We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Food Quality service pleasant staff welcoming atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Food Quality service pleasant staff welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

First class food , best ribeye steak I have had for a long time, all in all this was the best,
The service was first class ,Like most Inn's and hotels in the dales really spoilt for choice with the beers , most of them brewed locally ,so to sum up if you are passing through Kilnsey call in the tennant arms , and you will be in for a treat

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldMF9056QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    85
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
51
140
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Possibly the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Needs a deep clean. The food is OK but if the public areas and rooms are anything to go by then I dread to think what the standards of cleanliness are like in the Kitchen. The corridors to the bedroom look and smell like they haven't been touched since the 1970's. The carpets in the public areas are really dirty. The owners dog, which was locked in the room next to ours, howled and barked into the early hours. Checked out a B&B in Grassington - same price and 10 times better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyby61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great place great people great food and great room. We go every 6 to 8 weeks and always have a fabulous time. Just got back and it was fab from start to finish. A big thanks to Kay, Mark, Tom, Sue, Pete and all the other staff that make our stay so good. The food is great cooked to order and of course the wine beer spirits etc are also very good. So see you all again soon From Andy Mel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andymel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A beautiful room with 4 poster bed, views across the valley and a luxurious bathroom made a great first impression. Bar food offered a wide choice and was very good with large portions and the choice of 5 ales on hand pump changes frequently. Breakfast was also good and provides ample fuel for a days walking around the Dale.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view, they front onto the road but I was not disturbed by traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin101fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Thanks to the staff in the queens arms in litton having extremely bad manners we ventured a bit further and stopped at this road side country pub. I ordered belly pork and apricots and my partner had the mixed grill. The service was faultless and the food to die for. The meals are generous portions for a good price and the quality of the food surprised us. We will definitely return when we are next near kilnsey. My family went there the following day to an enjoyable Sunday lunch menu too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BeciA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 764 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were tipped off about this place by a member of staff at the National Parks Centre in Grassington when we were planning a hike from there to Conistone Dib. There isn’t apparently anywhere for lunch in Conistone however the extra mile return walk to Kilnsey was well worth it.

It’s a historic hotel with a backdrop of the Kilnsey Crag for good measure and a trout farm just along the road.

During our visit temperatures were soaring and we opted for a seat on the picnic benches out front. It was a bit close to cars pulling up to park and with hindsight we should have gone up to the beer garden at the side of the building for a better overall setting. There is a bar, restaurant and hotel on site. We only saw the bar where we ordered the food and it seemed full of character (although not full of people due to the weather - most guests were outdoors).

Service was friendly although this doesn’t extend to too much trust as you have to pay in advance if you’re sitting outside! I expect a few people have “done a runner” without paying in the past. We didn’t wait too long outside with our drinks before our food was delivered.

What a plateful! Or to be more accurate, what a wooden platter full. I had Fish & Chips (£12.50) and my wife had the Cold Meat & Cheese Ploughman’s Platter (£9.95). The fish was coated in one of the lightest and tastiest batters I’ve tasted for years (a beer batter) and served with chunky chips, a ramekin of garden peas (my preference to the mushy variety), a salad garnish and a chunk of bread & butter. The Ploughman’s was also well received - a few thick slices of cold ham, Wensleydale Cheese, a couple of pickled onions, chopped apple and celery, a chunk of bread & butter and homemade chutney - all very rustic! The food was delicious and it was a struggle to eat it all so no chance of pudding! By the time we added a couple of drinks our bill was £29 which we thought was very good value.

By the time we were finished it was getting fairly busy so perhaps we were fortunate just to time it right although we didn’t see anyone waiting too long to be served.

The Walk: Grassington to Kilnsey via Conistone Dib and return via Dib Scar/Grass Wood

Our walk from Grassington was very worthwhile. We left the village on Chapel Street and up Bank Lane taking the path to the right and uphill between the stone walls eventually looking back on the village and Town Head Farm. We continued to follow the trail upwards through several styles in the walls. The direction post markers are unfortunately not all detailed to give a clue to where they lead however we ended up reaching an abandoned farm steading - marked on the map as Bare House. The views over the Dales landscape en route were clear for miles including some sections of limestone pavement. After a quick look around the farm buildings which have been used as shelter by the sheep more recently we started back downhill.

We used the TV mast as a landmark to head towards Conistone Dib and after going a bit “off piste” we ended up on the Dales Way just after a section where it passes an old lime kiln. Following the marker post for Conistone we crossed a few styles and passed through a few gates (clearly marked to fasten!) before reaching the entrance to Consitone Dib. This descends through a rough rock filled gully which is quite narrow at parts, following the path of a dry river it seems. This eventually broadens and ultimately just before Conistone village you descend over rocks on what was once a small waterfall. On our return after lunch at Kilnsey we followed the road through Consistone with the river alongside on our right for a few hundred yards and then followed a marker sign for Grassington heading sharply uphill. This eventually took us back to Grassington via Dib Scar and Grass Wood, providing good views back into the valley initially and then through gradually thickening woodland. The path eventually descended to a field and then Grass Wood Lane back to the village. Overall a great hike which took up the best part of the day. The map was obtained at the National Parks office at Grassington for £1.75.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We called in for evening meal with our niece and her husband whilst staying in the area. The bar staff were very friendly and chatty and helped us chose our meal options and we were delighted with our meals. We ate early, a good idea as the bar filled up very quickly, a seemingly popular place. If we're in the area again we'll definitely be back! Myra and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton
The Tennants Arms Kilnsey, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing