We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, Big Spacious Rooms and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Palm Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Palm Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Big Spacious Rooms and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just 6 km from Mount Maunganui. Minutes from Oceanbeach Road...which has plenty of beach access.

Stayed with family. Nice and clean spacious rooms. Lots of light comes in through the skylight. Rooms are very bright. Regular cleaning.

Bayfair Shopping Centre within easy walking distance. A Chinese Takeout and Superette is very close by. Very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banerjeesaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This motel is absolutely the best motel I have had the pleasure to stay in within NZ or the even the UK. Upon booking the motel over the telephone, the service and response I got from the owner (his name is Mike) was exemplorary. Upon arrival, we were shown to our suite more or less immediately only to find it extremely clean, well equipped and tidy. It was extremely refreshing to get free wifi and sky tv channels other than sky sport. Although I did not make use of the pool, it was fantastic to be able to have pool towels provided and what seemed to be very comfortable loungers on the pool side. I can actually not think of one negative comment about the place, its location or cleanliness. I will certainly look at this venue first of all for all my accommodation needs in the Mount or surrounding areas and would definitely recommend them to family and friends. Thank you so much for making our weekend away a pleasure.

Room Tip: For adequate space for a family of four or more, then opt for a two bedroom suite rather than just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here to do Tauranga Half Ironman, paid premium rate and asked night before for late check out so my husband could have a shower after the event. We got to hotel at 12.35 pm to find our
belongings packed up in the garage. The lady owner, who my husband had arranged this with ( and even offered extra payment to) did not mention any particular time. However the 'gentleman' owner said late check out meant 11am and was neither apologetic nor helpful and had a smart reply for anything I said. To be honest he treated me like an inconvenience from the minute we arrived and seemed fed up and bothered. Don't stay here for an event if you can help it, its miles from Pilot Bay and they clearly don't support or understand athletes needs.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetriathlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very accommodating, stayed during the week, Mike allowed my daughter and I to stay early without pre-booking...very thankful for that. Lovely clean, warm rooms. Was impressed with the presentation of the towels, I even unfolded them and had a go myself. You would know what I'm talking about if you've stayed before. Thank you for the stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Made_in_Kawhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Friendly and helpful staff with great service. Rooms are very clean and little extra touches added with folded towels, etc. Great to have free wifi. I did find there is limited number of places to eat in walking distance, however very close to Bayveiw plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

There for a family wedding so we had 3 rooms here only a short overnight stay, friendly owners nice warm rooms very clean and tidy. Very handy to where we were going for the wedding an reception. Very close to Bayfair mall where we went for Brekky the next day

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

arrived in the Mount to begin one month holiday and stayed here for 3 nights. Location is good and near the Bayfair Mall. Accessible room with roll-in shower, decent bed. a bit noisy out the back when someone was mowing the grass. Kitchen facilities a bit small. staff were very helpful and friendly. pool looked very inviting but we did not use it. at park right in front of our room which was very handy for us.

Room Tip: the accessible rooms are closest to the street but we didn't seem to have much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Wave Motel
Blue Wave Motel
#12 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palm Motel

Property: Bay Palm Motel
Address: 84 Girven Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Palm Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hosts welcome you to 16 quality, spacious fully self-contained units with heated swimming pool, just minutes from all amenities. Beach, shops - Bayfair Mall, Baywave aquatic centre, Baypark stadium, both Omanu and Mount Maunganui Golf Courses. Mini putt, driving range. A short drive to airport - Complimentary transfers available. Wireless internet. 30 seat conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Palm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing