We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seagulls Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A lovely stay in a fantastic hostel, which is more like a hotel. Very clean bedrooms with a basin and fresh white towels. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were fab! Nice big kitchen with plenty of seating, although another oven/hob would be great. Huge lounge area to chill out. Nice 20 minute walk to town and a bit further to the mount. 5-10 mins to new world supermarket. Quite a lot of internet per person which is always a bonus! BBH accepted.

Our favourite hostel so far and definitely one that I would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    36
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
46
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We chose this place because it was the best rated (BBH) in the area. We were disappointed to see that we had less than the usual backpacker for a much higher price. The mattresses were too old and didn't have any support anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rold2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were there for 5 nights and it was a good stay.The room we`ve had was very small,but ok for the price.The staff were very helpful and nice.The sleep quality was`nt so good,because of the paperthin walls.There is a big common kitchen and a cosy lounge with tv.To the beach and to the supermarket it`s roundabout a 10min.walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staying here for almost a week and really enjoyed my stay here. It's located in a quiet area and about 20 min walk to centre and another 10/15 min to the mountain. Only ten min walk to the beach. Supermarket 10 min also. I stayed in the only shared room they have. One bunk and one bed. It is a little bit to small for three but stayed most of my time alone, also two nights in a double room and you get a towell. The kitchen has everything you need and lots of room to sit and eat. Big livingroom with two very comfi rocking chairs. They have nice siting area outside in front/back. Washingmachine and dryer but can also hang outside to dry. The owners are very friendly and will give you info about the area. There is a busstop across the street to get to Tauranga centre. And free wifi vouchers. And the rest is up to the people to make it a nice stay. There was a big group for two days and made a mess but overall a really pleasant stay. I can recommend this place for everybody and solo travellers who don't like party hostels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great place to stay. Booked two nights - stayed three.
Very clean and comfortable accommodation, lovely comfortable bed, large communal well equipped kitchen, spacious dining room and large comfortable lounge. Nice to have free Wi Fi.
Just a 12 - 15 minute walk to the supermarket, the Mount Shops and the beach.
Paul and Emilia were great hosts and couldn't have been more helpful. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here for one night when visiting Mount Maunganui. Easy to find and not far from town centre and the Mount. Rooms were a decent size and the ensuite bathroom was nice and clean. The kitchen was very big with lots of seating. Overall fantastic little hostel, very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night while passing through the Mount. Is about 1.5km from the centre of town, is very clean, really comfy bed and nice staff. We had a double room without an ensuite and the shared bathroom was pretty clean.
Good place to stay on a budget

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
4.2 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
6.0 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagulls Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Guesthouse

Property: Seagulls Guesthouse
Address: 12 Hinau Street, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagulls Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy, Comfortable, Affordable Mount Maunganui accommodation. Close to beaches and shops in a quiet street next to Blake Park. The privacy of your own room with all the fun and friendliness of communal facilities. Doubles, twins, singles, family rooms with private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seagulls Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing