We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stay whilst doing the Dales Way”
Review of Nethergill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nethergill Farm
Ranked #3 of 3 Buckden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must stay whilst doing the Dales Way”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We completed the Dales Way today and have stayed in some wild, whacky and beautiful places en route. Nethergill was one of the best! Fiona has a very unassuming manner, quietly efficient and making her guests feel instantly at home. Nethergill is a credit to both Chris & Fiona as they strive to make it a sustainable refuge in the Yorkshire Dales. A big pot of tea and flapjack was our reward for a great day walking followed by a beautiful home cooked seasonal meal. The beds and bedding were the type you'd like to take home with you, and the breakfast choice was flexible and tasty - porridge with home made lemon curd :) If you want to be reminded of what life should really be about, a stay at Nethergill is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowarthrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked 3 nights at Nethergill Farm on the strength of seeing it on Countrywise Kitchen, and it was all and more that we hoped for. Fiona is absolutely lovely, and provided a wonderful welcome on arrival (mmm, those flapjacks!) Our room was super comfortable and warm - the new biomass boiler is definitely earning its keep. Great breakfasts (and evening meal on the first night) - I couldn't tear myself away from the Full Fell brekkie but will definitely try the local trout next time.

It didn't matter that the weather was terrible for one day, as after a visit to Hawes Creamery we made full use of the lovely guest lounge with its cosy log-burning stove and sampled some of the specially selected wine.

Wonderful views and walking, fascinating bird and lamb watching (we were also lucky enough to see the newly-born calf), great recommendations for things to do - can't praise highly enough! We will definitely return. Thanks to Fiona and Chris for such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

From the moment we walked in the door, the owners made us feel at home and most welcome. The room was spotless, warm, comfortable, with views out on the dale. Evening meal was fabulous home cooked, with lovely wine, and cosy surroundings with the wood burner blazing. Breakfasts were first class. All in all a lovely stay, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

What a lovely setting I received a very warm welcome and quickly served with coffee and home made flap jack

The room was spacious and very clean as was the bathroom

My breakfast was excellent everything there you could imagine the cooked breakfast was delious no wonder they win awards

Fiona strives for perfection and settles for excellence

Michael
North Leeds

Room Tip: non- I assume all rooms will be lovely as was mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We loved Nethergill, great hosts, perfect food for hungry walkers (and good wine too). Lovely beds .... and bathrooms. Just what we needed after two excellent walks from the farm. Such interesting hosts too and a fascinating place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our second visit to Nethergill and we brought our friends to experience what must be the best B & B in the country! We had just completed the Speyside Way in Scotland and booked here for two night's R & R on the way home. We had been here 2 years ago as Dales Way walkers. Fiona's welcome was wonderful and after a long drive the tea and flapjacks just what we needed. We stayed over two days, the wind was howling outside, tail end of a hurricane, we believe; but the log fire, the hearty dinner, the cosy beds, the warm and friendly feeling was more than enough to compensate for not being able to do the farm trail. Hawes is a lovely place to visit and the meal out at the White Lion was good too.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This has to be one of the best b & b's we have ever stayed at. It's in a really remote & tranquil spot. We arrived in the guests lounge to a homely wood burning fire & delicious home made flapjack! The breakfast was fantastic with home made bread & all meat sourced locally. We did have an evening meal one night which was excellent with delicious home made apple crumble for dessert. Our room was clean & comfortable. The Dales Way passes through the farm & is therefore ideal for walkers. The highlight for us was the wildlife to be seen around the farm. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dartsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
5.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Lion Inn
5.7 mi away
Park Bottom Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nethergill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethergill Farm

Property: Nethergill Farm
Address: Nethergill Farm Oughtershaw | Skipton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Buckden BD23 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Buckden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buckden
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nethergill Farm, 400 acre hill farm. Self catering Haylofts, Nature Barn, bird hides, ready meals from our own rare breed meats. Eco farm using renewable energy with the highest green credentials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nethergill Farm Buckden, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing