We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and hospitable place in the middle of nowhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caineville
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

So we ended up in Hanksville, UT, our first stop to the middle of nowhere. We found out the 2 places in town were 80$ and up. We really didn't want to spend that much. Then we found out about this little gem. It's about 20 minutes away from Hanksville and is the only convenient store/ lodging that's decent in the area. The housekeeper was running the inn for that week while the owner was away and she is absolutely the sweetest person ever. We booked through hotels.com and called early so she knew we were on our way. She warned us that we should pick up food if we were in town because there really is no town there and yet only have frozen meals and snacks. They do not have a breakfast because on average they receive 5 visitors a week so the breakfast foods end up going bad. Totally understandable and we didn't mid because we were stocked. She escorted us to our room while we were followed by a couple if stray adorably friendly cats. She had turned on the heat to our room to have it ready for us. She was quite a talker but had great suggestions about things to do in the area. It really is a gem for the Hanksville area!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuckyLindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for a single night while visiting Capitol Reef at the start of our travels throughout Utah. No problems checking in, reasonably comfortable room. It is a little farther from the park than the motels in the town of Torrey, and there is absolutely nothing in the way of restaurants around this motel, so if you are staying for more than a couple of days that could be an issue. The drive between the park and the motel is very scenic, almost eerie.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

but I doubt if I will ever have the opportunity! The management is very friendly and helpful.......the room was more than adequate, and the breakfast offered in the morning was excellent! The only drawback is that this place is out in the middle of nowhere........there is not even a restaurant to go to. The owners however told me about this when I made the reservation, so I knew to stop in Hanksville before going on to Caineville.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had always opted for other chains when traveling in this part of the nation, but this Rodeway Inn is actually an oasis in this beautiful but barren country. Booked online, site unseen. The couple managing this location could not have been more hospitable. Our room and bathroom was large and very clean. This motel had an unsually large and well-stocked prepared food kiosk, and when searching for area restaurants, you quickly discover why. Like most of the guests that night, we purchased frozen dinners and used the microwave and table in our room. The next morning, the manager grilled fresh sausage for the free breakfast selection. When we discovered our rental car was in need of repair, the manager went above and beyond in helping to locate assistance. I have seldom seen more committed management in even four star hotels, and took the time to contact Rodeway to offer our praise.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but any room would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The place is clean and welcoming. The beds were great. One of the best places we stayed during a two week road trip of the south-west. We highly recommend this Rodeways Inn. The couple who are running the place are friendly, accommodating and gave us good and honest advice when we asked for help.

Don't expect Caineville to be a city or a town - there is really nothing there, but for us who had everything we needed in our car this was the perfect spot to stop on our way from Capitol Reef to the next national park on our roadtrip. If you do not bring food with you, like we did, here is a place to eat not so far away, and you can buy frozen meals at the Rodeways to reheat either in the microwave in your room or in the breakfast room.

The lovely couple who runs the place reminded us to fill up on gas before we headed further south, as gas stations can be far apart.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillesommerfugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 1 night here last August (2011) while doing a road trip thru Utah. This place seems to be in the middle of nowhere. I believe towns at opposite ends of the road are about 20 miles in each direction. This place had all the comforts needed for one night. The breakfast was sufficient , enabling us to get a good morning start. I recall purchasing frozen dinners at the front desk, to put in the microwave, unaware that the closet restaurant was 20 miles to the west of here, in Torrey.
We drove up from Mexican Hat ,and all along the drive I do not recall seeing anywhere to eat. We drove thru Hanksville, and I didn't even realize it was a town. I just thought it was some houses in the middle of nowhere. My suggestion is to either stop and eat before you arrive, or bring food along. Not sure if frozen dinners are still available.
There was a nice young couple running the place. Nice scenery surrounding the area.

Room Tip: I requested a 1st floor room. I left the bathroom light on as a nightlight. When I awoke in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank-Judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here on Friday night and were more than happy with this property. We usually steer clear of Rodeways but this was a good one which we tried based on the reviews here. It has large, clean rooms, great staff, good breakfast (more than continental but no hot food). The location is very nice and the pool/hot tub area was great. Usually we find hotel hot tubs on the warm rather than hot side but this one was good and hot. TV's could use an upgrade but good selection of channels. In this out of the way place in the beautiful outskirts of Capitol Reef National Park, this was a gem. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: choose rooms near off for best wi fi (202) was good;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caineville
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.5 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
806 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.7 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.1 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef

Address: 25 E Utah Route 24, Caineville, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Caineville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caineville
Price Range: £66 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef Caineville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing