We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable”
Review of Blue Wave Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Wave Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room is spacious for 5 adults and 1 child. The place is quite dated but its very clean and tidy. The location is just a walking distance from the beach. They are very informative regarding dining out, no need to ask them as everything is written down in the guest folder.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenDavidOhinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Staff was very friendly and gave helpful information about important activities and locations (supermarket, dairy, beach, mountain climb).

Was traveling in a group of 4 friends and we all had separate beds. The room was spacious and everything was clean. Free wifi was a bonus. The place had a great atmosphere, was a short walk to the beach which is ideal.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Emz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Close to the beach and very clean, tidy and spacious. Friendly staff. Excellent stay thanks, with all the comforts of home plus sky tv. Need to drive into town really or like walking, but it was worth it for an affordable motel with such high standards.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Pomwi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It's an older motel and so some of the fittings are not the most modern BUT they all worked and it was well decorated and very clean. Being an older type, the walls are solid and we heard no noise from our neighbours. Also, our experience is that the older motels are larger and this was true of the Blue Wave. In fact, the unit was very generous and there was a fully equipped kitchen.

It is in a very quiet part of town and although beach access is very close, it is probably too far to walk for most people to the Mount and the centre of town. The new owner was friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the entrance have better internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Enjoyed our time for 3 nights at this nice motel. Great location and everything you need for a few nights. Service was friendly and on a quiet street. Was a 2 mins walk to the beach which we loved!!
Villa had plenty of space also which is great for now a days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I'm a bit surprised at the (high) ratings for this Motel, as it is a pretty 'basic' and no frills. However having said that, if you don't want or need luxury and don't mind staying in a Motel that was probably built in the 60's or 70's, it is very well looked after and is very well cleaned. In walking distance to the beach and if you stay, breakfast at George's Cafe just round the corner (91 Ocean Beach Rd) is a must. Great food, muffins and coffee!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ski_Wanaka_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Mount Maunganui is a beautiful place and this motel is a short walk from the beach. The price was great and the villa we stayed in (villa 2) was very spacious. It had a separate bedroom with a double and a single bed in it and in the lounge it had another double and a single bed. Worked great for the 4 of us. Home from home! Nigel the host was very helpful and friendly and we highly recommend it to anyone wanting a clean, affordable, comfortable hotel in the Mount!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,138 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Haven Motel
Blue Haven Motel
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel

Address: 209 Valley Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand (Formerly Links Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Wave Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Wave Motel offers spacious ground floor villas in a quiet central Mt Maunganui location. Free WiFi, full kitchen facilities, parking in front of each villa. 2 minutes stroll to patrolled surf beach. Close to shopping centre, Bay Park, Blake Park, golf courses and all the excitement Mt Maunganui has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Wave Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing