We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of peace and tranquility”

Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crows-an-Wra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Haven of peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family have been to Lower Treave many times over the past ten years, there is nowhere else we would go to in that area. For me it is like returning to 'my second home' and when it is time to leave I am already planning my next visit. It is quiet and peaceful with rabbits and birds living in the wildflower hedges. The showers are clean and the laundry facilities excellent. Close by are amazing beaches and coastal walks. I recommend that any visitor go to the local fete or fair days and really sample a taste of Cornish life.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. You're welcome back at your 'second home' any time. Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I work at a school in Devon and every year I organise a trip for a group of students who have taken part in the Ten Tors challenge. we take for a couple of days surfing with Sennen surfing centre.
I booked Lower Treave as an alternative to our usual campsite and the owners were most welcoming, not many would take a booking for 23 15 and 16 year old students. From start to finish the booking process and communication was excellent. We arrived late and the owner met us and showed us to our spot that was far enough away form the other guests but was in my opinion one of the best spots on the site, the site itself is very well looked after and the showers and toilet block was spotless and well equipped. Thank you Lower Treave for making our weekend go by without a hitch, the students loved the site as much as the staff. I will be in touch next year to hopefully book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davenich85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Your students were impeccably behaved and will be welcomed back at Lower Treave. We don't normally take larger groups, but having done Ten Tors myself over 40 years ago, it's good to know that young people who have completed that sort of challenge are responsible characters who can still camp properly. Well done and regards to all, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just had an excellent week at Threave. My wife & I had our Motorhome & our son & his family hired a static caravan. The weather was glorious, the campsite was quiet and although the facilities could not be faulted in these conditions it was difficult to say what the situation would be like with a full site and less favourable climatic conditions. Nevertheless we all thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and despite the lengthy power cut one evening ( no fault of the campsite owners ), had a good relaxing holiday. The static caravan was quite well equipped & the gas cooker was invaluable during the power cut! We all appreciated the free Wi-Fi and would suggest that the two large camping & caravanning clubs have a lot to learn!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BushbyBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are full at the moment and the weather continues to be fair....so lots of busy days on the beach. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Just back from 6 days at Lower Treave campsite- what a great stay!! Well maintained and clean facilities ( toilets, showers, wash area etc) All pitches pleasantly laid out on terraced areas. friendly owners, lots of info and a great location for beaches, walking and climbing. We will be back!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank happygolucky2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for this great review, glad you had a good time. Please return soon and bring some more of this super weather with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

WE first came to this site 3 years ago with our first trailer tent, and loved it we have been back at least once a year since, we upgraded to a bigger trailer tent and there was still room on the pitch for our car. We now have a caravan with an awning and park our Shogun alongside. we last visited at the beginning of September for two weeks, it was great, inspite of being out of season all was well, the toilet block was spick and span and almost fit for an RAF bull night, ( I said almost because nothing is ever good enough for a bull night eh NIck..) I thouroughly reccomend this site. It is quiet, without an onsite club and it drains well when it rains. In the summer, if we ever get another one, it is close to Sennen Cove, the best beach in Cornwall, not far from Penzance for gathering victuals.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OldSnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thanks for your review Old Snowdrop. I won't be out whitewashing the kerbstones just yet! Next year's dates and prices will be published soon and we very much look forward to seeing you back at Lower Treave....whatever the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July, our second visit in the last 2 years. This is one of the nicest camp sites we have ever stayed on. We don't like big sites with club houses, etc, so we love this place - its quite small, around 50ish pitches I think, but seems even smaller due to the fact that the site has 4 terraces with hedges rather than 1 large field. The pitches are the most generous in size - even at the height of the season we did not feel hemmed in at all. Wherever you pitch, its not a long walk to the loo either. The toilet and shower block is kept really clean, and the little shop sells some of the basic food items required, such as milk and eggs. Despite the fact that it was almost full, with lots of families and dogs, the site was really quiet and peaceful and we slept like logs! The site makes a fabulous base for exploring this very beautiful part of Cornwall. Sennen Cove, Porthcurno and The Minack Theatre are all just a couple of miles away and other trips to Newlyn, Lamorna, Penzance, Cape Cornwall and St Ives will not take you long to drive. Super walks locally too. If you don't want to cook, there is the lovely Beach Restaurant at Sennen Cove and a good Fish & Chip shop there too. (we weren't on site on the days the fish & chip van comes).
We look forward to coming back here again soon - thank you Mr & Mrs Bliss SO much for a fabulous break :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JwPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Glad you enjoyed your hols - hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned from Lower Treave campsite. Spent 6 nights here with kids age 10 and 4 and dog. PLEASE ONLY GO HERE IF YOU ARE QUIET CAMPERS AND DONT REQUIRE A CLUB HOUSE OR LATE NIGHT PARTIES, The people who run this site are very friendly and helpful, I spoke with one lady who has been coming to this site for 15 years and others who were on their 6th return so it must be doing something right. Pitches are very spacious we had room for our vw camper, family tent and badminton net. The pitches are terraced and separated by shrubs and trees providing wildlife corridors and making the camping experience a little more intimate. Very attractive site and much nicer than camping in one big field. The facilities were spotlessly clean, no smelly loos or wet floors. The only slight issue is that there are only three showers in the ladies and three in the gents although I only had to wait once I did see other people waiting. This was really only a minor issue and would not deter me from returning, there was always plenty of hot water.
The washing machines took three pound coins and the fabulous tumbler dryer took 20pence pieces. We used this several times and found 40p was enough to dry off damp towells and £1 plenty to dry a load of light washing such as kids tee shirts and shorts. You also require 20p for hot washing up water.The site is a short drive from Sennen Cove although due to us having a dog we did not go there instead we tried the quieter dog friendly beaches such as Gwynver and Portheras cove, - this means a bit of a walk to the beach but worth it if you like it quiet and more secluded. . I would also recommend the fish and chip shop at Sennen and the Wellington and Kings Arms at St Just for eating out. As a final remark I would say the Lands end Park is awful, do not pay to eat here, we paid for hot dogs £3.50 for frankfurther hot dogs. Also the Merlin experience, 4D film and sear rescue experience were rather outdated.

Room Tip: The top two terraces are nearest the shower block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanBliss, Owner at Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
'No clubhouse or late night parties' planned so you are welcome to return any time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crows-an-Wra
3.2 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
458 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
11.4 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sennen Cove Cottage
Sennen Cove Cottage
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Lower Treave Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Crows-an-Wra, Penzance TR19 6HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Crows-an-Wra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Crows-an-Wra
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Lower Treave Caravan And Camping Park Crows-An-Wra, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing