We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast overlooking the ocean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast overlooking the ocean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our room was large and very comfortable, and going to sleep with the sound of ocean waves was blissful. Climbing the stairs to have breakfast was rewarded by excellent food and a great view out over the ocean, with binoculars on hand to view the passing ships. A short drive to Mt. Maunganui followed by a walk around it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Trevor,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Really appreciated
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
85
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Jim & Lorraine are the perfect B&B hosts. Very welcoming and couldn't do enough for their guests - even rising early to prepare breakfast for me. Everything is included - even very good wi-fi at no extra charge. Location is alongside the huge expanse of sandy beach, with plenty of surf-boarders to add interest. Off-road parking outside the front door. Tea/coffee/biscuits/fridge for guests in the lounge. Filtered water and TV in the rooms. The whole B&B was perfectly clean and each room very well-equipped with everything needed. The perfect B&B at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Mariposa 026,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at Beachside B&B. It was a pleasure to have you for a week, and to get to know you. Best wishes for the remainder of your intrepid adventure.
Thanks for your kind words.
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

A second opportunity to stay at the wonderful home of John and Lorraine this month (January 2014) arose from an invitation to a special friends 50th birthday. This b&b was our immediate choice of play to stay. Booked into a ground floor room with ensuite, our stay (although only 1 night) was extremely comfortable and relaxing. Access to the beach was only a short walk through a side gate and we managed two strolls along the sand lapping up the sunshine and surroundings. Breakfast was just as we had experienced it the first time. As well as cereal, fruit salad; vanilla bean yoghurt; toast and jams etc, Jim cooks up a magnificent breakfast of streaky bacon; scrambled eggs; grilled tomatoes and hash browns and not to forget their delicious homemade bread and one of the best cups of coffee in town. John and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to ensure your stay is nothing but unique. Our only downfall is that on both visits we have only stayed one night; this we will have to remedy the next time we stay. Thank you again to John and Lorraine and hope it is not too long before we are able to come back for another stay. Regards Lisa & Graeme (Auckland).

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms and both are wonderful; house is located down the driveway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Lisa & Graeme,
Thanks for the extensive review and kind comments. Great to have you back staying with us again. Looking forward to your next (maybe longer??) stay.
Kind regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Bc
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute. Jim and Lorraine are wonderful hosts - friendly and helpful with lots of great tips on what to see and do in the area. Jim's breakfasts were fantastic too - fresh fruit (and lots of it!), delicious vanilla bean yoghurt, a selection of cereals, great coffee, his poached eggs are fantastic, as are his scrambled eggs. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The house is about 50 yards from the beach. I would not hesitate to stay here again! Thanks Jim and Lorraine!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Hope that the bush walks were enjoyable, and that the cruise was nice and smooth!
Look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed meeting Jim and Lorraine who are friendly, helpful, and experienced hosts. They have a lovely home with beautifully furnished guest rooms. We stayed in the room on the first floor that had a patio just outside with a path that led to the beach. They have a guest lounge three flights up that has a beautiful view over the ocean. Jim gave us lots of choices of what we would like for breakfast and he prepared them perfectly. We were able to visit with four other guests at breakfast and it was very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs well, you may have problems getting up to the guest lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 146Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi 146 Max,
Thanks for taking the time to write about our B&B. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us; part of the fun of a bed & breakfast is meeting & socializing with the other guests. We certainly enjoyed hearing about your career and your tourist activities!!!
Best regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Both Jim and Lorraine are excellent hosts and we really enjoyed our stay even though it was only for one night.
A very modern home only about 50 paces from the beach.
All very nice and neat inside with very comfortable rooms.A seperate guest lounge up stairs,with a brillant view out over the Mt area and sea.
Breakfast was amazing sets you up for the day .
As we were the only guests that night, were able to have time with both Jim and Lorraine, that afternoon and the next morning.
,Highly recommended if you are in this area.Thanks to you both

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Graeme,
Thanks for your positive review of our bed & breakfast. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with you and Sandy.
Best regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a truly superb place to stay, whether it be for 1 night or for 1 month. I have been staying at 5-star hotels worldwide due to my previous job. What I had here is beyond my expectations of what a Bed and Breakfast is capable of doing. My son and I stayed here in Sep 2013 for 3 nights. It was originally supposed to be for 2 nights but with the superb hospitality of Jim and Lorraine, we decided to extend our stay. The room is immaculate and the location is so beautifully close to the sea. The breakfast set-up is amazing!! We had breakfast with the view of the sea.. the waves coming in to the beach and the sunlight gently streaming in ... The table setting for the breakfast resembles that of a 5-star hotel... the food is cooked to perfection.. the hot food appearing just when we were done with the cold starters (which comprises of cereal, muesli, yogurt, FRESH fruit salad).... we could sit there eating breakfast all day!
We will definitely stay there again if we are back in Mt Maunganui.

Room Tip: Rimu room if you are travelling with family: Large and comfortable with own porch and deck chair out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank-you for the 5 star review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing again on your next trip to NZ. Best regards, Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.0 mi away
Papamoa Beach Resort
Papamoa Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21b Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing