We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boars Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boars Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for one night during the week while working in the area.
The country roads leading to Long Preston are a bit of a challenge in the dark, I wouldn't want to drive it in the winter.
The hotel is basic, but clean, has lots of character and the staff are very welcoming.
The food quality is good and the range of ales is excellent for a small village inn.
Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilgax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    52
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
69
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Creek Qld
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

A good pub with friendly staff and good food and ales. Comfortable bed. Wifi upstairs not real good but downstairs spot on. We had an issue with TV and one of the owners bought in a replacement at around 2100. Can't ask for much more than that. Off street parking. If you want clean basic accommodation at a reasonable cost stay here. Probably best to ask for a rear room as closer to the front traffic noise could be an issue

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank poppy_gsandycreekqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Four of us visited 8thSept and all enjoyed our meals, in particular steak and ale pie and the fish and chips, extensive menu at reasonable prices, several guest beers which included Taylor,s Landlord. We were rather surprised that there weren't, more people dining. Would certainly recommend.

Hugh, Skipton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked this hotel on the spur of the moment, couldn't have been more pleased as I turned the corner and saw it.Very well presented from the outside, which flowed through into the inside. All the staff I came in contact with were very friendly and welcoming. Room was spotless, would have liked a softer pillow but that is just my preference.Evening meal looked really appetizing was delicious and good value for money, that goes for the breakfast too. A little further out of Skipton than I expected but it is a nice village on the road to Settle

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We visited this lovely hotel twice during our holiday. The meals we had were lovely, the menu was so varied and staff were so welcoming and professional. The atmosphere was great so relaxing. The landlord was truely an amazing host , so friendly and helped with all our needs with regards to my very young grandson. We really chilled out when we were there and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

A one night stay but a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is set in a very quiet village and the staff could not be more helpful. The food was great and the steak night, which we were fortunate to be there for, is great value for money and more than adequate as we could not finish the meal!
The room was comfy although a bit dated but we were assured that it is in line for a refurbishment.
The only drawback was that two of the windows were painted over and could not be opened making the room a bit warm on a humid night. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctr0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked originally for a two night stay as I was doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks for charity. The hotel is around a 15 minute drive away from the normal start point of the challenge for anyone looking for somewhere suitable to stay. On the first evening the owner actually introduced me to two other guests doing the challenge so that I could share transport with them the next day which was great. He even offered us a pack up in the morning to take with us on the early start and put our water in their fridge to chill overnight. Breakfast is generally served between 8:30 and 9:30 although they were happy to be flexible around this if you wanted a later breakfast. On the day of the challenge we came back right at the end of serving for food but they were more than happy to feed us all whatever we wanted from the menu following such a hard day. We decided to add a third night to our stay and managed to stay in the same room which was great.

The food is very tasty, portions are generous and nothing was too much trouble - all the staff are excellent and really friendly. We are happy to recommend the hotel to others and will stay here again. Some may find it noisy but there are ear plugs supplied which do help if you are used to a more quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkies290613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
22.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.3 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Littlebank Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boars Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boars Head Hotel

Property: The Boars Head Hotel
Address: 9 Main Street, Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boars Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boars Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boars Head Hotel Long Preston, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing