We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I bought a groupon for a 5 night stay at the Clarion at Pineapple Villas for my parents at Christmas, but they were scared off by the high crime rate in Honduras and I was forced to take it. The hotel had it's high and low points.
1) The Room:
PROS- The room is huge; larger than most apartments in NYC. It has it's own thermostat, granite counter tops, a kitchen with every pot and pan you could need, cable tv and a lanai or deck over looking the pool.
CONS- Since the rooms are designed so that they can be converted to two bedrooms, anything done in the second bedroom, which was rented as an economy room, could be heard throughout our room. Our room was overrun by ants. The bed was like sleeping on a bag of rocks. The hot water in the shower was connected to the cold and the cold to the hot, which means that since the shower was controlled by a single handle, if you wanted to take a hot shower, it was at only a trickle because hot was at the turn on position.
2) The Staff:
PROS- Debbie on the day staff was fantastic. She booked us three excursions and arranged all of our transportation to and from each place, including negotiating better rates for us.
CONS- The night staff was less than useless. When asked for information, they frequently just made things up, quoting prices or explaining ways to book excursions that were just wrong. On our first day, we complained that the WiFi didn't seem to be working very well. The night guy, who never introduced himself or wore a name tag, told us that he would restart the router. He never did. About three hours later, he just called and asked how it was working. When I asked about the issue in the morning, I was told that nothing could be done to increase the strength of the WiFi, as it was only coming from on location three buildings away from us at that time.
3) The Food:
PROS- The fruit was fresh.
CONS- The wait staff was uniformly terrible. They never got a single order correct, despite ordering in both Spanish and English. Then never checked back with us even though we had ordered things that afforded us refills. Despite being the only people, or one of only two occupied tables, in the restaurants at each meal, we waited more than 5 minutes to be seated each time, ten minutes for our drink orders to be taken, ten for them to be brought to us and then another ten for our meal orders to be taken. The meal would then take 20-40 minutes to be brought out. We ordered salads for one meal. How can it take 40 minutes to make a salad? The Pineapple Grill was closed for three out of the five nights we were there with no warning. I ordered grilled fish for one meal and it came only partially cooked. When I explained this, in Spanish, to a passing waitress, she just shrugged and walked away. At our last breakfast, when I asked for a refill of my coffee, the waitress took the coffee from the other occupied table and poured it into my cup.
4) The Resort:
PROS- The pools are nice
CONS - This is not really a resort. It's a hotel with pools. It has no beach access, offers no free things like kayaking or snorkeling and won't even offer you transportation unless you are coming in to the resort. Drop off at the airport was at their schedule, not ours even though I had given my flight times in advance and the airport driver was actually just hanging around the Grill drinking coffee.
5) Location:
PROS- NONE
CONS- The hotel is forty minutes from everything except Frenchies private island. Despite many people on TripAdvisor stating that the hotel would get you free or very low price shuttles to all activities, we were informed that this was not possible. We were forced to pay at least $60 a day in transportation fees to get anywhere (we could not rent a car as not a single one was free on the island, even though it was the off season).

In short, had we been given a choice on this trip, we would have stayed at the West End in one of their much cheaper, more plentiful, beach front resorts which offered private beach areas, snorkel gear, paddle boards and kayaking for free. This hotel is great if you want to hang out by the pool all day.

Room Tip: You can only see the ocean from a high floor, so if that's important to you, ask for an upper fl...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ga9usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineapplevillas, Owner at Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hello, firstly thank you for taking the time to make a detailed review. Additionally thank you for taking advantage of our GroupOn discounted offer, and we are sorry that your stay wasn’t up to expectation. I will try to respond to your detail with as much details as possible.

As for location, we believe there are many benefits in our location, and we are close to many popular attractions on the island. We agree that the prices that some transport companies / taxis charge seem to be abnormally high, and it is out of our control. We are currently putting in a scheduled FREE shuttle run to the west side daily, as a result of your issues.

We do believe that Little French Cay is one of the finest beach experiences on the island, however some may prefer a less private experience and we will attempt to offer them a free ride to the public beaches.

We do believe that we offer a significant benefit as location, in the regard to being private and secure, away from public beaches, yet with access to the #1 Activity on TripAdvisor. The benefits of a private island beach is that you can avoid nuissance vendors, and the swarms of cruise ship passengers that often congest the west side beaches.

Additionally in convenience we are just 1 minute drive from The Black Pearl Championship golf course, 3 minutes from 2 different canopy tours. 2 minutes from either north shore, and south shore diving. Many affordable watersports, kayaks, snorkeling in the most pristine lagoon and reefs in Roatan. 3 minutes from the iguana farm, and 2 minutes from the fun rides on Sand Blasters Buggy Tours.

We are also just 2 minutes from the best grocery store on the island, and since all our suites feature fully equipped kitchens, our guests have the benefit of being able to prepare some of their meals if they wish, which is great for groups.

We do apologize for the ant issue, it is infrequent, and we do use a pest control company to prevent it as much as possible, however in a tropical climate it’s often impossible to be completely void of them especially at the end of the rainy season. We prefer not to use too much harsh chemicals, however I will specifically communicate with the maid inspector, as to prevent it in the future. The hot and cold water, is adjustable, maintenance should have been able to adjust this for you rather quickly. I will consult with maintenance manager as to if he was notified or not of the issue.

I have passed on your Wi-Fi issues with the tech company to look for dead spots on the property. Most units are adequately covered however we will investigate dead spots. It can be frustrating, however our buildings are all concrete construction making Wi-Fi less effective.

It is unusual the issues in the restaurants, you can see from our TripAdvisor reviews of each restaurant that most people have a better experience than you suggest. We will attempt to see if there is a cause for this issue and rectify it.

I am thankful for your review as we are making large changes to address the issues. We are sure that future guests will benefit from your comments, and our reactions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We did not stay here but needed wifi for a problem my husband had with work. While he worked we enjoyed coffee and breakfast. The breakfast sandwich was outstanding and almost more that our 25 year old son could manage. The facility was beautiful and I would love to stay there if we return to Roatan.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We missed our cruise in Miami because of the bad weather in New York at the beginning of January. We flew to Roatan in order to catch up with our ship. We selected the Clarion because of the positive reviews and because they had an accessible room (small but acceptable). My husband needed a low threshold shower entrance. What we hoped would be a one night stay turned into a 3 night stay because the winds were too high for the cruise ship to get into port and pick us up. The front desk staff (specifically Runey Costillo and Debbie Miller) was absolutely amazing in assisting us with all the information we needed. They had contacts on the Island who kept us informed with what was happening with our ship, would catch us passing by to let us know we had a phone call and let us use the office phone, and so. They made a big difference to our stay. The shuttle bus driver took us to the airport and back to book alternate flight arrangements, the evening staff printed off boarding passes and tickets, the manager was friendly and solicitous. The food at the two restaurants was excellent. We would have liked to have taken advantage of the pools but the weather was too cold and wet the majority of the time. A nice touch was the provision of an ethernet cable so our internet access was fast and easy. Wi fi worked from Herbey's and the office but not well elsewhere on the grounds. Well done and I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in Clarion for 31 of dic..The staff was verry helpful,Herbys bar was incredible !the rooms were extremely spacious and clean.The spa was amazing .the only bad thing was that by the swimming pool there were many mosquitoes ,so I recommend to pack "off " so that you don't suffer from bites.Frenchies was beautiful but pricy ..I didn't like the food in Frenchies ...for that price they can do better.My 9 year old was starving because they only have 2 plates to choose.I think that they should offer you a variety of options in the menu.Food is not for kids and they shouldn't charge you to go to the beach because from the moment you pay yor airplane ticket to go to Roatan you associate it with beach...so Frenchies should be free .

Room Tip: Take "off" for mosquitoes bites
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

To everyone one at
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
especially Debbie, Runey, Arturo and others who so generously helped us and treated us so well during our stay. Our stay was so pleasant even if the weather turned rainy during out stay. The restaurants (both Herby's and The Pineapple Grill) again treated us especially well, even to keeping our selection of beverage for both and remembering our preferences. The American Thanksgiving meal was especially welcome since we were spending the holiday as siblings who have not spent the holiday together in at least 40 years. We will be recommending your accommodations on TripAdvisor as your facility, service, amenities (Restaurants and Spa) were unequaled in our experience.
I apologize for the delay in sending this but again Thank You for making our stay so peasant....

Marion and Danny Wallin

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom king suite was spacious, great kitchen, well stocked and very easily accomodates 2 sep...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although the hotel is fairly isolated, I highly recommend staying here for these reasons:

1.The restaurants are world class. Both Herby's Sportsbar and Pineapple Grill are excellent.

2. Although not a beachfront hotel, the hotel has an exclusive with Frenchies Waterfront restaurant where you pay $15.00 per person and they ferry you to their private island which has a lot of activities including Kayaking and includes a $15.00 credit for food and drink.

3.Their Spa is awesome. My girlfriend was extremely pleased with their salon.

4. The staff are very nice and will work diligently to correct any issues you may have.

5. I recommend reserving a villa if you plan on staying more than a few days.

6. The Clarion shuttle can take you to many places if you ask (except West end). This is nice because taxi cabs are expensive on the Island.

7. Pool areas are very nice. Neat rock waterfalls.

8. Wifi access available in most rooms. If not, their is an ethernet jack in each room.

Room Tip: Reserve a Villa instead of a standard room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Pineapple Villas for a week. We were impressed with the very roomy, nicely appointed suites. The grounds and the pools are very nice and very well maintained. The staff was very helpful. Al-in-all, we really enjoyed our time at Pineapple Villas. We appreciated the laundry facilities in the suite - being able to do laundry was very handy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
11.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
859 reviews
11.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas

Address: 1 Pineapple Place, French Harbour, Roatan RTB, Honduras (Formerly Pineapple Villas Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites® Roatan at Pineapple Villas in French Harbour, Bay Islands is centrally located to the entire island, allowing visitors easy access to a tropical paradise of activities, including nearby beach activities, snorkeling, scuba diving, zip lining, helicopter sightseeing, fishing, shark diving, horseback riding, water skiing, kayaking and other exciting water sports. This convenient Roatan hotel is only a short shuttle ride to the beach, a tranquil reminder of the stunning beauty of this oasis in Honduras.Guests of the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas will be enthralled by its spacious ocean view suites, entranced by four lagoon-style pools with cascading waterfalls and pampered in the world-class spa and health club. The on-site Herby’s Sports Bar & Grill and the Pineapple Grill Steakhouse are great places to enjoy a meal and noted as some of the finest restaurants in the country.Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. There is one meeting room with the hotel able to accommodate 140 people for banquets and 60 for conferences.All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, DVD player, alarm clock, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a mini-bar, desk, down pillows, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and pillow-top mattress.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas a great place for business and leisure travelers in the French Harbour, Bay Islands area. Book a room with us today and let us help you explore the exquisite beauty of Honduras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Villas Resort And Spa
Pineapple Villas Hotel French Harbour
Clarion Suites Roatan At Pineapple Villas Honduras - French Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing