We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as Promised”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hetton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our friends recommended the Angel and we were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived
we were made very welcome and enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the gorgeous bar before being
shown to a beautifully laid table. The dinner was to die for with complementary canapes
followed by home baked bread and fabulous starters and then perfectly cooked fillet steak.
Customer service comes naturally to these people especially one of the owners, Pascal, who
made sure we had a great evening. Old fashioned service teamed with wonderful food like this
is very rare nowadays and we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Woodlandstearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Angel Inn for our Silver Wedding Anniversary in July 2013 and could not have asked for a better place to stay. We booked the Sycamore Suite in Sycamore Bank next to the main building. This suite is quite spacious with a sofa and flat screen TV and access to a garden area with a small table and two chairs with the glimpse of a lovely view through the trees opposite. The room was immaculately clean and nicely furnished.

We had an excellent meal in the main restaurant and a nice touch was that an hour before dinner some canapes were brought to our room. One of the obvious attractions is that you are in the Yorkshire Dales and we did a fantastic circular walk from Malham Tarn (about 30 minutes drive away) that took in Malham Cove.

Room Tip: Sycamore Bank is a lovely modern conversion. The Sycamore and Garden Suites have access to the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammerboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely anniversary weekend at the Angel and we found it meet our expectations and in many ways exceed them. Having seen 'The Trip' with Steve Coogan and Rob Bryden we were tempted - especially by the thought of the English breakfast in this part of the world. We were not disappointed.

The dinner, bed and breakfast deal was around £270 and I have to say this is more than a fair price for the quality of dining, the service and the room. I know that you could easily pay £150 - 200 for a dinner of this quality in London - so in my view, getting a high quality and luxurious room as well as a top class breakfast was an added bonus at the market rate.

The Angel is worth visiting for many reasons - its beautiful location, so close to some of the most spectacular scenery in Europe, never mind England or Yorkshire; the quality of the food and the quality of the service. Pascal himself took us to our room and explained some of the history of the place and its development - it has been a long road, hard work and only with a clear vision which has got them to this point. The Angel is also the birthplace of the Gastro-pub in Britain and therefore for that reason alone has to mark it down as a 'must visit' for epicures.

The food itself was excellent - and a bit like steve coogan the highlight for me was the home made black pudding!

Simone, our waiter for both the evening meal and breakfast, was one of the loveliest and most professional maitre-d's we have come across. The last time we encountered genuine service of this quality was in the Savoy last year and in Claridges.

If you are a Tour de France fan this would be an ideal place to stay (if you have the money) next year as the Tour kicks off in this part of Yorkshire.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: You may want to stay in the older rooms if you want an older, more traditional feel. The newer rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Angel hotel/ restaurant is well worth a visit, the accommodation is superb, staff extremely helpful and the food delicious.
If you want a break and touch of luxury, I would highly recommend a couple of nights, well worth the money.
Good area for walking and visiting North Yorkshire sights.
Fantastic wine menu for any connoisseur.

Room Tip: We stayed in White Doe, separate lounge to bedroom, tea and coffee etc.. In both rooms plus TV in bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I recently attended a birthday celebration in the wine cave at The Angel Inn. The food and service were excellent and the cave was perfect for a private party. The main complaint is that we felt the rooms, although beautiful, were rather overpriced (having stayed in many a 5 star hotel, I feel justified to comment). Also, we were very disappointed to hear that our host had been charged extra for one vegetarian meal, a child's meal (she was 3 years old) and corkage, when at the end of the night, having already spent a considerable amount in the bar since 5pm, our host decided to open a bottle of wine which had been given to him as a gift. This left a bad taste in our mouths and instead of making us want to go back, has made us more inclined not to bother. It is worth mentioning that the host is something of a regular at The Angel and has been for a number of years, so we were rather surprised that they were not more accommodating with some of the requests. What a shame, as the food really is good and worthy of all the praise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on Mon 1/7/13 on a Travelzoo deal. I have known of this place for years (before they added accommodation) & always wanted to go there - so jumped at the chance when I saw the offer on Travelzoo. I certainly wasn't disappointed. It is in a lovely quiet country location and the accommodation was excellent - comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly, the service attentive and the food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. We were impressed with the canapes delivered to the room prior to dinner - a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The suite we were in was ideal for someone with mobility problems - you can park the car outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were celbrating a good friend's birthday with a party of almost 40 people. No mean feat to look after a group this size whilst providing excellent food and service as if we were a table for four! Excellent food and a delightful room for our stay over. Fresh milk in our fridge for tea, delightful breakfast incuding home made black pudding. A computer glitch meant we were unable to pay, the charming staff member said to avoid delaying us, they would phone us to take payment in a day or so.
Thank you Pascal and all your delightful staff for a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hetton
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
7.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,056 reviews
4.8 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
864 reviews
6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Main St, Hetton, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hetton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hetton
Price Range: £147 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneering Gastropub in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales providing luxury accommodation. Seasonally changing locally sourced menus with blackboard specials featuring the daily catch from the east and west coast.Nooks and crannies and open fires create the archetypal country pub atmosphere. Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome, little quintessential extras in your room like fresh milk and sliced lemon and ice.Experience dinner in our three AA Rosette restaurant or our traditional Bar Brasserie and wake up in comfort to a 'Full Yorkshire Breakfast'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Hetton
The Angel Inn Hetton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing