We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably good outside of the summer season”

Atlas Suites & Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlas Suites & Apartments
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Reception was friendly, allocated car parking spaces were tight but good to know you had a space, bathroom and lounge area were large and kitchen well stocked. The apts are 'self-serviced' so you have to tidy up at the end of your stay and empty the rubbish.

However, apt was very hot (weather was hot and humid during our stay), and with windows and balcony door all on the same side of the building, the only way to adequately ventilate the rooms was to keep the front door open! Perhaps some pedestal fans or ceiling fans in the bedrooms would be a good idea.

The apt is very well located, close to the Mount, but this meant that we were kept awake for most of the night by drunk kids shouting, skateboarding, whistling.... Ideally we would have closed the windows to block out the noise, but it was too warm.

Speaking to reception next day, they said the apts at the back on the building are quieter (ours was on the street), but that this year had been particularly bad for unruly behaviour at the Mount. Nothing the Managers can do, but perhaps better ventilation in the rooms would allow the windows to be kept shut.

We won't be returning, but I'm sure it would be fine outside of the busy/noisy Christmas and New Year season.

Room Tip: Back of the building for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy_and_Paul_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice and tidy, but nowhere to park while checking in or out. Need earplugs for when you use the bathroom or shower because of the noise of the expelair fan. The shower was great but very noisy. For the amount paid I really expected the room to be serviced but wasn't & surprised that we had to remove our own rubbish. Have stayed in cheaper places and had better service. Probably wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at these apartments last weekend.
These apartments are in a fantastic position ,within a short walk to all the down the Mount activities.
Also it is just one street over from the most popular beach in NZ, if you are staying during summer.
We found our room to be very clean and adequate in size for us.
There was a patio, but it just looked into the neighbouring apartment block.
The desk staff were very helpful. When we went to our allocated car park,an inconsiderate person had parked their car well over into our car space (these are all very small spaces).We had to go back to the desk to tell them, the best thing was we were given another carpark right beside the staircase & lift that were right next to our room. The first carpark had been at the extreme end of the building.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This place looked like it would be a good option for a trip to Mt Maunganui, the location is superb and the outside of the rooms is well presented. However, we had to lug our luggage up the stairs since we couldn't figure out how to get back to reception to take the lifts from the carpark. Liked the fact that the carpark was secure though.

And in the bathroom the toilet had a constant dripping sound which was super annoying. The shower door was dirtier than my one at home and the baseboards had obviously been water damaged as every corner was blown out and looked horrible.
The bed was uncomfortable and the balcony was literally next to an apartment across the alleyway.

Nice to have laundry washer and dryer in the room though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Rooms were very clean and tidy, front desk people were helpful and very friendly, close to everything, could walk everywhere made a nice change not to drive, however the designers of this complex did not give much thought to light, was very dingy had to have the lights on all the time we were there. This was one of the only places that does not charge a cleaning and parking fee. Dont know where these fees came from I have never struck them before, just another way of trying to screw some more money out of you, so shop around, would I stay here again, yes definitely, would I reccomnd this place, yes I would.

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here as a family of 3 adults. Initially we were given a 2 bedroom unit, which was clean, but there was an unusual smell which would waft in and out of the lounge, we could'nt work out if it was coming from the sink, or perhaps old cooking smells. The room was quite small and abit cramped, the 2nd bedroom had no windows and sliding doors to shut off for privacy plus a bathroom fan in the ceiling, which although could be switched off from inside the bedroom, as soon as anyone entered the bathroom and switched on the light - the fan will turn on again (not quite sure of the purpose of a bathroom fan inside a bedroom). When we awoke we discovered the guests above us had decided to throw some food onto our balcony, so we asked at reception to be moved to another room if possible and they were very accommodating to our request. The next room we had was much roomier and didn't have the smell of the one we had stayed in the night before. All in all not too bad a stay, just afew small issues with the first room.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank nixnax11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Convenient location. Nice room. Laundry facility. Good price. Friendly staff directed us to a good place to eat. Parking under the building was nice. Nothing special but it served its purpose. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blue Haven Motel
Blue Haven Motel
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Suites & Apartments

Address: 49 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £90 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Suites & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Atlas Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing