We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My parents booked this hotel as a surprise treat for my wife and I. It was great. Lovely room, very friendly staff, great food evening and breakfast. Shower and bath really luxurious. Great location. Will be back and will bring the children.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyhayes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    92
    34
    18
    16
See reviews for
56
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-sea
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Without a doubt the best carvery, if not the best roast dinner, I have ever eaten! Huge servings of quality meat and an enormous choice of lovely veggies, not to mention proper real yorkshire puddings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_on_seaHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A group of 20 of us stopped here for a carvery on our return from a birthday weekend. I had the best carvery I have evver had. The selection of meat and vegtables was vast, and they catered well for vegetarians. Service was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is in the most wonderful area of Yorkshire. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was outstanding value. Breakfast - well, words fail me! It was exceptional - prepared and served with care. I would have like to have stayed for weeks!

Room Tip: I would imagine that all rooms at this hotel are as good as the next. We took one of the two availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catey418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chanced upon the Tennant Arms whilst looking for B&B in Yorkshire. Our first impressions from the outside were ok but rather tired looking so we were not expecting too much. We asked for a room at the front of the inn so as to have a view and were shown to a lovely double bedded room with a small sofa area. (Garesdale). The en suite bathroom was adequate, spotlessly clean with a bath & good overhead shower. The room felt a little chilly when we entered but in the time it took to have a lovely hot bath the heating was on & the room very cosy. The bed was very comfortable.
When we went down to the bar area for food & drinks there was a very welcome log fire lit!
We enjoyed our meals on both evenings and breakfast was particularly good. The staff were friendly and helpful (Michael).

Room Tip: We slept at the front which was on a fairly busy road but we were not disturbed. It was nice to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very warm and welcoming pub. The staff were all very polite and friendly too.
The food was excellent. Lots of choice and very good value. The homemade burger was amazing. Best I've ever had! The chef certainly knows what they are doing!
Unlike some reviewers, I'm not personally bothered how worn the carpet is. I go for the hospitality and the food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Covar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

As we walked into the pub, the chef passed us carrying a huge platter, piled with a selection of seafood. Having looked at the menu we both decided to have that - and we were not disappointed. Mussels, prawns, calamari, salmon, mackerel, smoked haddock (undyed), served with a fresh generous salad and chunky chips. The beer was excellent, the service was efficient, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
129 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.0 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tennants Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton
The Tennants Arms Kilnsey, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing