We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Belle Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the view of the outside of the motel to the moment we left, the service was impeccable. loved the Spanish/Mexican style of the building and the sophisticated décor of our apartment. very well situated for the two beaches ( the long sandy beach and ocean were fantastic) - plenty of surfers to watch too. Also very well situated for The Mount, cafes, restaurants, shops and cinema. Top marks to Cathy and Ray for their motel - we wish our stay could have been longer but hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Many thanks for such a glowing review Gloria which is very much appreciated I can assure you!! We love this motel and have put a lot of work into it so it's a lovely gesture to see that our guests really do appreciate the efforts we make. We still have a lot to do but it is a 'work in progress' project and we know that although we won't please everybody all of the time it makes it all worthwhile to see that we can please some!! Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again next year! Cathy and Ray :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Mission Belle Motel is very well located in Mount Maunganui, right in the middle between 2 beaches (one of them is harbour beach called Pilot Bay, and the other is an ocean lengthy white sand beach) and just meters from all the cafes and restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with capacious bed, small kitchen, and large bathroom with hot tub. There was also a large flat screen tv with excellent choice of Sky TV channels. The only negative detail for me was paid wifi. The other attraction of Mount Maunganui, The Mount, which, by the way, is an extinct volcano, was only short walk away, and after climbing its summit, we were awarded with a beautiful panoramic view of the town, its beaches and nearby small islands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Belle of which of course we absolutely agree with! It is in a great, very convenient location and the environment of Mount Maunganui is nothing short of amazing!! I was a bit confused about your comment about "paid wifi" and must point out that WIFI at the Mission Belle is ABSOLUTELY FREE and has been for the past two years!!! (There may have been a $ value printed on the ticket but it certainly wasn't charged - honestly!!) We are please that you enjoyed your stay and the next time you visit - WIFI is definitely, always on the house!!! Many thanks, Cathy and Ray :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was lovely and clean and decor really nice. Had a spa bath in it. Lovely owners but the downside was that the sky television did not work and no attempts made to rectify it or offer an additional discount or even a breakfast as consolation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feleciavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our first impressions of this motel were great - a super friendly greeting at Reception and the location and appearance of the motel (a sort of mock Spanish mission revival style) was wonderful.

Inside, the decor is an odd mixture of just plain old-fashioned and an attempt at continuing the Spanish mission style - which doesn't quite work - but it's clean and well-kept. The bed was unfortunately the bouncy spongy style and I was freezing as there was just a thin cover on top - however I did discover some blankets in the wardrobe which warmed me up!

The room is actually like a mini-suite - as the bed is in a separate (very small room) but nice to have that separation. There is a kitchenette which was tucked under an alcove in our room. I just didn't the layout or ambiance of the room very conducive to wanting to relax in the room at all - which didn't worry us as it was a one night stay, but I wouldn't stay again if it was for an extended visit but one night is fine.

The advertised free internet is the terrible Zenbu service that motels across New Zealand seem to have adopted. We receive a 50MB coupon - which lasted about 15 minutes! We were given more tickets but I find this system to be antiquated as it requires constant trips to reception to get more coupons. Fortunately the reception was accommodating but if you're wanting to catch up on mail (this was a business trip for us) and you run out of coupon time late at night, there aren't options to get more time online. Also the internet system had a dreadful connection speed so everything took three times as long to send or download. So if you're on a business trip and need to be connected this may not be the best accommodation option for you.

However the location of this motel, just around the corner from the main street of the Mount is fantastic and it took 5 minutes for us to walk to the main street for dinner. Also, it's reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A group of us were down for a function and so made a group booking at a very good price per person. While this motel probably hasn't been updated for many years it is clean and comfortable, and is in an excellent location for food, shops and beaches.

Only problem was that there were not enough blankets in the units and when we arrived back late at night we felt it was too late to ask for more although the owner assured us next morning that he would not have minded.

Room Tip: Get an extra blanket for the fold out bed in the lounge before you go out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and many apologies for the lack of an extra blanket which we would have happily given, at any time of the night, really! We would hate to think that our guests are cold at night time and for extra warmth and comfort there are also heaters in the rooms if required. We are relatively new owners here at the Belle and it is a long-term project for us to refurbish all the rooms as we are in total agreement that it is tired and needs some TLC! We have completed four rooms so far and are now on our 5th but unfortunately you weren't in any of those so weren't able to see our progress which was a shame. We have many plans for the motel and hope you will see much improvement as time goes on. All the best to you and we do hope to see you again, Cathy and Ray, Mission Belle Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Thank you so much, Cathy and Ray for all the help in the confusion over the booking - my fault not yours, or should I say a combination of the Tauranga Performing Arts Festival dates and mine - and for enabling the children to have such a lovely few days in one of the best New Zealand motels we have ever stayed in. We will be back next year for sure. And you turned on some lovely weather despite dire predictions! I remember the Mount in August from my childhood and somehow I always have been lucky. Fingers crossed for next year. Choose the family rooms, they are great.

Room Tip: The family rooms are really a bonus, especially when you have the mixture of family members we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We only had one night to spend on the way back to Aukland airport and all the nice places on the beach would only rent for two nights. We didn't fancy any of the places in town and this was the last on the list but certainly not the least! A little bit more expensive than we had stayed at but lovely - outside sunbathing and eating area, nicely decorated and very clean. Rather weird curtain arrangement upstairs but a good place to spend our 30th Anniversary. So handy for all the eating places - just go out and turn right - but situated in a nice quite area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Very near Maunganui road where all the restaurants are - had a brilliant breakfast at a place they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.8 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Belle Motel

Address: Corner Victoria Road and Pacific Avenue | Mount Manuganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Belle Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mission Belle is a family run motel in Mount Maunganui (Mauao). The Belle's hosts are Cathy and Ray who came over from England in 2008 and fell in love with the place as soon as they saw it. One of their favourite countries in the world is Spain and because it reminded them so much of the spanish buildings they were used on the coast it seemed to be the perfect scenario - a little piece of Spain in New Zealand - what more could they want??!! Unfortunately it wasn't available for them to own at that time but as soon as it came on the market, they snapped it up! They've been in the motel since December 2011 and have so far loved every minute of it. There is a sizable barbeque area and various seating areas dotted around the property, with or without shade and they have improved on the landscaping. The rooms were originally decorated with a "spanish' feel about them (hence the name) and now Cathy and Ray feel that updating the rooms is high on the agenda of plans that they have for the place. It is ideally located, close to all amenities that the Mount has to offer - fantastic cafes, amazing restaurants, and the beautiful stores that are all very appealing. With only a couple of minutes walk to the quiet Pilot Bay beach and a five minute walk to the main beach, there really is no need of a pool! Having said that, the Hot Pools are at the base of Mauao and are easily accessible with a ten to fifteen minute walk from the Belle. A beautiful walk around Mauao where you can take in some fantastic sights, or a more energetic or if preferred, a slow climb up to the summit will be an effort well rewarded with the magnificent views over the town and the sights of Tauranga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mission Belle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing