We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place To Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

John T
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Carn Cottage. Upon arrival Bryan the owner gave us an introduction to the cottage and local amenities.The cottage was cosy beautifully clean and had all the facilities we required for walking holiday in the Dales.The two pubs in Long Preston were well worth a visit both for their food and hospitality.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina37...
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a great holiday at Carn Cottage, the owner Bryan is a lovely man who is very helpful and friendly. The cottage was great, home from home. I would recommend this cottage to any couple who are looking for a relaxing or walking break, close to Harrogate or if you wish every Wednesday you can go on the steam train to Carlisle with lovely scenery, train leaves from Long Preston. Two restuarants within Long Preston so no need to take the car if you wish to sample the excellent Yorkshire Real Ales.

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyw60...
Hetton-le-Hole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

just got back from a lovely relaxing week at carn cottage can't praise bryan the owner enough for making our holiday so nice lovely clean and tidy and good base for the dales also good walks right from the door would highly recommend

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage Exceeds expectations and owned by a very genial and host.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great property with excellent views of the Dales , everything you need is on hand. The holiday starts with a very informative brief from the owner Bryan who also has a very good sense of humour and really makes you feel very welcome and ensures that you have an enjoyable holiday. Two pubs within walking distance,our preference was the Boars Head with very professional and friendly staff who serve excellent food at a reasonable price. We visited Malham Cove and with the help of RSPB wardens they allowed us to view the resident Peregrine Falcons through their powerful binoculars and then pointed them out when they were in flight ..an experience not to be missed ! Other walks included Ingleborough estate and Cave again well worth a visits as is Aysgarth Falls and a pint in the pub in West Burton one of the prettiest villages in The Dales. If your eating in then try any local butcher and buy locally bred Lamb or Beef , you won't taste anything better anywhere !!
A great host and cottage.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, comfort
Liked least: Coming home !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjhjah
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All that we had hoped”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Everything we had read about Carn Cottage proved to be true. It is clean, comfortable, well-equipped (good, large shower) and the owner, Brian, who lives next door, was extremely helpful. Our only problem was linking up to Wi-Fi, but that could have been our fault! The village has a useful shop and two pubs serving reasonable food, although we preferred the Plough at Wigglesworth two miles away.
Places we visited and enjoyed were: Harlow Carr and Harrogate, Malham, Bolton Abbey (lovely walks along the river), Linton (walk up to Grassington or along the river), Skipton Castle and Kirkby Lonsdale. For the more energetic there are details in the cottage of numerous walks around Long Preston. It all made for a most enjoyable week.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trupti W
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a week at Carn Cottage in early April. A delightful, comfortable cottage, just the right size for two. We loved the quirky upside down setting and that it had plenty of space. Great views as well. The cottage is extremely clean and well furnished, with everything you might need for the week. The owner Bryan, who lives just next door, was very welcoming and friendly, with some good suggestions for trips in the area. Parking was tight, but do-able. Just remember it's the first cottage on the left as you turn in.
We found lots to do in the area - great walks and places to visit. The village itself has two good pubs and a village shop which was enough for us; plenty more shops and a good supermarket a few miles away in Settle. We would certainly be very happy to return to Carn Cottage and explore the area further.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, comfort and space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanna B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for couples”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a brilliant time, with a very warm welcome by Bryan who also recommended loads of local attractions.
The cottage itself is really cosy, especially with the coal fire going. The facilities were great for the few occasions we cooked in and the location is brilliant for a range of activities.
We really enjoyed Skipton Castle, Bolton Abbey & White Scar caves as well as some of the local walks and lots of the local pubs.
Just note that the cottage is the first on the left - heading too far down the lane might get tricky (since it narrows to about 6ft wide).

Date of stay: March 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.