We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's what you make it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It's what you make it!!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This was not my first choice but I was very happy with my stay there. So here's the "low down".....rooms are not fancy but kept very clean and have amazing views, and frankly I'd rather have a great ocean view. The food is all buffet style (breakfast lunch dinner....no place to snack in between) there is not hundreds of options like at some huge 2000 room resort BUT what there was was always done well and very tasty...I never left hungry The staff here were amazing, very friendly and helpful (please remember to tip ) now for the best... The location was fantastic. Very tropical and relaxing with great snorkelling right there and a fantastic dive operation (Darrin, Mark, Miguel, Rocky all great! Thanks for the great dives and all your help) This is the place to go and relax and put yourself in "island" mode. Definitely NOT a place to go if you're looking to party or be entertained. The best way I can describe it is "beach cottagey" So if you're looking to go and be pampered and waited on hand and foot and party then go somewhere else but if you want to kick back relax and soak it all in give fantasy island a shot you won't be disappointed.....I wasn't , I had a great week and can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Londonjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Roatán, February 24th 2014


Dear Londonjule,

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

PS. Your comments really put a smile on my face, you described the Fantasy Island experience perfectly. Thank you very much for sharing!

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
SALES DIRECTOR
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    299
    187
    113
    116
See reviews for
188
314
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I spent 12 days at this resort from Feb 1 - 12th. This is a 3 star resort and we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Location - excellent
Beach - lovely with minimal bugs as they now spray the area
Diving and Snorkelling - excellent as per my husband since he did this every day
Food - food was good and plentiful, could be more local dishes though.
Drinks - could include more variety for cocktails as only about 5 types of cocktail drinks were included in the all-inclusive package
Service and staff - very courteous, helpful and very nice
Room - clean, lots of fresh towels, all rooms face the ocean. The water was hard and a bit salty.

Recommendation - rent a car for a day or two to move around to see other areas of the island and to get to the other beaches i.e. West Bay and West End

Room Tip: we stayed close to the lobby on the first floor and that room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trinican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Roatán, February 24th 2014


Dear Trinican,

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
SALES DIRECTOR
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Escaped from the freezing temps in Canada to temps in the high 20's. Having read lots of mixed reviews about this resort we were not sure what to expect. The resort is definitely in need of some serious updating. We had to ask for a change of room because the one we were allotted (108) had an awful smell of sewage outside. Our friends also had to ask for a room change because the patio door in their room wouldn't open. The next room was ok, basic but clean. The air conditioning worked. The water in the rooms is actually filtered seawater so we never actually felt really clean. At one point the water stopped and black sludge was coming out of the taps and shower head. It was restored after about half an hour and we had to run the water for 10 minutes before we could use it. It still had a distinct brown tint to it but it could be used. The food was not bad. There was a lot of beef, pork and fish. The dishes were not labelled so it was sometimes a bit of trial and error, at one point I chose what I thought was onion rings but they turned out to be battered calamari. On a plus side the beach was fantastic, groomed every morning and when we visited (Feb 3rd to Feb 10th) very quiet. The bar opened every day at 10am and there was a list of drinks which were included. If you wanted an imported beer or something like Bacardi you had to pay for it. The bar played music from 10am to 10pm and depending on the barman the volume changed quite a bit. If you want a bit of peace and quiet there are plenty of spots further down the beach to escape the music, but you will have further to walk to get your drinks! The pool with the swim up bar was a nice touch and because it was so quiet we had it to ourselves for most of the week. The resident monkeys were adorable and there were also peacocks, chickens, a very loud rooster,Roatan rabbits (very strange creatures!) and some iguanas. The WiFi connection was only available in the lobby and is NOT available throughout the resort as advertised so be aware of that. It was pretty slow and sometimes cut out, maybe because so many people were trying to use it. After a couple of days the place grew on us but we won't be visiting it again until it gets a major face lift. Arrive with an open mind and enjoy the beautiful weather and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 220 onwards had better views. Avoid the rooms on the main floor due to the strong smell of sew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelBug358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Roatán, February 24th 2014


Dear travelBug358,

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
SALES DIRECTOR
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Arrived from Jan 27th from a good old fashion Canadian winter -20 and lots of snow. Arrived with 22 strong and the weather difference already told me it was going to be a great week. The resort was very clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The building were all very tired and needed some serious repairs (which contractors and handy men were in the process of doing) Our room was as clean as possible considering the condition of it, the air worked and the bedding and beds were very clean and comfortable, We all found the food excellent and service great. The Monkeys, peacocks, parrots and Roatan rabbits were all very entertaining. The setting of the resort is spectacular and the beach great. It would have had a 5 star other than the run down facility. We will be back!

Room Tip: We found the upstairs rooms afforded you a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Roatán, February 24th 2014


Dear Rieser,

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
SALES DIRECTOR
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is our first trip to Roatan and we would return. Weather was rainy but we can’t control that. So let’s talk about the resort. The resort is very nice but the grounds are a little beaten down but it is no worse than other 3-4 star resorts we have been too. The resort is nice with friendly staff. The food was good with some variety; all meats, vegetables, salads, and fruits. What’s lacking are signs of what it is. Drinking water is supplied by bottle or pitcher. You can’t drink the tap water but this is no different than other islands we have visited except one. The resort is quiet on a private beach unlike some of the resorts on this island that share beaches. There are no snacks or after hours food available so bring chips, etc if that’s your thing. Snorkeling is good and you can see lots of sea life. If diving is your thing all I can say is wow! There are colorful healthy reefs with lots of other things to see regardless of your diving level or experience. The resort dive staff is amazing and super friendly. Hats off to Mark (DM), Rocky, and Darren the crew of the dive boat “Ibiza” for making my dives fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opus_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear opus_two, .

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
Gerente de ventas / Sales Manager
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were a little apprehensive after having read some of the reviews that had been posted for this place, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. As another reviewer said about this place, if you're looking for a 5-star place with all of the amenities then don't go to Roatan.
The staff there are great and go out-of-their way to be helpful. Our room was nice (except we had to run the hot water for about 5 minutes to get a warm shower) and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job every day. Maintenance (or upgrading) work is still in progress but it doesn't interfere with normal operations of the place. Food is alright and we always found something that we liked. The selection of food is minimal and there are no signs indicating what food is, but other-than-that it was alright (remember this is not a 5-star). The only time that food is available (other than special requests for a cost) is at meal times and there is no snack bar there.
The beach is kept clean but I suspect that we hit the Sand Flee season as everyone brought home some itchy dots as well as a tan (this was the same for people staying at other resorts as well). There is no beach service so you'll have to fend for yourself and go to the bar if you want a drink.
Good snorkeling can be had right in the protected bay right in front of the resort and you can see some replica Mayan Ruins in about 15 feet of water right off the beach.
Diving is fantastic with many, many dive spots within a couple of minute boat ride of the dive shop. The dive staff are all great and cannot do enough for you. If you're a diver, then look into the dive package, it will be well worth it.
This is a great place for divers and a nice spot to go to unwind.

Room Tip: It would seem that the hot water tank of near the lobby, so a room close to there would help get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacationer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Vacationes2014.

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
Gerente de ventas / Sales Manager
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is our 4th visit to Fantasy Isl. Resort. From the reviews previously posted, we had low expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. The meals did not have a lot of selection but with the small number of patrons that were there that is expected but the meals were good and varied thru out the week. Service was excellent and the employees were friendly and courteous. The facility does need a lot of TLC, maintenance and updating. Beach was fantastic and snorkeling couldn't be better for seeing marine life. The bar and staff were just great.
The dive shop and staff are just fantastic and we wouldn't expect anything less from these great people. The diving was great. The weather wasn't perfect and bugs were hell but can't blame that on Fantasy Isl. Resort. There were 7 in our party (4 divers - 3 snorkelers) and all in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa G, Director of Sales at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Tony R,

On behalf of the entire staff of Fantasy Island Beach Resort, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing us for your recent Holiday.

We, thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experiences. Your comments are very important to us as we strive to perfect our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have had this opportunity of being your host and we are glad that you and your family have had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Fantasy Island Beach Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

ELISA GOMEZ
Gerente de ventas / Sales Manager
Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
1.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
12.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
12.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,462 reviews
12.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasy Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Property: Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, French Harbour, French Harbour, Roatan IB3110, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantasy Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Caribbean at Fantasy Island Beach Resort, Dive and Marina! Our Roatan, Honduras resort is located on its own 21 acre private island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fantasy Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasy Island Beach Hotel Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Roatan
Fantasy Island Roatan
Fantasy Island Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - French Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing