We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay with attentive staff”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hetton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The attention to detail at the Angel is second to none. Everything in the room has been thoughtfully considered. Real ales very good. Food delicious and plenty of it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast enjoyable. Beautiful village and good range of walks from the accommodation. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HolmfirthParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely stay at the Angel. Nicely-appointed room (Garden Room) with every amenity. Soft, comfy bed, lovely bathroom with fluffy white towels and toiletries. Really peaceful village with lovely walks from the door in the beautiful Dales.

Food was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant (Bar-Brasserie Menu on Sunday evenings) and it was perfect. Simone, our waiter, was friendly and helpful. Fantastic full Yorkshire breakfast this morning set us up for the day.

I would highly recommend The Angel for both food and accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for two nights for a long weekend break and couldn't fault the excellent accommodation or the food. The attention to detail in the room (fresh milk in fridge, homemade biscuits, canapes delivered before dinner and helpful local walking guides) plus its charming decoration was first rate. We ate in both the brasserie and restaurant and enjoyed delicious food on both nights and hearty breakfasts both mornings.

The setting in the heart of God's Own Country is naturally stunning.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-Yorkshireman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tried to book a 3 night stay here for a family wedding which was being held at the hotel, for ourselves and our daughters aged 10 and 15 months.
As the wedding was on the Saturday and the reception was at a venue 10 minutes away we were told by the rather rude manageress that they would not take our booking as we would not be dining there that night, as stipulated in their booking policy. ( can't find that bit on their website....)
After my husband informed them that the wedding of his sister was at their venue, and expressed disappointment in not being allowed to book, the manageress phoned, seemed to think about it, then emailed a short reply to say no.
As we would have been staying 3 nights, we would have eaten either lunch or dinner there at least once, probably more, we feel the reason for declining the booking were pathetic, and have only submitted this review after the wedding has passed to avoid bad feeling on his sisters special day.
I suspect they didn't want the children there and that as it was a bank holiday weekend they could pick and choose.
Luckily we found a lovely cottage in Grassington via sykescottages- which was perfect- and cheaper!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
14  Thank Kentish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A last minute booking to stay at the Angel and we were thrilled to learn we could even take our dog, at no extra charge.
We arrived early evening and were greeted warmly and settled quickly into our lovely suite, with wet room. Having just missed the Mother's Day lunch rush, the staff didn't look any worse for their busy shift.
I'm the fussiest vegetarian ever and have learnt to make do when eating out, however the food was so gorgeous I cleaned my plate (which never happens), the veg Wellington and the soup were the best I've tasted.
The waiter was charming and funny, he certainly caught onto our sense of humour.
I must also say that the location is perfect for walking off the food.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Buildings that are full of character, set in a quiet village, the Angel Inn is ideally located for a short two-day break. My wife and I, sister and brother-in-law used the inn as a base to tour around and see some of the beautiful Dales country. The staff were very friendly, but respectful and efficient. The rooms we stayed in were spacious, comfortable, quiet, very clean and well looked after. The only small criticism was the overhead velux window blind wasn't black-out, so let a lot of light through early morning -- though not a big issue. There were lots of nice little touches, like chocolates and a welcome note on the bed, real coffee and cafetiere, selection of teas, canapés before dinner and drinks by the bedside as well as a well-stocked fridge.
We had dinner in the bar on the first night and restaurant the second; on both occasions the food was superb. Although the way the sirloin steak was served up could be criticised (if being 'picky'), the taste could not; we had a variety of other things on the menu, including scallops and brill -- quite brilliant! The service and staff could not be faulted. Excellent stay and would stay again if we needed accommodation, or just a meal, in that area.

Room Tip: The Garden suite (if you don't mind the overhead velux window) and Sycamore suite were excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just got married and not enough time for a full honeymoon so we stayed on Sunday evening. Friends had given us vouchers and we were very pleased they were for The Angel. The Brassiere menu whilst short was very good and we ate well. Think we will give the main restaurant a bash next time we visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in the lovely if slightly compact Rylstone Suite. Very cosy indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hetton
4.7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
7.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
836 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
628 reviews
9.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Main St, Hetton, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hetton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hetton
Price Range: £87 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneering Gastropub in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales providing luxury accommodation. Seasonally changing locally sourced menus with blackboard specials featuring the daily catch from the east and west coast.Nooks and crannies and open fires create the archetypal country pub atmosphere. Expect a warm Yorkshire welcome, little quintessential extras in your room like fresh milk and sliced lemon and ice.Experience dinner in our three AA Rosette restaurant or our traditional Bar Brasserie and wake up in comfort to a 'Full Yorkshire Breakfast'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Hetton
The Angel Inn Hetton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing