We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are planning to visit one of the most beautiful cities in New Zealand, Monut Maunganui is the one! And you should stay at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, where you are going to feel like home.

Big kitchen, great TV room, and is right next to Mc Donalds!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliseadelcerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi eliseadelecerro
What a wonderful review - and one that was a good time coming! We loved having you stay with us back in August 2013.
It's now been 2 years since we took over the lodge, and since you stayed we have managed to renovate the bathrooms, put a new roof on the hostel, install air conditioning in some of the rooms, get a new Ping Pong table, new couches, and not to mention extra fridges, and BBQ's.
We hope you are enjoying life & are always looking for a new adventure!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hostel while we were kiwifruit picking for 4 weeks. The rooms are quite small but therefore clean. However, be aware that hostel staff does not respect any privacy. Our clothes were visibly gone through and spread out all over our beds several times. As it was only us two in the 4-bed dorm and we locked the door before we left for work it must have been the house keeping team. Non of our complaints to the reception changed anything.
You should also be aware that the smell of weed was in the air any time of day during our stay. The atmosphere was worse than in any other hostel I've ever stayed in with very few lovely backpackers. Stolen items (especially food and clothes from clothesline in the backyard) is another, very present issue in this hostel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi TamiNZ
I'd like to respond to a few of your concerns:
1) I personally never received any complaints from you or your friend the entire month you stayed with us.
2) Sorry if you felt the room was small - As we did explain to you - the 4bed dorm room you were in was recently upgraded with new bunk beds - which when installed, came out larger than what we had expected. Now we are in our slower months, we have the chance to change the bunks to one of our larger dorms (such as our 6bed or 8bed).
But look on the bright side - you managed to enjoy the comfort of a "twin style room" while only paying a dorm price!
3) The comment you mention about the clothes on your bed - this was a mistake as our lovely helpers for accommodation thought that the coloured plastic washing baskets you had your clothes in, belonged to the hostel - as they were IDENTICAL to ours! So they tipped your clothes onto your beds to remove the buckets - A simple mistake, which I was able to sort out immediately when I realised we had too many washing baskets - When the staff put them back in your rooms, we did not want to touch your clothes again so left it as it was!
4) We are a DRUG FREE hostel. We have zero tolerance for possession or use of any drugs on site, as the law states that we are also liable. We encourage any guests with any concerns regarding this to speak to staff immediately so that we can remove any guest from our premises if they are found to be smoking "weed".
5) We clean out our fridges weekly, and all unlabelled food is removed and thrown out if not claimed. It is a shame if other guests are helping themselves to each others food - as everyone is a backpacker and food is sometimes a luxury! We hope that karma will come and bite them on the butt!
Regarding any clothes from the washing line - we seem to always accumulate boxes and boxes of clothes in lost property - that stay on the line for days at a time without being removed. We are 99% sure that any "missing clothes" are in those boxes. We hold all lost property for 1 month and then donate it to charity.

We pride ourselves in a 4 star facility - which you have noted meets the cleanliness portion. We encourage guests to participate in our pizza night, karaoke night, movie & popcorn night, along with lots of other stuff that happens around town each week.
We like to think of ourselves as a family with a chilled out atmosphere where you can meet like-minded travellers.
Thank you for your review & for staying with us during Kiwifruit season - it was wonderful to have you on the teams, and we found you a pleasure to have with us! I am just disappointed that your concerns were not brought to my attention when I saw you everyday!
Have a brilliant time travelling,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Pacific lodge was a great place to spend our last 2 months in New Zealand. It multiple large common areas that was available and a ton of movies to watch. The staff was friendly and so were the guests. My only thing to be aware of is the work you get with them. It is not their fault at all but make sure the job you get is worthwhile to you.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a 4 person dorm and has multiple windows which is great for the hot months because it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Chelsea K
You were a gem have stay with us, and you undertook the hard task of Supervisor for one of our Kiwifruit Gangs! Your time and dedication did not go unnoticed, and you were the best person for the job! Thanks for all your hard work!
Kiwifruit Picking is definitely not for the faint hearted, and it does require committment and motivation, and good money can be earnt. Next season (2015) will be sensational as the new variety fruit will be that much better, and there will be plenty more to pick!
Thanks for your review - we are glad you spent 2 months with us, and chose us as your final destination. We assisted you with finding a good job, and always assist our guests. Its a FREE service we offer, and we try our best to get you work so that you can continue with your travels.
It will have been almost 10 years running the seasonal job office here, and the variety of work coming in is awesome!
We miss you! All the best with your volunteer work and we hope you keep happy!
Much love,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We originally stayed at another hostel down the road, but found that place to be too small and crowded. So we moved over to the Pacific Coast Lodge where things felt more spacious and open. The staff were friendly and Brooke and her team work hard to keep the place clean. It's in a convenient location with the beach just a 10 minute walk away and the supermarket down the street. The Nakedbus stop is also right out the front door, so there's no need to haul a heavy backpack across town for the bus. The free bike and surf board rentals were also a plus! Thanks for the nice stay, would recommend this place to everyone staying at the Mount!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salvarado31189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi salvarado31189
Thanks for your review - it was awesome having you stay with us, and then return a second time a few weeks later!
Like you mention, the bus stop is right outside - which is handy for us as we also sell adventure packages such as trips to the Hobbiton Movie Set. You can get there and back in a day by bus if you don't have your own car!
We hope to see you again soon!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've been traveling around NZ for three months and stayed at loads of different good hostels but PCL was by far the best! Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Clean kitchen, nice showers and toilets. Felt cozy and homey to be there. Loved that place! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameljam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Cameljam
Hope you are having fun throughout NZ - Thanks for sending us video updates on your adventures!
We appreciate your review, and thanks for noticing the hard work we put in! We are upgrading our bathrooms over the Winter, so they'll be even more enjoyable for when you return!
Keep living the dream in this beautiful country!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had to stay at the Pacific Coast Lodge on the labour weekend 2013 as I stupidly didn't book any accomodation in advance and this was the only place with two free beds on the Sunday to Monday night.

When I learnt that they charge you extra for duvet, I was quite stunned - in a negative way as I've never heard of that before. We had to stay in a 4-bed share room, which have an average non-BBH price of $31, but together with $2 duvets it's already expensive. When we asked for free WiFi, we found out that this is ridicolously expensive as well.

The overall atmosphere wasn't great either, there were only 18 to 20 years old Germans staying while I was there, which stayed in their group and didn't socialise much with non-Germans there, at least that was my impression. Yes, that's nothing I can bill to the hostel itself, but it's the whole experience that matters.

Rooms and facilities were quite okay, however the kitchen was a bit messy and the room I've stayed in had a really small window, so it became incredibly hot inside. I've noticed Brooke's (the hostel manager) sheets (English and German) on the wall saying she was angry about the cleaning behaviour and she's going to speak out penalties or something if the behaviour was going on like this. Also not really her fault but it says something about the usual residents of this place as I haven't encountered something like this before my stay there or afterwards.

I didn't use the community room etc., but it seemed spacy, which is good in general. One really good thing about the Pacific Coast Lodge is its location near the sea, you just walk about 10 minutes and enjoy the Mount's awesome beach. For the junk food lovers there's also a McDonald's close by. I can second that the staff acts very rushed, but keeps it friendly.

All in all not the worst place, but also far away from being a hostel you want to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi FromEtoA
Thanks for your review - better late than never! October is one of our busiest months, and we try and create an atmosphere that is welcoming to all guests.
We NEVER charge for duvets - these have been included in the price for well over 18 months now - they are not in the rooms (so we know they are clean and fresh for you!) but are available on request. In regards to the WIFI - We give out 30 minutes of unlimited data internet free to all our guests on arrival. We also have other WIFI options available for purchase starting from $2 * per hour.
While we do not discriminate against any guest for their nationality, there are a lot of Germans throughout New Zealand on the whole, because there are unlimited numbers of Working Holiday Visas available - compared for example to say the Hungarians who are capped at only 200 people total.
In every hostel you will always find a group of guests who have been spending all their time with each other - so it is normal they hang out in groups. It's all about making the most of your time in hostels - get to know each other, say hello and start up a conversation. That's how socialising works!
The signs you mention, in German & English, work a treat. Sometimes it is better to adapt to a culture to get a message across. As we have communal facilities, we expect ALL guests to be respectful to each other and to the facility - so that everyone can enjoy the experience.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and look forward to hosting you again soon,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was greeted by lovely staff when I arrived early and I was able to store my luggage until my room was available. But that was the best of it.

The room was relatively small, as a result my fellow dorm mates thought it appropriate to store their luggage leaning halfway up the ladder to the top bunk. The room smelt pretty bad, mattresses were very thin and uncomfortable, pillows were terrible, only one bathroom between 4 rooms and toilet was in the bathroom, it was hardly ever free, other bathrooms were available though. The kitchen was grubby and small, not really any bench space to prepare food at.

And then there were the long term lodgers, most of whom were rude to all fellow guests using the communal areas and facilities, other guests were told not to place their food in certain spots as that is where their food went. Seemed rather pathetic, if you are staying long term in these types of places understand that there are other travelers using these facilities with exactly the same rights as yourself and you don't own it so don't act like you do.

Was glad I was only here for the one night, if I was staying longer I would've found somewhere else and would've been quite happy to forfeit my room charge which was quite expensive considering the overall place, much better options that are cheaper with better facilities in nearby Tauranga.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ittakesonedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCoastLodge, Manager at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi ittakesonedream,

We did try contacting you via email - to no response.

Thank you for your review - you mention quite a lot of points in relation to the individual, rather than the hostel itself. We cannot be everyone's mother - and also cannot monitor where everyone puts their belongings in a room - I am sorry that your room mate left their luggage by your ladder. A lot of guests also feel like this their 'home away from home' - so we cannot blame them for being comfortable in their surroundings.

As we only took over the lodge in 2012, we are upgrading as often as we can - this means that if your mattress and pillow were not the best - We need to know so we can replace them! Having a large hostel, it is impossible for us to test every single bed, and rely on guests to let us know face-to-face so we can rectify the situation immediately.

We also have 5 bathrooms in our facility - your room had a key access to a private toilet opposite your room, which is for your convenience in the middle of the night.
We have never had complaints about any queues in the bathrooms and we are proud to point out that we successfully host a school of 96 students for a week every year for a sporting tournament!

With that also being said - we have seating for this same group in our kitchen - which is far from being a "small kitchen" - we have 3 large sinks and benches, a large kauri table, another 2 dinner tables, and 3 portable work benches. Not to mention our outdoor dining / courtyard. Not sure why you were not able to prepare your dinner!

We are proud of our facility, and employ over 7 staff to keep the standard of cleanliness at a self-rated 4 star. We also clean our kitchen a minimum of 4 times per day, and supply cloths and disinfectant spray for the guests to clean up their work space after they have finished.

Thank you once again for taking the time to make a review - we can only improve our facility when our guests let us know some suggestions.

Peace, Love & Sandy Feet,
Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside City Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
1 mi away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#12 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Backpackers
Apple Tree Backpackers
#34 of 50 in Tauranga
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' 2014, 2016 and 2017! We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes. Located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work. The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge will give genuine advice on activities and adventures to help you make the most of your stay, fom swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing. We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, in bars, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers! The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers, but most of all our culture is one that our guests call home about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing