We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5/5 space monkeys!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“5/5 space monkeys!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've been traveling around NZ for three months and stayed at loads of different good hostels but PCL was by far the best! Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Clean kitchen, nice showers and toilets. Felt cozy and homey to be there. Loved that place! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Cameljam
Hope you are having fun throughout NZ - Thanks for sending us video updates on your adventures!
We appreciate your review, and thanks for noticing the hard work we put in! We are upgrading our bathrooms over the Winter, so they'll be even more enjoyable for when you return!
Keep living the dream in this beautiful country!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    36
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
21
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had to stay at the Pacific Coast Lodge on the labour weekend 2013 as I stupidly didn't book any accomodation in advance and this was the only place with two free beds on the Sunday to Monday night.

When I learnt that they charge you extra for duvet, I was quite stunned - in a negative way as I've never heard of that before. We had to stay in a 4-bed share room, which have an average non-BBH price of $31, but together with $2 duvets it's already expensive. When we asked for free WiFi, we found out that this is ridicolously expensive as well.

The overall atmosphere wasn't great either, there were only 18 to 20 years old Germans staying while I was there, which stayed in their group and didn't socialise much with non-Germans there, at least that was my impression. Yes, that's nothing I can bill to the hostel itself, but it's the whole experience that matters.

Rooms and facilities were quite okay, however the kitchen was a bit messy and the room I've stayed in had a really small window, so it became incredibly hot inside. I've noticed Brooke's (the hostel manager) sheets (English and German) on the wall saying she was angry about the cleaning behaviour and she's going to speak out penalties or something if the behaviour was going on like this. Also not really her fault but it says something about the usual residents of this place as I haven't encountered something like this before my stay there or afterwards.

I didn't use the community room etc., but it seemed spacy, which is good in general. One really good thing about the Pacific Coast Lodge is its location near the sea, you just walk about 10 minutes and enjoy the Mount's awesome beach. For the junk food lovers there's also a McDonald's close by. I can second that the staff acts very rushed, but keeps it friendly.

All in all not the worst place, but also far away from being a hostel you want to keep in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi FromEtoA
Thanks for your review - better late than never! October is one of our busiest months, and we try and create an atmosphere that is welcoming to all guests.
We NEVER charge for duvets - these have been included in the price for well over 18 months now - they are not in the rooms (so we know they are clean and fresh for you!) but are available on request. In regards to the WIFI - We give out 30 minutes of unlimited data internet free to all our guests on arrival. We also have other WIFI options available for purchase starting from $2 * per hour.
While we do not discriminate against any guest for their nationality, there are a lot of Germans throughout New Zealand on the whole, because there are unlimited numbers of Working Holiday Visas available - compared for example to say the Hungarians who are capped at only 200 people total.
In every hostel you will always find a group of guests who have been spending all their time with each other - so it is normal they hang out in groups. It's all about making the most of your time in hostels - get to know each other, say hello and start up a conversation. That's how socialising works!
The signs you mention, in German & English, work a treat. Sometimes it is better to adapt to a culture to get a message across. As we have communal facilities, we expect ALL guests to be respectful to each other and to the facility - so that everyone can enjoy the experience.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and look forward to hosting you again soon,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was greeted by lovely staff when I arrived early and I was able to store my luggage until my room was available. But that was the best of it.

The room was relatively small, as a result my fellow dorm mates thought it appropriate to store their luggage leaning halfway up the ladder to the top bunk. The room smelt pretty bad, mattresses were very thin and uncomfortable, pillows were terrible, only one bathroom between 4 rooms and toilet was in the bathroom, it was hardly ever free, other bathrooms were available though. The kitchen was grubby and small, not really any bench space to prepare food at.

And then there were the long term lodgers, most of whom were rude to all fellow guests using the communal areas and facilities, other guests were told not to place their food in certain spots as that is where their food went. Seemed rather pathetic, if you are staying long term in these types of places understand that there are other travelers using these facilities with exactly the same rights as yourself and you don't own it so don't act like you do.

Was glad I was only here for the one night, if I was staying longer I would've found somewhere else and would've been quite happy to forfeit my room charge which was quite expensive considering the overall place, much better options that are cheaper with better facilities in nearby Tauranga.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittakesonedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi ittakesonedream,

We did try contacting you via email - to no response.

Thank you for your review - you mention quite a lot of points in relation to the individual, rather than the hostel itself. We cannot be everyone's mother - and also cannot monitor where everyone puts their belongings in a room - I am sorry that your room mate left their luggage by your ladder. A lot of guests also feel like this their 'home away from home' - so we cannot blame them for being comfortable in their surroundings.

As we only took over the lodge in 2012, we are upgrading as often as we can - this means that if your mattress and pillow were not the best - We need to know so we can replace them! Having a large hostel, it is impossible for us to test every single bed, and rely on guests to let us know face-to-face so we can rectify the situation immediately.

We also have 5 bathrooms in our facility - your room had a key access to a private toilet opposite your room, which is for your convenience in the middle of the night.
We have never had complaints about any queues in the bathrooms and we are proud to point out that we successfully host a school of 96 students for a week every year for a sporting tournament!

With that also being said - we have seating for this same group in our kitchen - which is far from being a "small kitchen" - we have 3 large sinks and benches, a large kauri table, another 2 dinner tables, and 3 portable work benches. Not to mention our outdoor dining / courtyard. Not sure why you were not able to prepare your dinner!

We are proud of our facility, and employ over 7 staff to keep the standard of cleanliness at a self-rated 4 star. We also clean our kitchen a minimum of 4 times per day, and supply cloths and disinfectant spray for the guests to clean up their work space after they have finished.

Thank you once again for taking the time to make a review - we can only improve our facility when our guests let us know some suggestions.

Peace, Love & Sandy Feet,
Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had a really good time staying here, it's really close to the beach! I found it very clean and has great communal areas. The staff seemed a little rushed but generally were helpful. Lots of really fun backpackers staying so there was always someone to chat to and have fun with. Awesome free surf board rentals which was a major bonus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deezie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Deezie
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are a busy hostel, and the backpackers certainly keep us on our toes! Hope you caught some good waves and are enjoying the rest of your travels!
Look forward to having you stay with us again,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my girlfriend in a double room and then in dorm rooms as well. It's ok for the price, very clean and the guy at he reception very friendly. It also has free parking which is pretty handy.
Only compliant is that Internet sucked and play room smelled like feet.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fer_arg_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi
Thanks for your review of our property. I'm sorry that you had issues with our Internet - we do not have access in every room, but it is accessible in all the common areas. This is something we are looking to upgrade for you - However, we live right by the beach so we hope our travelers will spend more time socializing and enjoying this beautiful landscape.
I am also really sorry that the Games Room 'smelt like feet'. Please be assured that we do clean and freshen this room daily, and also clean our carpets. I cannot vouch for the backpackers and their feet .. Any suggestion on how I could ensure they wash their feet better??
Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and meeting Juan - We think he is pretty tops too!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a joke. We arrived at the hostel one evening and I instantly said to my friend I was "getting bad vibes". Treated like a number we were each given a tour so rushed we basically jogged round, and all we heard from the front desk staff for the rest of the evening was nagging whilst cooking about washing up. For $30 you don't even get a fitted sheet or duvet - is that a joke? Take a look elsewhere-it's pretty standard. The curfew is too early and we weren't allowed to stay outside even when being SILENT with headphones in. The kitchen is big but awfully designed and to top it all off our four bed dorm was barely big enough for two. Nice trick with the extra creaky bunk beds, real charming trying to negotiate them during the night. Finally it's way to far out of the main strip unless you have a car. Never again and we left early the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi jgp1991
Thank you for taking the time to review!
Evenings are our busiest time, but we still take the opportunity to show you around our hostel - instead of just 'pointing you in the direction' of your room - As we are a larger hostel, we feel this adds a nice touch to our service - Sorry you felt it was rushed!
Again, as we are a larger hostel, with a large communal kitchen (with plenty of dining space, cooking facilities, and well equipped) we need to remind our guests to do their dishes and hope everyone will respect the space and clean up after themselves. There is nothing worse than trying to cook your dinner amongst dirty dishes!
All of our dorm beds are supplied with a fitted sheet, and pillow. Duvets are available from reception for FREE. I'm sorry you thought otherwise.
Yes - we close our courtyard at 10pm due to the noise restriction - We need to be kind to our neighbours who return the same courtesy to us. We want you to enjoy your stay, but ask to keep the noise down after 10pm as a consideration to others who might be trying to sleep.
We hope that if there is a problem with any beds - to LET US KNOW! We cannot improve our facility if guests don't tell us. We have recently upgraded a few of our bunks, which are larger than standard.
We are only 650 metres from Downtown the Mount, and we have FREE bikes available should you wish to ride instead. Having a car is not a necessity in this town, as everything is just a hop, skip and a jump away.
Thank you for rating us highly on our cleanliness, and we are sorry that we won't be seeing you again. We do wish you the best with your travels and hope that other hostels in this beautiful country meet your expectations.
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the Pacific Coast Lodge at the end of October 2013 in the hope to find work, with in two days the team had found me a job. I stayed for just over six weeks and had an amazing time there. It was like a second home. The hostel has a great vibe, all other guests were friendly and the staff were eager to help on all occasions.

The bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchens and all other communal areas were always clean and tidy. They have a nice T.V room with loads of movies and a games room with a ping pong table and plenty of things to keep you occupied.

It is perfectly situated, five minutes from the beach, not too far into town and less than a ten minute walk to the grocery store. Also there is a dairy literally over the road and the naked and intercity coach stop is right outside.

I would highly recommend this hostel!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Sophia
Thanks for your wonderful review - it was a pleasure having you and "Norman" come and stay with us! We appreciated your vibrant attitude to our atmosphere, and winning the prize in our Halloween Contest was a great effort!
We miss you heaps, and hope you are having a fun trip back in the UK. See you soon when you land your feet back on NZ soil,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#16 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
6.0 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2014 TNT Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' and finalists for 2105! No place you'd rather be - We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! Look no further! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes! Welcome to Pacific Coast Lodge, your 4-star flashpackers, where everyone knows your name! We are owner operated and Matt will go out of his way to make your stay a memorable one. We are magnificently located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work.Groups are our specialty - having successfully hosted birthday celebrations, stag/hens nights, entire schools, and sports tournaments. We go out of our way to customise your requirements and can organise breakfasts, day tours or team building activities so it's one less thing to worry about! The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge are able to give genuine advice and offer great deals on the range of activities and adventures, to help you make the most of your stay in Mount Maunganui, ensuring that you experience the best that the Bay of Plenty has to offer - anything from swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing.We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers!The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing