We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great value”
Review of Hotel La Poste SA

Hotel La Poste SA
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Poste SA
Ranked #6 of 9 Le Chable B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here on the Haute Route after arriving with no reservation due to a mix up with a similarly named hotel in Verbier proper. The staff were very welcoming and the room was excellent, especially after a couple of nights in dorm rooms. I even got to see the back end of a Tour de France stage on the TV in my room which was an unexpected bonus.

Very good value and nicely situated bang in the middle of Le Chable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

A walk out of the train station and you are in your room. They are basic (shared bathroom/toilets) but confortable, and the staff at the bar and reception are very kind and helpful. I loved walking in the back streets behind the hotel where traditional chalets and stables are still holding on despite the weight of age. The hotel is ideally located at walking distance from the cable car that will take you straight to Verbier and the first section should you decide not to alight. At night I was so exhausted by my trip and my full day of ski that I dozed off without hearing a noise despite being located on the first floor. Maybe these were quieter times compared to what other tenants have reported.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEDRICtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I booked this hotel very last minute (about 4hrs before arriving) and had a great stay in a four person share room for two nights. The hotel is extremely close the the gondola which takes you directly to the ski fields. It is also very close to a supermarket and other necessary shops. Extremely friendly staff and a decent breakfast to get you ready for the day in the snow. The value for money was excellent given its location. I read people had issues with the noise from the bar downstairs but it didn't pose an issue at all. Will definitely be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnemelcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Super friendly welcome, which we really appreciated. We stayed later in the season and had not issues with noise from the bar downstairs. Good room, clean bathroom, helpful staff especially after constantly asking for hot water to sooth a sore throat :) 2 mins from a big shop and 10 mins from the cable car/train. All good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hend0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I were doing the High Route, a trek between Chamonix and Zermatt. Hotels along the route tend to be very expensive and their quality is not very good - they definitely take advantage of their location to overcharge trekkers. It was not the case of La Poste - the room we got was extremely comfy, clean and had two great windows. Beds were wonderful. But the best of La Poste is its location - just across the river from Verbier village, which means that you can be in less than three minutes doing shopping or going to restaurants. Also the service was warm and helpful. A place that I definitely recommend to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed there with our band after playing a gig and we've never had such a warm welcome in any hotel before. The management went out of their way to make sure we were as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was superb. The hotel seems refurnished recently, the decoration was modern, but not cold, very charming. The most impressive to me were the beds. Just like you want a bed to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbo562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at Hotel de La Poste during Easter 2012 - rooms were in mint condition and hotel is located very close to Verbier cabins (appr 5-10 mins walk with skiis and boots on, a few mins without). Quite local village, little disturbance from downstairs bar until midnight and bar opposite the hotel after that. Hotel was quite empty at the time we were there so I assume there were some local/private parties downstairs and music was very loud at times :( Otherwise I'd stay there again but I quite appreciate sleep after long day at the slopes and early mornings. Don't stay in a room on top of the bar!

Room Tip: Stay away from the room on top of the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mspixel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Chable
3.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Vallee
Hotel & Spa La Vallee
#1 of 1 in Lourtier
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Touristes
Les Touristes
#14 of 23 in Verbier
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Larze
Hotel A Larze
#1 of 9 in Le Chable
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Escale
Hotel Restaurant L'Escale
#5 of 9 in Le Chable
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Poste SA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Poste SA

Address: route de Mauvoisin 6, Le Chable, Bagnes 1934, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bagnes > Le Chable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Le Chable
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Poste SA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing