We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pacific Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our one bedroom apartment was huge, with a lovely balcony overlooking the Mount and with sea views. Apartment equipped with everything you could need (including a few board games in case of a rainy day). Short walk to the Main Mount Street. 2 mins from beach and hot pools. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific Apartments, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pacific.

Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    58
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
56
88
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Pacific is super close to the base of the Mount, and a 1 minute walk to the beach and to the bay. Not far the the main strip of Mt Maunganui either which means finding a great place for brekky and dinner was easy. The room wasn't bad, the kitchen/living room set up seemed strange with a couch that was a great distance from the TV (not that it matters because you're not there to watch TV). The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was really nice. We were only on the second floor and i think higher would have been much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific Apartments, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hello Cameron,

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in January, we would love to arrange an apartment on one of our higher floors with beautiful views for any future stays with us here at pacific and we are delighted to announce the opening of a restaurant onsite which was not opened during your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

So this could be either Bookings.com fault or the hotel but when I arrive and am told sorry we are full and I have a confirmed booking from bookings.com my saga starts. The hotel are totally unhelpful and try send me to Tauranga info center. I didn't kick up as much of a fuss as I should have but me and my family go looking for alternative accommodation thinking this would be easy we find pretty much Tauranga is fully booked so a 40km trip outside of Tauranga to find accommodation unfolds. My advice is if you book online follow up with a phone call as these guys seem to be back in the stone age with technology. Also if booking with bookings.com make sure to follow up with the hotel too.

Definitely wont use bookings.com or Pacific ever again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewerNZ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific Apartments, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,I would like to express my sincere apologises for any inconvenience caused.We pride ourselves in providing our customers with excellent customer service, I regret that the service you received on the day in question was less than satisfactory.

I would like to ensure you that we take all guest feedback very seriously and will be looking into our communication operations with booking.com to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur for any of our guests.

Sincere Apologises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic, and a convenient stroll from the restaurants and Mount Maunganui itself (and definitely worth the hike).
The apartment was a disappointment. It was a little soulless and had a worn, rundown feel with that "motor inn" smell you get at some older apartments. I sense the place is frequently visited by holiday makers and is due for a makeover.
Not the best value compared to other places stayed on our trip of the North Island. It's a good place to stay, but left feeling there are better options on offer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris_888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific Apartments, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
we take pride In our cleanliness and the appearance of our apartments and are often complimented on the décor and overall presentation, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. I apologise that you were not fully satisfied with your apartment and hope this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed a night at The Pacific with another couple of friends in a 2-bdrm apartment on the 3rd level.
We had stayed here a couple of times before and were pleased with our room and this time was no different.
We always ask for an apartment on the end of the building so that you get views of both the sea and Pilot Bay - Western has views of The Mount and Eastern, the Port (both are great).
Our apartment (307) was spacious and contained a full range of appliances/kitchen needs for a family!!! Open plan kitchen/lounge with floor to ceiling window giving amazing views. We would have had better views in the 4th level apartment, also available, however, the bedrooms were a different configuration and we wanted 2 Queen rooms.
One bedroom had an en suite, the other bedroom, a bathroom adjacent; and opened up onto a long balcony which overlooked the swimming pool area and had views through buildings to the sea and Mount Maunganui.
Parking is secure underground with locked entrance; the café was not operating during our stay.
The purpose of our trip was a friends weekend away to walk around The Mount, enjoy shopping, dinner on Tauranga Waterfront and a café breakfast across the road from the beach.
Staff were very professional yet so friendly - thank you Wendy and Kiera for an enjoyable stay, we will return.
If we had booked a room for each couple, yes this may be more expensive but with a 2-bdrm apartment and splitting the cost, it was the same price per couple as a 3 star miles away from the beach.

Room Tip: End of building gives views out both sides to beach and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePacificApartments, Manager at The Pacific Apartments, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that your enjoyed your time here with us and made the most of our facilities! There's also so much to do here at the Mount and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great, central location also. We would be happy to give you our recommendations on great local spots and events next you stay too. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Location was good, close to the beach. However the price was really expensive,for what it is. The pool wasn't heated or no sauna as advertise.

The rooms and corridor weren't up to the standard you would expect for the 300+ a night.

There was no milk on arrival and the front desk was not attendant, lucky the lovely lady at the cafe helped us out.

I,would,expected better,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nzrocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Let me begin by saying it was difficult to find this hotel/apartment complex on Tripadvisor.com when I came to write this review. I put "Pacific" in all sorts of combinations in the search box and none of them pointed me towards New Zealand. It is listed under "Specialty Lodging" and not "Hotel". Why make it complicated? Why not just lump all hotels and apartments into one category for ease of searching. Minus one point for tripadvisor.com. I booked the accommodation through booking.com and it was much easier to find back then.

Now to the accommodation itself. Excellent location, friendly staff. They upgraded us from a one bedroom to a 2 bedroom apartment at no extra cost on arrival, as we had young children with us. What I can't stand these days are the short-sighted hotels who charge extra for children when in fact it is costing the hotel no extra for them to sleep with their parents. This was a nice sweetener for us on arrival and it made the whole stay worthwhile.

The location is amazing - right at the foot of The Mount, and about 2 minutes' walk from the beach.

The apartment is well-fitted out with contemporary appliances and a laundry as well as a coffee plunger. Also you get free parking in the basement.

On the ground floor there is a large lap pool (can be cold if the wind is blowing) and a large spa which is split in two by a piece of wood. Very nice and warm. There is also a small gym down there.

There is a cafe restaurant next to reception called "No.8 Cafe Restaurant and Bar" where the food is quite good but the waiting staff do lack a bit of formal training and confidence required to be in the "Fine Dining" category they list themselves in the Entertainment Book. Importantly you are entitled to one complimentary main course etc if you have an Entertainment Book Gold Card.

All in all a great family holiday.

Room Tip: The higher the level, the more view of the Mount and the Sea you will experience - but you will need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pacific Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pacific Apartments

Property: The Pacific Apartments
Address: Pacific Apartments 8 Maunganui Road | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pacific Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific is located a short stroll from both Pilot Bay and the Mount's Main Beach, and 60m from the base of the Mount and the renowned hot salt-water pools. The Pacific Apartments offer guests a new type of luxury not yet experienced at the mount. With accommodation ranging from spacious hotel-style rooms through to luxury 4-bedroom superior apartments, all with stylish master ensuites, fully equipped kitchens and laundries and finished with modern furniture, The Pacific is a true reflection of quality accommodation. Completing the picture of total comfort are extensive views through floor to ceiling glass, large private decks and individual air-conditioning along with services including wireless internet, Sky TV, on-site gym, pool, and spa. A short drive takes you to five major golf courses, Tauranga Airport, Tauranga city and some fantastic wineries. The city shuttle bus stop is also just a 2 minute walk away. Location, location, location Well-equipped conference facilities are also available for exclusive conferences, private dinners or boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pacific Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing