We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location convenient but still very overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location convenient but still very overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin for 160 a night , it was tiny and did not have it's own bathroom or even running water. The communal kitchen did not have any utensils or pots which was ridiculous considering what we paid for the accommodation. At least it was clean. I heard a lady at reception tell some backpackers that it's 60 a night for a tent site. I realize I was there in peak season but still think the prices are a joke. Wouldn't go back, would rather pay for a hotel a little further from the beach .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The only negative for us about this place was the price : $60 for a tent site for 2 people when we didn't require power was very expensive compared to other beach front camps we have used. However the position is excellent, straight onto the beach, straight onto the walkway up the Mount, and 2 minutes from excellent cafes and shopping. Also adjacent to the hot pools with a discounted rate for campers. The reception was friendly and efficient. The camp is well laid out and well organised, everything as it should be and clean and tidy. Showers and toilets spotless. Plenty of hot water to the free showers. Kitchen also spotless. I would recommend this camp site but with the caution that it is relatively expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
714 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have been coming here for approx 28 years. The camp atmosphere is fantastic. Staff very helpful and campsite and area always kept tidy by staff. We have our own little community of friends that gather each year for the annual holiday. We generally have 4-5 weeks each Xmas Holidays. There are cafes within a few mins walk, shops are only about10 min walk away. I can highly recommend this special spot. We have oceanside site each year, so are only a few steps from beach. A place for a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
250 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked a site for our campervan and it was the dearest we've ever paid for just a site. $60 for one night for 2 people. It was not powered, just a site. It was peak season but even so, a bit of a rip off.

Aside from that, the location was perfect, the toilets clean and plentiful, the security great (we got given an electronic thingie to get in and out. The grounds were well kept. I would have thought that the kitchen would have been better equipped and a bit more modern/up to date for the price, but it was okay. Their TV had no volume control on the remote so that was turned off very quickly due to the loudness of it.

The ladies at reception were very friendly. The shops were about a 30 minute walk away. The hot salt water pools were a few minutes walk away but I wouldn't recommend them cos of the water not being that hot and hubby's shorts going from black to brown after being in the pool, plus our skin was very sensitive and stingy during and after.

Nice to have the beach right there in front of you - great view and easy to go for a swim at a moment's notice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This campsite is located by the beach, and just at the foot of Mount Maunganui. It is also walking distance to cafes and bars which is great! Bathrooms were very clean and hairdryers were provided! Kitchen was spacious and clean but you will need your own utensils. One thing to note is that the security token was automatically deactivated on the day you leave and we could no longer access the bathrooms and kitchen at 10:30am on the morning we check out. There were also pretty much no house rules and we got a tent site with a bunch of youngsters talking and laughing into the middle of the night (about 3am) and thus, did not have a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent one night here in a cabin, (queen bed and bunk bed, fridge and table & chairs).
The cabin was spotless and the bathroom facilities close & very clean.
We were 200m from the beach, 400m from local restaurants & bars. Very social area, fantastic place for kids and fun to hang out with a few drinks to watch the sunset.
Perfect setting for a vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed overnight at this campsite in my motorhome and really wished we have booked for more nights. I woke up the next morning to the most spectacular sunrise, I was lucky to have a beachfront pitch and it truly was beachfront. The site was clean, well maintained with the most amazing view of Mount Maunganui 'just look up' The staff were very friendly and helpful, this was the perfect stop over with the most amazing views.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
1.4 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
7.3 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

Property: Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Address: 1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain (Mauao)on both ocean and harbour beaches next to the boat ramp, cafes and the famous Hot Salt Water Pools. Visitor Information Centre on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing