We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Grassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smashing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Called at this Hotel today for lunch.Walked in and the first thing that hits you is the lovely blazing fire.Just what you need on a cold winters day.The festive decorations are very nice as well.
The menu is good and we had a smashing lunch sat next to the fire.I had ham great thick slices delicious my partner had sausage and our plates were overflowing. The home made chips were smashing.All produce is locally sourced so very fresh.Fair prices as well.
The staff were lovely and friendly and as we have a big family celebration next year we are looking at local hotels for rooms.
We were shown some of the quest bedroom, what a delight.
Warm,bright,with lovely bedding,towels and furnishings.The bathrooms are star quality.Spotless and smelling lovely.
Prices are excellent for the quality of the rooms available.
Plenty of parking and the views are stunning.
All in all a place well worth a visit.We will be going back and certainly our family will be staying there next year.

Room Tip: Local to all the attractions of the Yorkshire Dales.Just stunning location.This hotel was featured i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    86
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
51
141
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a friendly pub/hotel with a good range of beers and very good food. I had the Belly Pork which was delicious but also tried one of the pies and it had a lovely crispy-topped suet pastry which was very nice and a bit different. Also went in for a drink the following day. There's a big roaring fire and the other room is pleasant and spacious and the pub is in a great location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and myself were visiting the Grassington Dickensian Festival and a few days before decided to stay in North Yorkshire. Most of the B&Bs in the area were fully booked and I finally found the Tennant Arms had a vacancy. The room was beautiful with views of Kilsney Crag however what was most spectacular was the bathroom, which was actually on a lower floor. It was comparable to one you would expect in a 5 star hotel.The breakfast was fantastic, a true full English with everything you could imagine.

We had an evening meal which was also lovely but I was disappointed, having pre -booked to find we were sitting in the bar area. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend a stay here especially for the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p999hug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend with friends. Stall were the friendliest ever - nothing was too much trouble. We ate dinner both nights and food was fab - nicely cooked and presented, plentiful , hot and reasonably priced. Breakfast likewise was excellent. Rooms are all done in different styles but all really nice. Def recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room via late rooms but due to taking the dog could not have family room so had 2 rooms next door at top of small stairs. Our room had large cast iron double ended bath and large bed. The other room was smaller and more basic. Was lovely and warm, loads hot water bed comfy. Breakfast in morning was fantastic, lovely service. Great pub would like to return

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUFFOLK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We found this gem whilst on holiday, we ate here 6 nights out of 7, the food was fantastic, triple cheese pie and sticky toffee pudding highly recommended, roaring fire, helpful staff and fantastic food what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Myself and my partner went for a two night stay at the Tennants Arms, we stayed in a standard room 'Wensleydale' the room was fantastic for a 'standard room' it was spacious, clean, a lovely bed & furniture with an en-suite, the room was cosy and warm. After a warm welcome by the staff we had an evening meal in the bar, the food was delicious and was nicely washed down with drinks from the bar.

The location of the hotel is great, no noise at night from any traffic. The views are spectacular, Kilsney Crag is to the left of the hotel and the views of the hills to the front are amazing. After spending the day walking over the Yorkshire moors we arrived back at the hotel to have a nice soak in the bath before heading downstairs for an evening meal in the bar again. What can I say, the food was as good as it was on the first night. Sat next to the open cast fire eating our meal and having drinks was just fantastic.

We had such a lovely time that we can't wait to return again and bring the rest of the family with us and the dog.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
5.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.5 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton
The Tennants Arms Kilnsey, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing