We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Act to Beat!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our first experience in a B and B, we usually stay in hotels. It's a wonderful experience, Jim and Lorraine are very cordial hosts. They make you feel right at home. A tough act to beat! Highly recommended! Arthur and Shelley

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly_Ummundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Shelly,
What a pleasant surprise to receive your review so soon after you left.
Thank-you for your kind words.
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you like b&b Beachside is the place for you. Jim is a most perfect host nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are superb. Views from the Guest Lounge will not be bettered anywhere. Jim offers excellent advice on what to see and where to eat. He advised us to walk up the Mount - a bit strenuous but well worth it. The views are to die for. He then advised us to visit a quarry garden at Te Puma again a lovely place. On our return we were met by Jim with " Do you want a drink and a hot cross bun" What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for your great review Alan. The walk to the top of the mount is certainly worth the effort on a clear day. Views to die for! Not so many tourists visit the Quarry Park as it isn't so well advertised as some of the other attractions.
Best wishes
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Jim & Lorraine provide a bed and breakfast experience you will never forget. We have travelled the whole of New Zealand and nowhere has come close to Beachside. Welcomed with a smile, a cup of tea and home baked blueberry muffins; bliss. A large spacious room with a big comfy bed and a patio with your own sun loungers and access to the beach; only a minutes walk down the sandy path. Breakfast was served upstairs with outstanding views of Mount Maunganui beach; breathtaking and unforgettable. Jim served a full breakfast which included fresh juice, cereals, yoghurt, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and freshly baked bread finished off with quite a few cups of coffee. Nothing was too much trouble, Jim and Lorraine went out of their way to make sure your stay was top class and one we will never forget, thank you Steve & Sue Jennings

Room Tip: All good, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Sue & Steve,
We do really really appreciate your wonderful comments (I think that it was Lorraine's home-baked blueberry muffins that impressed you the most!!)
Thanks again. Maybe we will see you in NZ again?
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our room was large and very comfortable, and going to sleep with the sound of ocean waves was blissful. Climbing the stairs to have breakfast was rewarded by excellent food and a great view out over the ocean, with binoculars on hand to view the passing ships. A short drive to Mt. Maunganui followed by a walk around it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Trevor,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Really appreciated
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Jim & Lorraine are the perfect B&B hosts. Very welcoming and couldn't do enough for their guests - even rising early to prepare breakfast for me. Everything is included - even very good wi-fi at no extra charge. Location is alongside the huge expanse of sandy beach, with plenty of surf-boarders to add interest. Off-road parking outside the front door. Tea/coffee/biscuits/fridge for guests in the lounge. Filtered water and TV in the rooms. The whole B&B was perfectly clean and each room very well-equipped with everything needed. The perfect B&B at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Mariposa 026,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at Beachside B&B. It was a pleasure to have you for a week, and to get to know you. Best wishes for the remainder of your intrepid adventure.
Thanks for your kind words.
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A second opportunity to stay at the wonderful home of John and Lorraine this month (January 2014) arose from an invitation to a special friends 50th birthday. This b&b was our immediate choice of play to stay. Booked into a ground floor room with ensuite, our stay (although only 1 night) was extremely comfortable and relaxing. Access to the beach was only a short walk through a side gate and we managed two strolls along the sand lapping up the sunshine and surroundings. Breakfast was just as we had experienced it the first time. As well as cereal, fruit salad; vanilla bean yoghurt; toast and jams etc, Jim cooks up a magnificent breakfast of streaky bacon; scrambled eggs; grilled tomatoes and hash browns and not to forget their delicious homemade bread and one of the best cups of coffee in town. John and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to ensure your stay is nothing but unique. Our only downfall is that on both visits we have only stayed one night; this we will have to remedy the next time we stay. Thank you again to John and Lorraine and hope it is not too long before we are able to come back for another stay. Regards Lisa & Graeme (Auckland).

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms and both are wonderful; house is located down the driveway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Lisa & Graeme,
Thanks for the extensive review and kind comments. Great to have you back staying with us again. Looking forward to your next (maybe longer??) stay.
Kind regards
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute. Jim and Lorraine are wonderful hosts - friendly and helpful with lots of great tips on what to see and do in the area. Jim's breakfasts were fantastic too - fresh fruit (and lots of it!), delicious vanilla bean yoghurt, a selection of cereals, great coffee, his poached eggs are fantastic, as are his scrambled eggs. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The house is about 50 yards from the beach. I would not hesitate to stay here again! Thanks Jim and Lorraine!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Hope that the bush walks were enjoyable, and that the cruise was nice and smooth!
Look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
2.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,168 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Seascape Villa B&B
Seascape Villa B&B
#3 of 29 in Tauranga
183 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
205 reviews
4.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21b Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing