We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boars Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Long Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A one night stay but a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is set in a very quiet village and the staff could not be more helpful. The food was great and the steak night, which we were fortunate to be there for, is great value for money and more than adequate as we could not finish the meal!
The room was comfy although a bit dated but we were assured that it is in line for a refurbishment.
The only drawback was that two of the windows were painted over and could not be opened making the room a bit warm on a humid night. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctr0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked originally for a two night stay as I was doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks for charity. The hotel is around a 15 minute drive away from the normal start point of the challenge for anyone looking for somewhere suitable to stay. On the first evening the owner actually introduced me to two other guests doing the challenge so that I could share transport with them the next day which was great. He even offered us a pack up in the morning to take with us on the early start and put our water in their fridge to chill overnight. Breakfast is generally served between 8:30 and 9:30 although they were happy to be flexible around this if you wanted a later breakfast. On the day of the challenge we came back right at the end of serving for food but they were more than happy to feed us all whatever we wanted from the menu following such a hard day. We decided to add a third night to our stay and managed to stay in the same room which was great.

The food is very tasty, portions are generous and nothing was too much trouble - all the staff are excellent and really friendly. We are happy to recommend the hotel to others and will stay here again. Some may find it noisy but there are ear plugs supplied which do help if you are used to a more quiet night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkies290613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Have stayed in a number of places in the area over the past few months and would rate this as one of the best. I will definitely be staying again.
Yes, the rooms are a bit dated; but everything else is great.
The staff are friendly and helpful; the locals are friendly as well.
The food is great; really good value and it has some great beers.
Fantastic location as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a great find if you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers good traditional pub food, with a great selection of cask ales. Ideally located to explore the Yorkshire dales. Very friendly and helpful staff. Took our dog, who was also made welcome and fussed over. Some may call this place dated but I would say, it's a great place to stay in comfort in traditional surrounding. Which are sadly missing in many places.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We arrived on a friday having to come to this part as a member of family in hospital nearby, I was staying with my mum. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming, Meal was really good and at breakfast not formal menu they asked what you required for the full english and had a choice of cereals. Only thing missing would have been some fruit.

We were given the family room , I slept on one of the bunks i am 30 and it was comfortable but squaky, my mum had the double and said it was very hard and she felt cold. also thr room as someone else mentioned was cobwebby we even saw the spider..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday with our small dog. The staff were so friendly and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. We would definitely recommend staying whether dog owners or not. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmarkmissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We booked here as a last minute weekend break and had a fantastic time - the rooms where nice and clean (although our room was a little bit warm). The breakfast was great and we were given a choice of what we could have. We could not fault the staff whom were all really friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel very welcome by all including the pubs regulars. We also ate in the pub a couple of times - the food was as good as anything you would get in any restaurant at reasonable prices. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicsim911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
3.6 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maypole Inn
Maypole Inn
#1 of 3 in Long Preston
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
The Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hellifield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boars Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boars Head Hotel

Address: 9 Main Street, Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Long Preston
Price Range: £57 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boars Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Boars Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boars Head Hotel Long Preston, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing