We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aquarius Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baywatch Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Waves Motel(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Blue Haven Motel(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westhaven Motel(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Belle Motel(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Wave Motel(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atrium Apartments(Mount Maunganui)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
120
41
16
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
41
16
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree surfboardsping pong tablethe kitchenworking hostelbig tv roomsurf boardspay risegames roomhuge loungea great place to spendbit messymin walk to townmc donaldnew zealandroom was spotlesscomfortable sofasgood vibes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend in a double room and then in dorm rooms as well. It's ok for the price, very clean and the guy at he reception very friendly. It also has free parking which is pretty handy.
Only compliant is that Internet sucked and play room smelled like feet.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Fer_arg_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi
Thanks for your review of our property. I'm sorry that you had issues with our Internet - we do not have access in every room, but it is accessible in all the common areas. This is something we are looking to upgrade for you - However, we live right by the beach so we hope our travelers will spend more time socializing and enjoying this beautiful landscape.
I am also really sorry that the Games Room 'smelt like feet'. Please be assured that we do clean and freshen this room daily, and also clean our carpets. I cannot vouch for the backpackers and their feet .. Any suggestion on how I could ensure they wash their feet better??
Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and meeting Juan - We think he is pretty tops too!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a joke. We arrived at the hostel one evening and I instantly said to my friend I was "getting bad vibes". Treated like a number we were each given a tour so rushed we basically jogged round, and all we heard from the front desk staff for the rest of the evening was nagging whilst cooking about washing up. For $30 you don't even get a fitted sheet or duvet - is that a joke? Take a look elsewhere-it's pretty standard. The curfew is too early and we weren't allowed to stay outside even when being SILENT with headphones in. The kitchen is big but awfully designed and to top it all off our four bed dorm was barely big enough for two. Nice trick with the extra creaky bunk beds, real charming trying to negotiate them during the night. Finally it's way to far out of the main strip unless you have a car. Never again and we left early the next morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi jgp1991
Thank you for taking the time to review!
Evenings are our busiest time, but we still take the opportunity to show you around our hostel - instead of just 'pointing you in the direction' of your room - As we are a larger hostel, we feel this adds a nice touch to our service - Sorry you felt it was rushed!
Again, as we are a larger hostel, with a large communal kitchen (with plenty of dining space, cooking facilities, and well equipped) we need to remind our guests to do their dishes and hope everyone will respect the space and clean up after themselves. There is nothing worse than trying to cook your dinner amongst dirty dishes!
All of our dorm beds are supplied with a fitted sheet, and pillow. Duvets are available from reception for FREE. I'm sorry you thought otherwise.
Yes - we close our courtyard at 10pm due to the noise restriction - We need to be kind to our neighbours who return the same courtesy to us. We want you to enjoy your stay, but ask to keep the noise down after 10pm as a consideration to others who might be trying to sleep.
We hope that if there is a problem with any beds - to LET US KNOW! We cannot improve our facility if guests don't tell us. We have recently upgraded a few of our bunks, which are larger than standard.
We are only 650 metres from Downtown the Mount, and we have FREE bikes available should you wish to ride instead. Having a car is not a necessity in this town, as everything is just a hop, skip and a jump away.
Thank you for rating us highly on our cleanliness, and we are sorry that we won't be seeing you again. We do wish you the best with your travels and hope that other hostels in this beautiful country meet your expectations.
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I arrived at the Pacific Coast Lodge at the end of October 2013 in the hope to find work, with in two days the team had found me a job. I stayed for just over six weeks and had an amazing time there. It was like a second home. The hostel has a great vibe, all other guests were friendly and the staff were eager to help on all occasions.

The bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchens and all other communal areas were always clean and tidy. They have a nice T.V room with loads of movies and a games room with a ping pong table and plenty of things to keep you occupied.

It is perfectly situated, five minutes from the beach, not too far into town and less than a ten minute walk to the grocery store. Also there is a dairy literally over the road and the naked and intercity coach stop is right outside.

I would highly recommend this hostel!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi Sophia
Thanks for your wonderful review - it was a pleasure having you and "Norman" come and stay with us! We appreciated your vibrant attitude to our atmosphere, and winning the prize in our Halloween Contest was a great effort!
We miss you heaps, and hope you are having a fun trip back in the UK. See you soon when you land your feet back on NZ soil,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

So far I've stayed here for 2 months and I couldn't have asked for a better place. It's a big hostel but everyone's so friendly it feels more like a giant home. It's a short walk into town, a 5 minute walk to the beach, close to the supermarket and the hostel itself has a games room, tv room, bbq, patio area etc. so you're never bored. The rooms are all very clean as are the communal areas like bathrooms and the kitchen, and all of the staff make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi VanillaT
The place feels a bit empty without you here! Thanks so much for staying with us, and gracing us with your presence! Your guitar and singing skills made a great vibe in the hostel and it was wonderful spending Christmas & New Year with you!
All the best for the future - i'll keep watching your hits on YouTube!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was a hidden gem and a great experience! Staff helped with reservation bookings, info. & adventure. The atmosphere is upbeat, possitive and very comfortable for communal living and we felt very welcomed here! Would definately recommend staying and returning to your location!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but didn't spend time in it except to sleep & it was comfy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wolweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi Wolweb
Thanks for reviewing our hostel - was a pleasure having you stay!
Having only taken over the lodge in August 2012, we are still in our planning motion and looking at ways to improve the space in the rooms - but we have been upgrading the hostel, and making it your "home away from home".
Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels throughout NZ,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews