We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
High River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Clarion for 12 days at the end of February, beginning of March. Wonderful place to stay. The resort was beautiful, very clean and extremely well maintained. The staff were amazing!! Dasana, Runes, Debbie and Arturo were some of the wonderful people who took great care of us. This vacation was truly one of our favorites and we would stay here again, in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If the team suggests an upgrade for a little bit extra $.... do it... the cost was minimal, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeachbums08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    60
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
69
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Pineapple Villas and the staff. Roney greeted us and took very good care of us during our stay. Top notch! The staff will arrange anything for you! Close adventures include Barefoot Divers, Little French Key, Iguana farm, and Pirates of the Caribbean canopy zip line, just to name a few. The 1 bed suite was enormous and comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very nice property, great location, with excellent restaurant and beautiful pool! But what really made my stay special was the superb staff. The office staff were very courteous at all times, and extremely helpful in assisting me with rentals and other activities. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Roatan!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtravelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This beautiful resort has the warmest employees you could ever dream of. Today, we ventured into the island to enjoy its beautiful beaches. We were the victims of a crime, where all of our money and credit cards were stolen. When we returned to the property, Nahun allowed us to call our banks and credit card companies so that we could cancelled the stolen cards. As he knew we had absolutely no money, he took it upon himself to buy us dinner and personally delivered it to our room, being very apologetic for our ordeal in his country. Needless to say, we were extremely grateful and reminded him that there is no need for him to feel responsible for our bad luck. Now he has friends for life. Nahun, if you are ever in Houston or Las Vegas, please let us repay your generosity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_C_Smith918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice property, very spacious, 2 rooms, washer/dryer, large kitchen/dining area but quite a drive to West End and West Bay where most of the restaurants are located.
For the most part the room was very clean but the floor although swept, not mopped; very dirty when walking barefoot.
We asked for a late checkout since out flight was not until 4:40pm. No problem although the following day we returned to the room and our key did not work after 11am. I went to the registration desk and neither of the two women working had any knowledge of my late checkout. One of the employees proceeded to lecture me on how a late checkout was not possible since other were checking in but I quickly reminded her that told the night before that it was O.K. and it was an issue between the staff not me about being allowed to check out later. There was no further argument.
Overall this is a great place for a larger group; I would stay more often if it were closer to West End where most of my favorite restaurants and dive operators are located

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrainDoc228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionroatan, Owner at Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks you for your kind words. Since your response we have purchased another Van and we run a daily shuttle to the West End Free of charge for hotel guests. We have also expanded our shuttle service to the super market and of course we always shuttle to and from the airport and to Little Frenchy's Key and The Black Pearl Golf Course.

Again Thank you for staying with us and we are trying to meet the demands of our customers.

Take care,
Herb Morici
Owner of Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great property! Beautiful grounds and pools. Nice spa facilities and great restaurants. Our room (suite) was incredible! All around very nice hotel. The only negative is that it is about a 30 minute taxi ride from the beach and main tourist activities ($20 each way for a taxi ride). We didn't realize this, so wish we would have known that beforehand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaulee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I bought a groupon for a 5 night stay at the Clarion at Pineapple Villas for my parents at Christmas, but they were scared off by the high crime rate in Honduras and I was forced to take it. The hotel had it's high and low points.
1) The Room:
PROS- The room is huge; larger than most apartments in NYC. It has it's own thermostat, granite counter tops, a kitchen with every pot and pan you could need, cable tv and a lanai or deck over looking the pool.
CONS- Since the rooms are designed so that they can be converted to two bedrooms, anything done in the second bedroom, which was rented as an economy room, could be heard throughout our room. Our room was overrun by ants. The bed was like sleeping on a bag of rocks. The hot water in the shower was connected to the cold and the cold to the hot, which means that since the shower was controlled by a single handle, if you wanted to take a hot shower, it was at only a trickle because hot was at the turn on position.
2) The Staff:
PROS- Debbie on the day staff was fantastic. She booked us three excursions and arranged all of our transportation to and from each place, including negotiating better rates for us.
CONS- The night staff was less than useless. When asked for information, they frequently just made things up, quoting prices or explaining ways to book excursions that were just wrong. On our first day, we complained that the WiFi didn't seem to be working very well. The night guy, who never introduced himself or wore a name tag, told us that he would restart the router. He never did. About three hours later, he just called and asked how it was working. When I asked about the issue in the morning, I was told that nothing could be done to increase the strength of the WiFi, as it was only coming from on location three buildings away from us at that time.
3) The Food:
PROS- The fruit was fresh.
CONS- The wait staff was uniformly terrible. They never got a single order correct, despite ordering in both Spanish and English. Then never checked back with us even though we had ordered things that afforded us refills. Despite being the only people, or one of only two occupied tables, in the restaurants at each meal, we waited more than 5 minutes to be seated each time, ten minutes for our drink orders to be taken, ten for them to be brought to us and then another ten for our meal orders to be taken. The meal would then take 20-40 minutes to be brought out. We ordered salads for one meal. How can it take 40 minutes to make a salad? The Pineapple Grill was closed for three out of the five nights we were there with no warning. I ordered grilled fish for one meal and it came only partially cooked. When I explained this, in Spanish, to a passing waitress, she just shrugged and walked away. At our last breakfast, when I asked for a refill of my coffee, the waitress took the coffee from the other occupied table and poured it into my cup.
4) The Resort:
PROS- The pools are nice
CONS - This is not really a resort. It's a hotel with pools. It has no beach access, offers no free things like kayaking or snorkeling and won't even offer you transportation unless you are coming in to the resort. Drop off at the airport was at their schedule, not ours even though I had given my flight times in advance and the airport driver was actually just hanging around the Grill drinking coffee.
5) Location:
PROS- NONE
CONS- The hotel is forty minutes from everything except Frenchies private island. Despite many people on TripAdvisor stating that the hotel would get you free or very low price shuttles to all activities, we were informed that this was not possible. We were forced to pay at least $60 a day in transportation fees to get anywhere (we could not rent a car as not a single one was free on the island, even though it was the off season).

In short, had we been given a choice on this trip, we would have stayed at the West End in one of their much cheaper, more plentiful, beach front resorts which offered private beach areas, snorkel gear, paddle boards and kayaking for free. This hotel is great if you want to hang out by the pool all day.

Room Tip: You can only see the ocean from a high floor, so if that's important to you, ask for an upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ga9usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineapplevillas, Owner at Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello, firstly thank you for taking the time to make a detailed review. Additionally thank you for taking advantage of our GroupOn discounted offer, and we are sorry that your stay wasn’t up to expectation. I will try to respond to your detail with as much details as possible.

As for location, we believe there are many benefits in our location, and we are close to many popular attractions on the island. We agree that the prices that some transport companies / taxis charge seem to be abnormally high, and it is out of our control. We are currently putting in a scheduled FREE shuttle run to the west side daily, as a result of your issues.

We do believe that Little French Cay is one of the finest beach experiences on the island, however some may prefer a less private experience and we will attempt to offer them a free ride to the public beaches.

We do believe that we offer a significant benefit as location, in the regard to being private and secure, away from public beaches, yet with access to the #1 Activity on TripAdvisor. The benefits of a private island beach is that you can avoid nuissance vendors, and the swarms of cruise ship passengers that often congest the west side beaches.

Additionally in convenience we are just 1 minute drive from The Black Pearl Championship golf course, 3 minutes from 2 different canopy tours. 2 minutes from either north shore, and south shore diving. Many affordable watersports, kayaks, snorkeling in the most pristine lagoon and reefs in Roatan. 3 minutes from the iguana farm, and 2 minutes from the fun rides on Sand Blasters Buggy Tours.

We are also just 2 minutes from the best grocery store on the island, and since all our suites feature fully equipped kitchens, our guests have the benefit of being able to prepare some of their meals if they wish, which is great for groups.

We do apologize for the ant issue, it is infrequent, and we do use a pest control company to prevent it as much as possible, however in a tropical climate it’s often impossible to be completely void of them especially at the end of the rainy season. We prefer not to use too much harsh chemicals, however I will specifically communicate with the maid inspector, as to prevent it in the future. The hot and cold water, is adjustable, maintenance should have been able to adjust this for you rather quickly. I will consult with maintenance manager as to if he was notified or not of the issue.

I have passed on your Wi-Fi issues with the tech company to look for dead spots on the property. Most units are adequately covered however we will investigate dead spots. It can be frustrating, however our buildings are all concrete construction making Wi-Fi less effective.

It is unusual the issues in the restaurants, you can see from our TripAdvisor reviews of each restaurant that most people have a better experience than you suggest. We will attempt to see if there is a cause for this issue and rectify it.

I am thankful for your review as we are making large changes to address the issues. We are sure that future guests will benefit from your comments, and our reactions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
11.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
858 reviews
11.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
11.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas

Property: Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Address: 1 Pineapple Place, French Harbour, Roatan RTB, Honduras (Formerly Pineapple Villas Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites® Roatan at Pineapple Villas in French Harbour, Bay Islands is centrally located to the entire island, allowing visitors easy access to a tropical paradise of activities, including nearby beach activities, snorkeling, scuba diving, zip lining, helicopter sightseeing, fishing, shark diving, horseback riding, water skiing, kayaking and other exciting water sports. This convenient Roatan hotel is only a short shuttle ride to the beach, a tranquil reminder of the stunning beauty of this oasis in Honduras.Guests of the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas will be enthralled by its spacious ocean view suites, entranced by four lagoon-style pools with cascading waterfalls and pampered in the world-class spa and health club. The on-site Herby’s Sports Bar & Grill and the Pineapple Grill Steakhouse are great places to enjoy a meal and noted as some of the finest restaurants in the country.Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. There is one meeting room with the hotel able to accommodate 140 people for banquets and 60 for conferences.All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, DVD player, alarm clock, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a mini-bar, desk, down pillows, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and pillow-top mattress.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas a great place for business and leisure travelers in the French Harbour, Bay Islands area. Book a room with us today and let us help you explore the exquisite beauty of Honduras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Villas Resort And Spa
Pineapple Villas Hotel French Harbour
Clarion Suites Roatan At Pineapple Villas Honduras - French Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing