We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy hotel in quiet location”

Eldon Country Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Preston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eldon Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed with a 3 year old and were made very welcome by the owner. Hotel is slightly away from the main road so was quieter than we expected which was brilliant. Lots of information in the guest book so we could make the most of our stay.

Long Preston is a small village with not much outdoor space for a 3 year old to run round in, so we found the garden a bonus, but felt the owners could have made more of it by adding more seating and including it on the photos of the hotel.

Room was ok, nice big comfy bed, but the bed for our child was a small campbed which wasn't really what we were expecting for the price. We got a corner bath with an overhead shower in the ensuite which was convenient.

Breakfast was great and the owner was really friendly.

Overall, the hotel is a little tired and pricey compared to other B&Bs in other areas but is in a good location and very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidlleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Great king size bed, nice two-end bath, brilliant healthy-seeming high qualty fried breakfast, friendly and helpful owner, lovely building in nice grounds in nice village in decent location.

On the down side was the room itself. The TV didn't work, the bathroom blinds were broken, the heated towel rail was broken, the only heating was plug-in standalone heaters (hence leaping out of bed on cold morning to turn them on and warm the room up), some mold in the bathroom, dirty skirting board and the bathroom door didn't close at all and jammed solid once after a bath. This list make it sound terrible, but the bed and bath were nice and the room was spacious and pleasent, and I would have been very happy with it at £60 or £70 a night. But for £100+ a night, I thought it needed a bit of redecoration and a get-everything-fixed blitz.

So definitely enjoyed the stay - but the room needed improvement.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackJinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ayton England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My wife and I spent a really relaxing weekend at the Eldon Country Hotel. We were made very welcome from the moment we went through the door, being taken to our rooms and a few minor issues quickly dealt with without any fuss or bother. The room was massive with a bed that went on forever. The windows were well insulated so there was no noise from outside. The breakfasts were superb but the hotel doesn't appear to be geared up for evening meals (we tried one and were disappointed). They are more than happy to recommend other places in the village that provide food - try the Maypole, which may not look too much but the food and the drinks are both wonderful. For those wet days there is also a sauna, which we tried out and found to be clean and effective. We've already recommended the hotel to several of our friends and family.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The attempt at an evening meal
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Masons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirriemuir
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Yet again a wonderful stay in this lovely establishment owner very accommodating and a lovely breakfast. Room is very nice and a lovely pub up the road in the village gives absolutely brilliant meals ,will definately be back

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

A lovely little hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. We loved our room and the decor although we didn't have time to try out the sauna! The owner was very friendly and really went the extra mile in making our stay comfortable. We are returning in August when we do the 3 Peaks Challenge.

  • Liked — The decor and the owner
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bagiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2006

we are a couple in our 40;s, the hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated, the owner was very welcoming, the room was fantastic and the food was excellent, al in all a very enjoyable stay so much so we are planning to return next month for two more nights

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank 40straveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Just stayed one night but was very disappointed with the room, especially considering the price. The bathroom desperately needed redecorating and there were no blinds on the skylights leading to a very uncomfortable experience, to which the hotel staff didnt see any issue with. I can only think this ploy was there to reinforce, the unheard of checkout time of 10am!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Preston
3.3 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
331 reviews
20.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
306 reviews
9.6 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
260 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldon Country Hotel

Property: Eldon Country Hotel
Address: Church Street | Long Preston, Long Preston, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Long Preston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Preston
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Eldon Country Hotel Long Preston, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing