We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice handy to everything”
Review of Bay Palm Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Palm Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There for a family wedding so we had 3 rooms here only a short overnight stay, friendly owners nice warm rooms very clean and tidy. Very handy to where we were going for the wedding an reception. Very close to Bayfair mall where we went for Brekky the next day

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Bay Palm Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

arrived in the Mount to begin one month holiday and stayed here for 3 nights. Location is good and near the Bayfair Mall. Accessible room with roll-in shower, decent bed. a bit noisy out the back when someone was mowing the grass. Kitchen facilities a bit small. staff were very helpful and friendly. pool looked very inviting but we did not use it. at park right in front of our room which was very handy for us.

Room Tip: the accessible rooms are closest to the street but we didn't seem to have much road noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We went to the Mount to go to Baypark for Speedway and the demo derby and this Motel seemed to be one of the closest, we were not disappointed.
We arrived half an hour before check in and we were able to check in, unheard of in my past experiences, a short walk to Bayfair mall for lunch and the beach was a road over the other way with Baypark just around the corner too.
Beaut weather and far enough away from central Mount where there was a huge surf life saving competition on (we drove home that way-nightmare) so would highly recommend this motel, room was novel with upstairs/downstairs, nice and clean and had a spa bath too, yay, will definitly stay again. (only gripe was the parking situation which wasn't pretty as not enough spaces for the units and no allocated parking, so first in first served and good luck after been out at night if you take your car!)
Thankyou Bay Palm Motel

Room Tip: Rooms appeared to be quite different, I asked for spa bath & got one.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here in September last year for a work trip, the staff greeted me with a smile after getting in at 10PM from being stuck in Christchurch due to a delayed flight and asked if I wanted breakfast the next morning (even though the cut off time was a lot earlier) which was a nice gesture.

I was lucky enough to get one of the Spa Bath rooms, although I didn't get to try it colleagues who had stayed there previously said it is great after a long day of looking around. Room's were cleaned everyday and coffee,tea,ect restocked.

Having Free Wifi and Sky TV was a great feature as some days I didn't really feel like doing much at night. The motel is close to everything just across the road from a dairy, fish and chip shop, the beach and only 5 or so minutes from Bayfair Mall.

Was a great stay with nice staff and made my first trip to Tauranga great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed 2 nights in January 2013 and were very happy with this motel. Hosts were excellent. Gave us room to park the boat in a safe place. Very helpful when i broke my ankle during our stay (not on the premesis but at the boat ramp) . Advised us where to go for treatment. Would not hesitate to stay there agin

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Was a bit nervous based on some previous reviews but must say a very nice property with friendly service.
The only down side was that the walls were a bit thin so when the girls next door decided to have a few drinks we heard all about it.
Just down the road from Bayfair mall, a few mins to the beach and across the road from a great fish and chippy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over easter, was a clean and modern place to stay, I loved the way it smelled when i first opened the doar. We were a not close to the road, so there was no traffic noise. Kids swam in the pool, which was also very clean.
We thought that the unit was a great size. There was everything that we needed for a great stay.
Would defently stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
49 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palm Motel

Address: 84 Girven Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Palm Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hosts welcome you to 16 quality, spacious fully self-contained units with heated swimming pool, just minutes from all amenities. Beach, shops - Bayfair Mall, Baywave aquatic centre, Baypark stadium, both Omanu and Mount Maunganui Golf Courses. Mini putt, driving range. A short drive to airport - Complimentary transfers available. Wireless internet. 30 seat conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bay Palm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing