We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Mount Maunganui
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After booking on line we had not realised this hotel was down the far end of Maunganui Rd overlooking the sulphur works- not near the beach. The rooms were large and comfortable and clean, although lobby and lift areas quite dirty. Certainly not a 5 star accom- not their fault but they had just had a flood in the basement car park so we had to leave our car some distance up the road. The pool is not heated and is outdoors so not a year round facility.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed for a week in early March, and while there were Internet problems, I can't say that would defer me from staying again. The apartment was large, clean and quite well stocked. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The bed was very comfortable. Being technically impaired, I needed help with both the tv and the washer/dryer combo. I had help within minutes of my request.

When my travel plans changed and I had to check out early, I was refunded for the last day even though I'd received a weekly rate that was less expensive than my actual 6 nights. Also, my Internet charge was dropped because of the problems early in my stay.

I hope to return to The Mount and The Quest will be my accommodation of choice.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We regularly stay here and can recommend this Quest Apartment to all.
We have stayed on all the levels of the complex and they have all been to the same standard we have come to expect.
The apartments are spacious, the bed is comfy, the kitchen is a FULL kitchen, and there is a proper living room area where you can relax, hang out or just watch a movie.
We visit friends and family often and it is nice to be able to invite them to dinner and be able to cook a full meal without trouble.
The staff are always lovely and helpful and nothing seems too much trouble.
The only thing to be mindful of is the location of the rooms, on occasion the backpackers or other houses nearby can be a bit rowdy late at night.
All-in-all a lovely place to stay when away for a weekend or for a few days.

Room Tip: book well ahead and you won't have a problem getting an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sookie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed at the Quest for 3 nights, the apartment had all the fixtures you would expect. Staff were friendly and helpful and I thought the location was ok. I found the car park set up a little confusing and the internet speed terrible for business, I ended up resorting to the good old roaming stick.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingKiwisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in Mt Maunganui for 1 Night in the 2 Bedroom Apartment.
The room was quite spacious and clean. Management was nice enough to give us free Wifi!

There were only a couple of things I would like to suggest to management.

Firstly the arrangements of the car parking. Reception showed us to our designated car spot and was very helpful and polite upon arrival. Once we came back to the apartments after heading out for the day, there was a vehicle in our designated spot. The owners of the car were at their vehicle and advised that they had also been designated the same spot as us. We went to reception and they advised us just to park anywhere, which we did and we moved the car. As we moved the car into another spot, we were approached by another guest of the hotel asking us to move our car and was very very rude. As you can imagine this was not a nice welcome to the hotel. I informed management about the above. I think the car park procedures need to be revised (maybe labelling all hotel guest parking would be sufficient as to display which is resident parking, and which is not, if that is the case) We also en-counted residents or staff moving mattresses and beds up and down the lifts at check out time, which was quite inconvenient.

Thicker blinds in the lounge room and bedroom would of been great as when the sun came in, it was very very hot and you felt you needed to put on a pair of sunglasses from the glare through the white blinds. A luggage rack in the apartment would of also been good, as there was no where to place your bag other then the floor.

Other then the above, the Quest was a comfortable stay and has lovely amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Great apt, worth the stay in Mount Maunganui. We were only there overnight, but reception was very helpful and we enjoyed our visit to the seaside. There are some great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigmcgrath66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights: a couple with a child, in a 1 bedroom apartment. We thought that the room was a very good size for us all and definitely value for money. When we arrived, we were shown to our room by a young man who took the time to explain to us the features of the room and how to use them (the Sky TV, Phone and Air Con.) which was a nice touch.
We used the pool and spa pool which were clean and a good size and took advantage of the service to rent DVD's from reception.
We never had any problems with noise there and would definitely stay in The Quest again.

Room Tip: We thought that all the rooms here were well appointed from what we saw, but as we have stayed at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.7 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Wave Motel
Blue Wave Motel
#12 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Mount Maunganui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Mount Maunganui

Address: 424-428 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Mount Maunganui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Mount Maunganui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Mount Maunganui Hotel Mount Maunganui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing