We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
138
74
20
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
74
20
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie new owners the pub evening meal bar area yorkshire dales burger warm welcome dining room food was lovely last visit pudding few drinks attentive staff large car park small portions top quality
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Owner and staff all made us feel very welcome.
Plenty of parking behind the property.
Rooms were large, modern and very well equipped. Always nice to have free water.
Restaurant was great with a lot of choice and some nice specials. Emphasis was on taste not size which was very welcome.
Bit of noise from the road so if this bothers you bring some earlugs.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We've never been to this pub before but knew the landlord had previously been at The Craven Heifer in Skipton. We opted for the 3 peaks steak pie and weren't disappointed. It was superb, served with chips and a good selection of mixed vegetables.We chose the small portion which was much larger than expected so glad we didn't opt for the large version. Good value at £10.95 and we left full and satisfied. We'll certainly go again sometime when we're in the vicinity

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trickydicky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

This place has recently been renovated, restored and refurbished and has changed beyond all recognition. It’s stunning ... no longer an old, Smokey, ageing pub. It’s now fresh and full of a homely, new character.

We tracked down this place as Angela and John used to serve the best Hot Roast Beef sandwiches in the Dales at their previous place in Skipton. Let me tell you the high standards of presentation, flavour, quality have not diminished. With extra gravy, horse radish on the side. This is Roast Beef at its most tender and we are back in sandwich heaven ....

If you need a nice lunch stop en route to Giggleswick / Settle / Lakes. Make a point of calling here.

We will back .... lots !!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank DeanaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

This inn situated on the road to Settle has been extremely comfortably and tastefully refurbished with lovely rooms (all with ensuite bathrooms), excellent bar and restaurant. The restaurant food was imaginative, varied and tasty using locally sourced produce- definitely to be recommended. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for access to the Dales.
There is some traffic noise for the rooms facing the front but there is double glazing and it’s not particularly noticeable (but bear it in mind if traffic noise disturbs you and request a rear facing room)
Very good value for money :-) I’d come here again..

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

The room Whernside Beautiful decor very tastefully presented. Squeeky clean ensuite fantastic towels and toiletries.
Great beer especially the Hetton Pale Ale.
We were made to feel very welcome.
Food was very good tasty well presented served by brilliant friendly staff who are a credit to the establishment.
Breakfast relaxed just as it should be.
Quality bacon sausage black pudding and eggs fresh free range.
Everything about the Maypole is put together with care passion ans attention to detail.
A very big thank you and well done to everyone concerned with making our stay just perfect.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank dickpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews