We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”
Review of The Maypole Inn - CLOSED

The Maypole Inn
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Maypole Inn has just reopened with Chefs Alex & Darren providing the menu of pub classics cooked using the best local ingredients. Nick is behind the bar and we have a great selections of Ales, Lagers and wines from around the world. We have 6 lovely en-suite bedrooms and prices start from £35.00 Per night B&B.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The new owners were very friendly and helpful when we went for meals and drinks. The service was very good and the food excellent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina372014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    8
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dont bother going”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The landlady did not make us feel welcome at all. She never even cracked a smile. the place is shabby and does not look clean or inviting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Murraymints00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have eaten here 2 or 3 times a year for the last 15 years but our visit last Saturday was the first since the new management took over. It is a much reduced menu than previously (although a little cheaper than before) but the food was disappointing. I am vegetarian & there is only one veggie main course whereas previously there were 4 delicious veggie offerings on the menu and often at least one more on the 'Specials' board. a miniscule bowl of chips appeared with each meal and my ricotta & spinach cannelloni was overcooked and bland. My husband had to ask for the vegetables to accompany his meal (as per the menu) & they arrived when he was already halfway through the meal. The waitress was pleasant enough but unconcerned. I think the fact that we were the only people eating in the restaurant on a Saturday evening may be an indicator that all is not as it was. We shall think twice before going again whereas we have always looked forward to our trips previously.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place gets no better”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Unfortunately, we arrived at this place by accident whilst out and didn't read reviews prior, however the smell of burnt fat as we walked through the door should have led us to have the courage to turn on heal and go elsewhere, the chips we were presented with where the worst excuse for chips I've ever encountered until the excuse for the problem " its the potatoes" how can it be the potatoes fault for burnt offerings that were like soggy mush when you bit into them!!!!!!! (there's courage for you)
we could have had a better meal at greasy Joe's cafe for a third of the price, my only advice to whoever runs this place is "leave" before you do that much more damage we all loose another village pub. you are not suited to "The hospitality trade" I look at the recent reviews and wonder if we went to the same Maypole Pub, obviously not.or recent is before the present management!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling. Wouldn't go back if you paid us”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped off here a few weeks back on a trip home from the lakes and the food was really nice although the staff could do with a bit more training. One of us had ordered steak pie with chips but the waitress only brought the pie out. Finally after half way through the meal he had to go up to the bar to ask for them as the waitress never came out again, not even to check everything was ok. They took so long to bring them out that the meals were eaten by then. There was no apology from the waitress which was a bit off putting but everything else was ok and everyone enjoyed their meals otherwise. We thought it might have been a one off and we were just unlucky.

We decided to stop here again the other weekend as the food was nice last time but this time was horrendous. There were 2 young waitresses on and they looked and acted like they didn't want to be there. There was a lot of tension between the bar staff, the landlady and landlord and the waitresses that you could cut the air with a knife. The waitresses were complaining to each other in full view of the customers about how bad their day was. Completely unprofessionall. 3 of our tables meals had to go back because they were cold. One of my friends rejected their meal as the meat wasn't even cooked properly and got a sarcastic comment off one of the waitresses who was muttering to herself the whole way to the kitchen and back. The waitress tried to give someone else the wrong meal. The waitress kept telling her thats what she had ordered and didn't believe that she had ordered something else which resulted in a bit of an argument. All the staff in the bar and restaurant had a look of thunder the whole time we were there and we could hear other customers getting frustrated with the staff too about mixed up orders and wrong orders and cold orders.We didn't bother ordering anything else and just paid up and left quickly. If the staff have a bad day, they shouldn't take it out on their customers but they did which was completely unacceptable. They were rude, unprofessional, sarcastic, unhelpful and we all left feeling disgusted and will NEVER go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kateteejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maypole Inn also viewed

Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Wigglesworth, North Yorkshire
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing