We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These people should NOT BE in hospitality”

The Terraces At Ocean Beach
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Terraces At Ocean Beach
Reviewed 27 April 2013

What terrible 'hosts' they have no idea about moteling, managed apartments or what ever they call this place. Both these characters actually should work as parking wardens as they spend most of their day abusing guests either park too far left right out. How do folk like these get into hospitality!! Shocking examples for our valued overseas visitors. Some kid has hand written signs all about the place, their management is going to kill what could be a reasonable place to stay...but not for us!!!

Room Tip: A tip is stay where you are appreciated - down the road
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for The Terraces At Ocean Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

When I looked at the web site alarm bells should have started ringing. It doesn't say much & it doesn't have a gallery of photographs. Now I know why.

She (who must be obeyed) is very rude & sure does like to make 'her problem' 'your problem'!

There maybe a notice in the kitchenette with the 'house' rules on advising you to clean everything before you leave & during your stay to eliminate the ants. But it maybe a good idea to have everything cleaned before your guests arrive. I had to clean the fridge of varying food debris before I felt comfortable putting anything in there. The kitchen cupboards were greasy & covered with ants. And don't get me started on the dishes!!!!!

Everything seemed to be coated with something very unpleasant. My antibacterial cloths were black when I'd gone over all the furniture & the bathroom. I have absolutely no doubt, the cobwebs will still be there long after our departure because I refused to deep clean the whole place.

Despite all the issues, it is handy for the beach & the Bayfair. The laundry facilities are very handy. The kitchen is well appointed & the lounge area is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sproutie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked this motel through Wotif for an Easter stay. I immediately received a phone call from Trish to advise that the motel wouldn't accept my booking as it was only for one nights accommodation. She was very rude to me and tried to make "her problem" "my problem". After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I am glad she refused to accept my booking. Thankfully Wotif were very professional in my dealings with me and have refunded my money. Would never stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great Location! Friendly staff. Basic but very nice décor inside, dishwasher, washer & dryer facilities provided. Not all rooms had TV's but nice set up in living room. Had to walk through garage to get to 3rd bedroom, which was less convenient. Beach towels were provided in each room which was a definite plus. Had a little trouble receiving calls from outside the country if hotel staff were not around (even during day). Also, some websites claim that internet is free - its not. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kristal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed there with the family and my girls loved it. The three levels is a real advantage for families and allow for plenty of privacy. Everything was well maintained and we were provided with everything we asked for. Certainly recommend it. Nice and close to Bayfair shops and Baywave complex. Nice and quiet and good cooking facilities etc.Comfortable and modern lounge suite.
Upstairs room had nice ocean view.

Room Tip: Rooms all get the benefit of quiet location.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipqHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

the place has a great location just 1 mnt from the beach and the rooms are fine, but what really let me down and made me hate every second of my stay is the manager lady.
she is old and bitter and enjoys making u suffer.
i really felt like im here to please her and not the other way.
i would never stay there again and ill recomend anyone who thinks about going there to stay in an other hotel.

Room Tip: best room would be in a different place
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I had the misfortune of staying here for a few weeks with a colleague as I was moving house and needed a stopgap stay between tenancies. Within two days I was interrogated as to why things were being stored (neatly stacked) in the garage despite explaining why I was there and then was humiliatingly shouted up from an upstairs balcony infront of one of my seniors at work as to why they were staying there, when I had already informed the hosts they would be.

However poor customer service skills were taken to a new height when the hosts reduced me to tears upon moving out. I was moving out more suddenly than expected due to an unexpected emergency involving a close friend in Auckland, which despite my visible distress was not cue for sympathy or understanding but instead to be hounded for the upcoming weeks rent. (This was subsequently then taken with no notice off of my credit card which I had left the details of in good faith to cover as a bond, there were no damages upon exiting)

Frankly I would rather sleep on the beach or the street than deal with the hosts again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TWkiwi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.2 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
49 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
531 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
44 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces At Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces At Ocean Beach

Address: 346 Oceanbeach Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £95 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Terraces At Ocean Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Terraces At Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing