We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Welcoming Tropical Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Welcoming Tropical Island”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stepped off the boat after our 24 hours of travel to a warm welcome at the Jetty. I have stayed in many, many hotels and what makes a 4, 5 or 6 star hotel is, yes the location, the destination, the quality of finish but more importantly it is the people.

The staff here are very friendly and welcoming. They can't do enough for you. Well done everyone!

We each had a Water Villa number 107 and 108.

Of special note:

Kannan and Iham at the bar
Carmin the restaurant manager
Deju the chef
Najah one of the waiters

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Nifi ,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort .
It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    175
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
194
636
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent seven nights in May and took direct BA flights from London (forgot just how good it is to fly with BA) that meant we avoided changing planes in the UAE.

We stayed in a Beach Villa and had a fantastic view from our very comfortable bed across our decking, hammock, private piece of beach to the turquoise sea.

From the moment we were met at Male airport by the Virgin representative and then by the hotel staff on the island, they simply could not do enough to make our stay as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.

Excellent food, good wines and cocktails and a great team of bar & restaurant staff, who were all professional, polite, efficient and above all friendly.

In our all-inclusive package we were able to use our room mini-bar which was a great touch and we received delicious cakes and deserts in the room on several occasions.

Our room boy kept the place looking spotless and created a fantastic display of flowers on the bed to surprise my wife.

We couldn't have had a better holiday and we would recommend this place to anyone who wants to spoil themselves and relax.

A big thanks to all the team for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: We liked the beach huts - we were in Room 122 any anything up from this would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PRM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear PRM 21,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed our Coral All Inclusive plan.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From start to finish, the experience at Taj Coral Reef was incredible. Effortless service straight from the airport made us feel right at home, and the wonderful staff lead by Parveen was the perfect mix of attentive and private. Although a small island, the selection of food and beverage was excellent. We have had many friends comment on other experiences in the Maldives in regards to extreme and hidden beverage / food pricing, but were happy to find the Taj provides an excellent daily unlimited beverage package that would be the cost of only 2 drinks in neighboring resorts. Kanan at the main bar made sure everyone was well attended to each day and was contagiously delightful. The rooms themselves are very well appointed, clean and incredibly comfortable. We also indulged in the island spa massage, which was as good as any spa experience we've ever had globally. All in all, we are very much looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear RGLT,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort & especially for Kanan,this will really motivate him a lot.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and me stayed there for couple of nights...the place is actually beautiful..I think you should stay in beach villa and water indulge both and experience the stay as it is a different exp. I enjouyed the water villa the most as can go to snorkeling just outside my room. Stingrays feeding was unbikevable experience. Staff was fantastic..you get indin food most impoetant..and you have lot of Indian speaking staff..in all it is a wonderfully place with wonderfull people and I think nothing negative about this location...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amitshingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear amitshingji,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort .
It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7nts in May 2013 as part of our honeymoon.

The rooms are stylish, well-designed and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern & spacious, with an outdoor shower, Step out onto the deck and you are mere steps away from the Indian Ocean .Everything is in close proximity so you can walk anywhere & enjoy the beauty of the island.

The food is fantastic. Breakfast, in particular, deserves a mention. The buffet offers a great selection of cereals, fruit, veggies, cold meats, cheeses and breads. The thin-crust pizzas at the poolside pizzeria were also delicious.

The house reef is very accessible and has a lot of live coral so we got to see hundreds of colourful fish almost as soon as we entered the water countless hours were spent snorkelling. Just sitting at Open the Grill & Pizzeria you can see an abundance of fish in the water.

At 5 o' clock in the evening, stingrays begin to gather round the main jetty. You can feed them fish and even pet them!

The quality of the rooms, restaurants and activities combined with the natural beauty of the place make it a great package - you can simply relax.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm1th90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sm1th90,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort.
It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for perfect weather, super-luxury & enjoy being spoilt while also able yo choose never to leave your over the water villa with its private lagoon, garden then I highly recommend this choice. Food is outstanding, staff extremely friendly. You can snorke, scuba, any and every water sports or opt for laying back to relax, up to you. You can even hand-feed stingrays every afternoon, amazing experience.

Room Tip: Options are either beach villas or over the water villas, both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kathy F,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments for the resort.
It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HALDIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just returned yesterday night, but unable to accept the reality that we have to return from the Hotel. Thanks to the Hotel for rescheduling our visit as our flight got delayed without additional cost. The Speed Boat transfer was an enjoyable experience. I would really suggest you time your speed boat in the day time before it gets dark to enjoy the view. You can choose one way Top deck and one way at the base to enjoy both. Hospitality was ecstatic, gourmet food, good snorkelling lessons a must for beginners. Needless to say the beautiful location and beach. Glass bottomed boat and Sting ray feeding was a great experience never to miss. We stayed in Charm Beach Villa in Room No 222. The backyard of the Hotel opened to the Indian Ocean. We just relaxed in the Hammock and Beach lounge bed and had a great view of the aquamarine blue ocean which was just a few steps away. We never wanted the Sun to set for the fear of losing another day. The view was unbelievable while swimming and jacuzi. I did not know swimming so I enjoyed jacuzi with an unbelievable view of the emerald ocean. Since the island is not too big we can stroll around without getting tired. I recommend the travellers to spend some time in the jetty in dark hours to view the fishes. Its awesome. My Special thanks to Mr Hari, Executive House keeping who went out of the way to extend exemplary hospitality to us. He really encouraged us to make the snorkelling trip and gave us some important tips too. If not for him definitely we would have missed out on that magical experience. He also helped us to click some memorable photographs. Hats off to you Mr Hari. Room Cleaning Boy Mr Shaif was very meticulous in his work. My applause for the reception staff and Mr Rana of the Latitude Restaurant for their impeccable service. I loved the White Chocolate and Vanilla Yoghurt. Thanks to the Chef who had shared the recipe of Vanilla Yoghurt with me. The Hotel also gave us a guide to take us around the Male city. We checked out early to have Male city trip before boarding our Flight. Our baggage was taken care of. My thanks to the Hotel for this help otherwise we would have shelled out extra dollars. Cherishable moments for my life time. I would suggest the travellers to buy the souvenirs at the departure lounge inside the airport just before boarding gates. Huge variety, price is same as Male city (where we have to make hard bargain). Bye Bye and Thanks Taj for an unforgettable experience. Sure to visit again. *********Superb. Definitely I would strongly recommend Taj Vivanta.
Talking of the most ideal phase of your life to visit Maldives, it is either if you are just married or if you want to re-dedicate your life of togetherness with your partner. I would say a strict NO to visiting Maldives with kids - Thou' my personal view, I strongly recommend that you consider this.
Keep the good work going Vivanta By Taj.
Lemme end this with a special thanks to Mr. Hari and wishing him all the very best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELFREAK803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear TRAVELFREAK 803,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback & compliments to the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, whenever you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
19.2 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
16.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
17.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Property: Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing