We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mission Belle Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too noisey”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked Mission Belle as a friend and were racing the local half ironman. We train twice a day for weeks on end for a race that requires us to get up at 4.30am. So we look forward to a good nights pre race sleep. Unfortunately we were unable to get to sleep till around 1.30am due to the noise from the neighbouring pub. This then repeated itself the following night, I would not expect this from a motel and may as well have stayed at the youth hostel on the Main Street for a 10th of the cost.

Otherwise facilities and services are as expected. A little tired around the edges but typical NZ motel stock. Would not recommend to those wanting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansenClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi HansenClark, we thank you for your feedback. We are really so very sorry that your stay with us was, shall we say, "unsuccessful"! As an ex-athlete myself, I fully understand your frustration at not being able to acquire a good night's sleep before the event you are competing in. However, I am also very aware that as a competitor it is always a good idea to research exactly where you will be staying for events such as the Half Iron Man. I don't think that, personally, I would choose a motel that is slap-bang in the middle of a very popular town, close to restaurants and bars where I would imagine it will be quite active and also will probably carry on being quite active into the wee hours of the morning, on Friday and Saturday nights! We have mentioned in previous responses to comments about this issue, that we are planning to have secondary glazing fitted to all rooms closest to the restaurant/bar which will be a huge improvement on extensively reducing the noise level.

It was unfortunate that the Half Iron event this year was scheduled so close to the New Year celebrations of which were definitely prolonged well into the same weekend as the "Main Event". Looking at next year's event, there is more of a time lapse between the two of which I am sure will make a massive difference. We are actually very proud to boast that we accommodated the amazing Mark Bowstead who came second and Leah Barnfield who won her age group of which both have shown interest in staying again next year!

I could also defend your "typical NZ motel stock" comment quite adequately but . . . really??!!

As I've said before and will no doubt say again, we do our best for our guests at all times but no matter how hard we try we will never be able to please everyone ALL of the time!!! Cathy and Ray, your hosts at the Mission Belle Motel in the beautiful Mount Maunganui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
26
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay. The motel is in a great location, close to Pilot Bay and the Mount shops. The unit was well equipped and had everything we needed. Hosts Cathy and Ray were friendly and very welcoming, thank you! We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!
Wiebe & Genevieve

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kuiti, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Mission Belle Motel is situated close to the main street of Mt Maunganui and the harbour beach. There is ample off street parking and the whole facilty is nicely presented. The weather for our stay was horrible but our two room apartment was really nicely decorated and clean. We would definitely stay here again when at the Mount.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review Coral, we were really happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again and we'll do our utmost to improve on the weather for you!!!! Cathy and Ray :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the view of the outside of the motel to the moment we left, the service was impeccable. loved the Spanish/Mexican style of the building and the sophisticated décor of our apartment. very well situated for the two beaches ( the long sandy beach and ocean were fantastic) - plenty of surfers to watch too. Also very well situated for The Mount, cafes, restaurants, shops and cinema. Top marks to Cathy and Ray for their motel - we wish our stay could have been longer but hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Many thanks for such a glowing review Gloria which is very much appreciated I can assure you!! We love this motel and have put a lot of work into it so it's a lovely gesture to see that our guests really do appreciate the efforts we make. We still have a lot to do but it is a 'work in progress' project and we know that although we won't please everybody all of the time it makes it all worthwhile to see that we can please some!! Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again next year! Cathy and Ray :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Mission Belle Motel is very well located in Mount Maunganui, right in the middle between 2 beaches (one of them is harbour beach called Pilot Bay, and the other is an ocean lengthy white sand beach) and just meters from all the cafes and restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with capacious bed, small kitchen, and large bathroom with hot tub. There was also a large flat screen tv with excellent choice of Sky TV channels. The only negative detail for me was paid wifi. The other attraction of Mount Maunganui, The Mount, which, by the way, is an extinct volcano, was only short walk away, and after climbing its summit, we were awarded with a beautiful panoramic view of the town, its beaches and nearby small islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Belle of which of course we absolutely agree with! It is in a great, very convenient location and the environment of Mount Maunganui is nothing short of amazing!! I was a bit confused about your comment about "paid wifi" and must point out that WIFI at the Mission Belle is ABSOLUTELY FREE and has been for the past two years!!! (There may have been a $ value printed on the ticket but it certainly wasn't charged - honestly!!) We are please that you enjoyed your stay and the next time you visit - WIFI is definitely, always on the house!!! Many thanks, Cathy and Ray :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was lovely and clean and decor really nice. Had a spa bath in it. Lovely owners but the downside was that the sky television did not work and no attempts made to rectify it or offer an additional discount or even a breakfast as consolation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feleciavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our first impressions of this motel were great - a super friendly greeting at Reception and the location and appearance of the motel (a sort of mock Spanish mission revival style) was wonderful.

Inside, the decor is an odd mixture of just plain old-fashioned and an attempt at continuing the Spanish mission style - which doesn't quite work - but it's clean and well-kept. The bed was unfortunately the bouncy spongy style and I was freezing as there was just a thin cover on top - however I did discover some blankets in the wardrobe which warmed me up!

The room is actually like a mini-suite - as the bed is in a separate (very small room) but nice to have that separation. There is a kitchenette which was tucked under an alcove in our room. I just didn't the layout or ambiance of the room very conducive to wanting to relax in the room at all - which didn't worry us as it was a one night stay, but I wouldn't stay again if it was for an extended visit but one night is fine.

The advertised free internet is the terrible Zenbu service that motels across New Zealand seem to have adopted. We receive a 50MB coupon - which lasted about 15 minutes! We were given more tickets but I find this system to be antiquated as it requires constant trips to reception to get more coupons. Fortunately the reception was accommodating but if you're wanting to catch up on mail (this was a business trip for us) and you run out of coupon time late at night, there aren't options to get more time online. Also the internet system had a dreadful connection speed so everything took three times as long to send or download. So if you're on a business trip and need to be connected this may not be the best accommodation option for you.

However the location of this motel, just around the corner from the main street of the Mount is fantastic and it took 5 minutes for us to walk to the main street for dinner. Also, it's reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.3 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
119 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Belle Motel

Property: Mission Belle Motel
Address: Corner Victoria Road and Pacific Avenue | Mount Manuganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Belle Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mission Belle is a family run motel in Mount Maunganui (Mauao). The Belle's hosts are Cathy and Ray who came over from England in 2008 and fell in love with the place as soon as they saw it. One of their favourite countries in the world is Spain and because it reminded them so much of the spanish buildings they were used on the coast it seemed to be the perfect scenario - a little piece of Spain in New Zealand - what more could they want??!! Unfortunately it wasn't available for them to own at that time but as soon as it came on the market, they snapped it up! They've been in the motel since December 2011 and have so far loved every minute of it. There is a sizable barbeque area and various seating areas dotted around the property, with or without shade and they have improved on the landscaping. The rooms were originally decorated with a "spanish' feel about them (hence the name) and now Cathy and Ray feel that updating the rooms is high on the agenda of plans that they have for the place. It is ideally located, close to all amenities that the Mount has to offer - fantastic cafes, amazing restaurants, and the beautiful stores that are all very appealing. With only a couple of minutes walk to the quiet Pilot Bay beach and a five minute walk to the main beach, there really is no need of a pool! Having said that, the Hot Pools are at the base of Mauao and are easily accessible with a ten to fifteen minute walk from the Belle. A beautiful walk around Mauao where you can take in some fantastic sights, or a more energetic or if preferred, a slow climb up to the summit will be an effort well rewarded with the magnificent views over the town and the sights of Tauranga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mission Belle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing