We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cold night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Went camping on our first wedding anniversary weekend. It was a nice day.the campsite was tidy and had all the things you need, even a hair dryer for the ladies in the bathroom. The price was reasonable.the place was close to the waters and you can hear the crashing of the waves at night. Our mistake was not realizing tauranga was colder than auckland and didnt bring our extra blankets in the tent and was lazy to go out and get them. We did in the end at 3am and slept well after. Hehe

The campsite is well recommended though. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kazia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    30
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

One of the best campervan site during our recent trip. Offering fantastic view of Mount Maunganui and the surf beach. A well-maintained and excellent facilities with spacious kitchen, clean shower/toilet and near eateries. Office staff are friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

While the camp itself is pretty bare of vegetation other than a bit of grass, the location right next to the beach (for the beach view portion of the park), right next to the eminently climbable Mount, near shops and eateries, and right next to the hot pools is superb. Many locals walk or run up the Mount every day, and we had some beautiful sunrises from the top--definitely worth the exertion to get there. The surf was barely there, but we had fun with a rented longboard anyway, and the beach is just lovely. The council-owned hot pools next door offer a wonderful opportunity to soak after a day's exercise (with a sizeable discount for those staying at the holiday park) and I am convinced it was what helped me sleep so well there. Kitchen is clean and can serve a large crowd; outdoor covered table area is nice, but the indoor bar-seating area seems a less efficient use of this space. Toilets and showers were clean, and I appreciated being able to use the hairdryers supplied.

All sites are powered, but you can't plug anything into the campsite outlets unless you have the standard three-pronged caravan-type plug, which most tenters do not carry (apparently this is standard throughout NZ). There are very few places to plug in recharging phone/camera/laptop, and all of them are directly over the wet benches in the kitchen. Outlets by the bar seating area would be super useful for this purpose.

Check out the Wave Cafe in the wave-shaped caravan, and the enigmatic Pizza Library, also in a caravan at beachfront.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having stayed at this park last year we had no hesitation in returning- this time for 3 weeks. This is a large park virtually split in two- one area facing Pilot Bay ( a safe swimming bay with no waves on the harbour side of the park) and the other facing the ocean. Facilities are clean and very accessible. Despite the size of the camp , which has two facility blocks there was no waiting for showers or bathroom facilities, even with a high volume of campers.. The shower/toilet areas and the kitchen areas are very clean and well maintained. Entry to the park is controlled by a barrier arm ( campers supplied with remote) and the same remote allows access to the toilet/shower blocks. We found the camp quiet at night. We were very impressed with the staff at the office- always cheerful, courteous, helpful and responsive to requests. Nothing was a bother to them.They gave the impression they enjoyed their jobs- top marks - a great attitude and thanks team! Their attitude went a long way to ensuring we loved our stay. A top area with a top camp and top rate staff..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As nearly locals we decided to repeat our 3 days away from last year. Booked through a friend for his caravan first week in March when it is usually quiet but still hot. First night contended with a wedding, wedding party fine at surf club, but guests staying in camping ground??? Maybe they didn't know that if you stay in a camping ground you should be considerate neighbours! Drinking and yelling all the next day and half the night is not a good look. Last year I felt that I could kick off my jandals in the shower. 2014? NO WAY! There was a green slime all round the edges and in the drain. The shower curtains were the same all week. The toilet amenties weren't touched on the Sunday. Evidently people don't use toilets on Sundays! We won't be back, the area we were staying was great as it was close to the beach but that wasn't enough to compensate for 2 noisy nights and 1 not so bad and ditry showers. Office staff brilliant, cleaners, not. Ardar and Mick

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here as a last minute decision, rented a powered site on our budget motorhome trip around the North Island. The staff at check in were lovely, Wendy was very kind and helpful, she showed us on the map the free spots we had to choose from and gave us the pros and cons of each spot and gave us each a swipe key for the toilets and gates so we didn't have to take turns. We picked a spot near the cabins, which to our delight was a straight 30sec walk to the amenities block. The block features an ample kitchen, bbq area with outdoor seating, a shower/toilet block with hair dryers and laundry. The view form anywhere on the beach side of the park is great and the beach is so close if the view doesn't satisfy you can walk down and be in the water in no more than 5mins. Very close to town but also has cafe's and restaurants across the road, as well as the hot pools which are discounted for guests of the park.

The real difference here was the service from the staff at reception. Everyone we met was helpful and friendly and more than willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. To highlight their fantastic service our campervan key snapped off in the tailgate of the van. Not having the $160 to pay the call out fee the lovely ladies lent us some tweezers to grab the broken bit out then the most wonderful Sue drove my partner in her own car 4km up the road to the locksmith who was due to close in 20mins to get our key fixed. This wonderful act of kindness saved us $152 and a whole lot of stress!!

We were able to have a lovely night including a walk along the beach to the little island headland where we came across a drum circle of locals.

A BIG THANK YOU to Sue, Wendy and the rest of the team, you guys are great!

Room Tip: We didn't see the mountain side but the beach side was amazing, if you can book somewhere there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We're locals but still love coming on "holiday" to the Mount. Usually we wait until a couple of days out & know the weather is going to be good then book a beach side site. Must be still the busy season or there was something on last weekend as we had to move further into the camp as no beachfront sites available. Still great views but not quite as good. Awesome camp, clean & tidy with very helpful friendly staff. We love walking up/ round the Mount, the cafés across the road & great shops & restaurants 10mins walk away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Healthphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
1.4 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
7.4 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#8 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
Cosy Corner Holiday Park
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

Property: Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Address: 1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain (Mauao)on both ocean and harbour beaches next to the boat ramp, cafes and the famous Hot Salt Water Pools. Visitor Information Centre on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing