redecorated in a rather cheap way.

My room was nice and big and had a balcony on the sea side. From the balcony you can see Gibraltar, weather permitting.

The bathroom was a bit small and there was a big window that I could not lock. Why would you lock the door then?

Free WiFi was slow with a download speed of approx. 350-450kB/s

There was a large TV but only with Spanish channels.

There is nice outside seating with lots of easy chairs.

Breakfast was served at the table and was very good with coffee, toast and a selection of different types of cheese and ham.

The hotel is a couple of hundred meters from the small village which was deserted when I was there in January 2013.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked 2 nights at this lovely little boutique style hotel as we were going to a party nearby.it did not disapoint. The greeting was warm , all the staff lovely and we were treated very well. The little village of torreguadiaro is a five to seven min walk, and as some interesting fish and tapas bars. We were recommended to one called tapa pura , but sadly it was closed when we visited, never mind , next time. The milla de plata rooms were more than adequate we choose Africa , it was warm and I loved the elephant picture on the wall!. We ate at the hotel on the second evening and it was all really good great choice , we opted for steak having had our fill of fish for a few days, and it was cooked really well and served with a smile!great wine list , the Rioja was really good. The terrace and the views are why people come here and it feels like you are in the sea! Great views, lovely welcome , good food , what more can you ask ? Will be back

Room Tip: All good rooms 107 seems the largest and is on the corner but all face the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torreguadiaro
1.2 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
3.1 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
417 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
890 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Manilva
115 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Almenara Resort
Hotel Almenara Resort
#1 of 5 in Sotogrande
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milla de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milla de Plata

Address: Avienda Mar del Sur 106 | Sotogrande, Torreguadiaro, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Torreguadiaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Torreguadiaro
Price Range: £78 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milla de Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Milla de Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing