We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and really great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Gietroz

Hotel du Gietroz
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Gietroz
Ranked #2 of 8 Le Chable B&B and Inns
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and really great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here while walking the haute route. Unfortunately she had developed a swelling on her leg after being bitten but the staff were wonderful. Extremely helpful and really made a big effort to ensure our enforced extra stay was comfortable. The food was also amazing and every night just went for the menu du jour which was exceptional. Have to say the location is unfortunate on the road, but everything else more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountain_Hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Conveniently located at 200m or so from the Le Chable railway station this hotel offers a very decent restaurant. Two menus: one for the bar and one for the more formal restaurant in the back (note that you can order the restaurant food in the bar according to your mood). At the bar, you will find all the typical local food from the fondue to the tranches (slice of bread with grilled cheese and ham/eggs on top). The salads are decent in size and well garnished. The chef is interpreting the French tartiflette with local cheese in a stuffing portion. Nice. In the restaurant you will come across more sophisticated dishes. A pair of lobster made their way to a neighboring table, as I opted for more traditional yet appetizing options like for instance a casserole of hare kidney in a sauce of genepy and morels. Also nice, and still decently priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEDRICtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have stayed here on many occasions and keep coming back! A wonderful family run hotel where the staff are always ready to make your stay as good as possible. The food as always excellent the atmosphere fabulous. This family put a meaning into family run hotel because they genuinely care. We will back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Fabulous stay at Hotel du gietroz!!! Best staff ever!! The food was awesome and the atmosphere wonderful.This family run hotel gets 5 stars from me!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here for one night while hiking the Haute Route. The hotel is on the main route through town and very noisy. Lots of motorcycles all night long.It was Saturday night and people were very noisy in the bar just under our window, including a very loud boombox at 2 am. The worst thing was that the roomed reeked of cigarette smoke. We had asked for a non-smoking room and we were told all rooms were non-smoking. We asked for a different room but were told there were no other rooms which I don't think was true since we only saw 2 other people at breakfast. I would never stay here again. The options are limited in Le Chable. This was the worst hotel out of 18 nights in Switzerland and France.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Four of us stayed here while doing the Haute Walkers' Route from Chamonix to Zermatt. Le Chable is the starting-point for the three-day high-level crossing to Arolla and this hotel is conveniently placed on the Villette side of the river. Our double room was reasonably furnished and comfortable, with a smallish en-suite bathroom and cable TV including BBC News. The hotel sits on top of a restaurant, which was just about the only one open in town, with a modest but acceptable menu. Breakfast next morning was late in arriving and rather sparse. The hotel is on the main road, with the cable-car terminus to Verbier down the road: there was a bit of late-night shouting on the street that kept us awake. Just next door is a Migros supermarket where we stocked up with fruit and nuts for the 1700m climb up to Cabane du Mont Fort next day. The "value" rating below reflects the current strength of the Swiss franc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Chable
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#2 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#8 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#6 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Touristes
Les Touristes
#15 of 23 in Verbier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Gietroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Gietroz

Property: Hotel du Gietroz
Address: route de Verbier 9, Le Chable, Bagnes 1934, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Bagnes > Le Chable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Le Chable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Gietroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing