We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent five days at taj vivanta to celebrate my anniversary.
Check in was smooth.stayed at the nirwana suite.the suite was amazing with a living room and a plunge pool.it rained the first two days.the place was really pictersque when it rained.
The food at latitudes is great.yummy indian vegetarian food.
We did snorkeling and scuba diving.a great experience. A must try.
Special thanks to Algeira,
David at dive center and Rana at latitudes.
In short vivanta is an small intimate resort
Had a great time....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vuppaladeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear vuppdaladeepa,,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments to Algeria.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

just awesome... a very good relaxed just the me type environment away from the usual city noise and pollution, far off just relaxing. Snorkeling around with the lovely sea life and the corals around you. Just relax, vine and myself....well taken care of by the staff. special thanks to the accommodation manager Ms. Parveen Shah, who made our stay more relaxing AND LOVELY..

Room Tip: preferably stay on a water bungalow... try taking the rooms in between #115-120, snorkeling around i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhiren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Dhiren K,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for Parveen Shah.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

recently i was in process of selecting my accomodation for my holidays at maldives. vivanta came into my radar by there sales team. this was teh only resort which had welcomed me to their resort by a very personalized and non salsey email. this way i was inclined to plan for vivanta. hence planning began and there team really helped me a lot to plan, pay by wire, travel and also prompty clarified all by questions and doubts. before going there i had a clear visibility on how my vacations would be. this was the stuff which many resorts or hoetls are unable to deliver. i really had a feel how teh people and place would be and how i would be welcomed. my first encounter with vivanat was there speed boat and it was good. teh speed boat transit was non-privacy invading and comfortable. i and my wife really enjoyed teh cool comfortable humid sea breeze during the transit. there at jetty was warmly welcomed and was escorted to my water villa. now few good things about the water villa. had a good sound systm, all time entry to teh open sea, efficient aircon and a mixed feel of tradition with technology.
we enjoyed all aspects of hospitality and Mr bartender was an instant click to us.
one special note. one must visit all food joints and plan ahead there they would want to have there lunch and dinner. luckily there were some good options for vegetarians and were we very delighted by that.
house keeping was also impressive and they were on toes all times to deliver the best for us.
sting ray feeding was also much required experience and i would say it really takes a lot to up keep that tradition for past 17 yrs. impressive.
one must really spend some time at jetty in the dark hours of day to cherish some delightful marine life.

in closing, if u want to have a good time and focus only to spend time with your loved one rather than focusing on hospitality and what u get and how u get, vivanta is my recommendation, because i feel they would deliver the best fto suffice more than ur expectation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhruv j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear dhruvrajain 15,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.



It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As my title suggests, was here for 4 Nights - worth the money spent!
Snorkeling is complimentary and really a beautiful experience with all the fishes and coral around you. We went in feb, was still very hot in afternoons. Our Superior beach villa was beautiful with unobstructed view of the sea. The service was fantastic with smiling faces everywhere. From the guy sweeping the approach area to the manager will not fail to wish you as you pass. The dining experience at the open grill was fabulous. One of the best quesadillas i have ever had! Carmin, the manager at Latitude was very helpful in selecting the drinks for us and also gave few tips along the way :)
Helpful tips:
1. If going for a beach villa, chose the one at the end of the resort simply for the view
2. Skip the paneer dishes at latitude, tasteless. The biryanis, paranthas and pav bhajis are perfect! (Indian food tip)
3. Jiva spa was wonderful, do it!

Room Tip: Superior Beach Villa tip - Choose the one at the end of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSKP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear NKSP4,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from an 11 day experience. This was the best, most relaxing holiday we have ever had and we are old enough to remember a few. The service and the care that the staff show you is exceptional, nothing is too much trouble. The food is fine dining at an excellent level, a MasterChef experience. One of our party had a food allergy which meant our food had to be prepared separately, this was not a problem for Carmin the Restaurant manager or Dinesh the Head chef. Our waiters Tariq, Hussain and Nijah looked after our every need and were all an example of what excellent service means. The Roomboy Abu looked after our room very professionally and we had lovely Maldivian sculptures for our bed most nights (those of you who have been to the Maldives before will know what I mean) You also get a few surprises and if I told you they would not be surprises!
The services of the Diving team and the Spa were also at a very high level.
If you want a break that will be memorable and where you are really looked after, this is the place for you. Whilst more expensive than some Islands it is value for money based on the experience

Room Tip: Water bungalows are the best go for one between 109 and 120. 101 is a bit close to the Open Grill an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Trevor P,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hembadhu Taj Vivanta Coral Reef in February/March 2014. The transfer from the airport to the island took about one hour. We were given one of the lovely Nirvana suites to rest for a few hours as our room was not ready on arrival. Our beach villa was large, comfortable, and very clean. The entire island looked well maintained. We loved snorkeling from the beach in front of our room (hawksbill turtle, blacktip reefshark, whitetip reefshark , eagle rays, octopus, plus all the colourful reef fishes- you can see all this right there - without having to SCUBA-dive). Food was very nice, and a great breakfast buffet.
We have one suggestion for improvement: As other reviewers have already commented any "extras" on this island are quite pricey; this applies to food, drink and also to any additional activities you book with them. This should be made transparent; I could not find any sample menus or watersports pricelist online; if it is there, then it is well hidden !
Otherwise you will not regret going to Hembadhu; the friendliness of all the staff and the entire setting make this a gret place to relax for a week or two in the Indina Ocean.

Room Tip: The beach villas are lovely, plenty of space with in- and outdoor shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanFreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear CaribbeanFreunde,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review our resort.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed the services & the facilities of the resort .
It is our desire that every guest who stays with us leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives strive to excel and surpass guests expectations at every interaction, as members of The Taj Group of Hotels, We pride ourselves as being "World Class", It is feedback from discerning travelers such as yourself that help us in our "Quest for excellence."
Thank you once again and do keep us posted should you plan another trip to our part of the water world.
Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We took the whole family although vivanta is more honeymooning dest. Word of warning it is illegal to bring alcohol into Male, all bags are xrayed & alcohol tAken & no u can't have it back when u leave! U can buy alcohol on vivanta & mocktails @ $20 each for the kids all from their bar. Breakfast is included in what you've already paid everything else is additional. For 5 nights on vivanta it cost us an additional $5000 ontop of what we had already paid!!! It's a BLOODY RIPOFF there are better & way cheaper places to go with heaps more to do the island is about the size of an AFL oval. Been there & paid for it & won't go back :(

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Rivet1,

Thank you, for having time to review our resort.
Maldives is an Islamic country hence the prohibition on alcohol, my colleagues in the reservations would have sent you the same information with the room confirmation.
Our Food & Beverage offering is priced at the same levels as that of all the other competitive hotels in Maldives.
We also have different meal plans like half board & full board that any of our esteemed guests can avail of when they are on the resort.
It is our desire that every guest who stays with us leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives strive to excel and surpass guests expectations at every interaction, as members of The Taj Group of Hotels, We pride ourselves as being "World Class", It is feedback from discerning travelers such as yourself that help us in our "Quest for excellence."

Thank you once again and do keep us posted should you plan another trip to our part of the water world.

Regards,
Vishal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
19.1 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,792 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,122 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,691 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,096 reviews
22.3 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range: £410 - £1,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing