We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Cay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Puerta Azul(Sandy Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pirates Den Hotel(Roatan)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo View Resort(French Harbour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
574
39
15
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
574
39
15
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeal planour honeymoondive shopwest endbedroom bungalowapple tvdive stafffull kitchenromance packagemeal packagecouples massagepersonalized serviceguest servicesprivate islandgrocery storedive sitesthe kitchen staff
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I met in Honduras, and decided to come back to the country for our honeymoon in November 2012 (the scrolldown menu doesn't go back that far, which is why it says we were there in July 2013) :). We stayed at Barefoot Cay and could not have asked for a better experience. There's so much to rave about - where to even start?? We stayed in a beachfront bungalow, located (along with a good part of the resort) on a tiny private cay (there is a small channel in between the cay and the main island - the resort provides a free ferry to shuttle back and forth). Because of the small, private nature of the resort (and because I think a lot of people spent their day out scuba diving), we felt like we were the only people on the island at times, which was perfect for a relaxing honeymoon. The heavenly bed in our bungalow was the best bed either one of us had EVER slept in - it literally felt heavenly; like sleeping on a cloud, and inspired us to look into purchasing one of our own (more than we wanted to pay, we decided) :) All of our meals were from Barefoot Cay (either eaten there, or taken along with us as a picnic lunch) and were excellent. I had the coconut french toast for breakfast every single morning and still have dreams about it, and my husband still can't stop raving about the chicken tortilla soup. Every employee that we encountered was friendly and helpful, and we loved the special touches that were added to our room for our honeymoon (champagne, flowers, towel animals). Some reviews have noted the shipping yard nearby - honestly, we barely even noticed it, and when we did it was while we were out kayaking in the lagoon (be sure to take advantage of the free usage of sea kayaks, paddle boats and snorkel gear!). I cannot recommend Barefoot Cay enough - a year and a half later, we still sometimes look at each other and say, "I wish we were at Barefoot Cay." We WILL be back!

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are wonderful - we stayed in Azul.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent our honeymoon at Barefoot Cay, it was amazing. Great service, wonderful staff and a very beautiful location. The grounds are meticulously manicured and the diving was close and awesome. We stayed above the dive center and our room was very clean and perfectly set up. Most importantly, the staff was so welcoming and very fun. They called us by our first name from day one and even went out of their way to create some private dining experiences for us. I would like to thank Gabriel, our driver and tour guide, Carlos, Julie and Doreen, our waiters, who also were our friends and Stephanie, who was great with showing us around and helping us with setting up activities. We had a blast touring around the island and saw a lot of other resorts while out, we were always happy to come back to Barefoot Cay each night.

Highly recommend, awesome place for sure.

Room Tip: Above the dive center is very nice, the villas on the island are even nicer.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from our third week-long stay at Barefoot over the course of five years. Aside from the sand flies, The Resort is nearly perfect. The staff take great pride in their work, and must be rewarded properly for their efforts: we recognize familiar faces on each of our returns. They are very interactive with the guests, and we have left each of our stays with new friends. One of the owners actually lives on the Cay, and she ensures everything is running smoothly as well. The food is spectacular- everything is made to order and nothing is mass produced. Barefoot has a beautiful pool and also a palapa, which provides easy access to the sea so guests can choose between lounging in the pool or snorkeling/swimming in the sea. We have stayed in the studios above the dive shop and in the villas located on the cay. We prefer the former to escape the sand flies. Accommodations are modern and clean in both. Security is a high priority at Barefoot, guards are on duty 24-7. We feel very safe during our stays. This is not a party place. People seeking that vibe should look for a place on the West End.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our stay here was only 4 nights, but would have loved to stay longer. We got the meal package which I highly recommend. Every meal we had was fantastic. The tropical salad for lunch, and the surf & turf for dinner: wow, can't ask for anything more! The beach bungalow Azul was a serious treat. Right on the beach near the waters edge, very cozy place with every ammenity one could need. The people running the place were very quick to fix anything that needed fixing, and they were superb in getting a cake for my boyfriends birthday! Thank you to Stephanie and everyone else in on that scheme!! We did not dive but snorkled a couple of times. Snorkeling off of the palapa was really fantastic. The water was beautiful, the fish plentiful. We saw a huge barricuda, a very fat puffer & many other fun fish. We swam with the dolphins at Anthony's Key and that was seriously kick butt!! Make it a priority!! It's worth the money!! We would definately stay here again. The only bummer was the flying bugs outside.

Room Tip: Azul was wonderful. Close to everything.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeggyAnne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night right (before we were leaving to go home) since it was located so closely to the airport. Our room was above the dive shop, which we selected in order to save on price for a one night stay. I would highly recommend upgrading to the other rooms if you are staying any longer than that. The room itself was actually quite nice with a full kitchen, king bed, desk, TV, etc. The bathroom is pretty tight, but definitely doable. The thing I didn't like about the location of the room was you had to take an extremely short boat ride to get to the island that has the restaurant, pool, bar, beach and the other rooms. If I was staying for any length of time, I would definitely want to just get on the island and stay put instead of hopping on and off the boat every time you need to go back to the room.

Our check in process was great! They gave us a nice smoothie drink to welcome us while we toured the property. This was the best service we received while we were here. (Once again, it was less than a 24 hour stay.) Also, the people manning the boats and the security guards were all very friendly and talkative.

The pool and deck area are quite nice and comfortable. And the grounds are very pretty and well laid out. There is a nice dock out over the ocean with hammocks and a great sea breeze! And there are lounge chairs spread throughout the property so you can enjoy the ocean view and have some privacy at the same time.

The food at the restaurant was decent. We did only have one dinner and breakfast and a snack to base this off of though. Everyone else was ranting and raving over the food. The service at the restaurant wasn't bad, but it seemed a bit "indifferent". We had stayed at a couple other places on our trip that had exceptional service, so this could just be the perception after having experienced that for the week prior to visiting Barefoot.

As a side note, I have read other review that mention the shipping yard that is nearby. Honestly, you don't even seen it when you are there.

Pro: They did surprise us with a chilled bottle of champagne, towel art and flowers decorating our room for our anniversary! We loved this added touch.

Con: We were eaten alive by sand flies in our short time there. We had just spent 2 weeks in West Bay, Roatan and in the jungle near La Ceiba and only had a handful of bites on both of us combined. In just our 2 hours of beach time here, with bug spray on, we had well over 50 new bites. My husband didn't have a reaction to them, but mine swelled up and I was miserable for my entire journey home and a week after. Different people react differently, but this is something to definitely watch for if you stay here--bring some Benadryl just in case!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews